Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$113.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 5, 2006
Had this text for an Intro to QM course - not a good choice for the "Intro" part. Goswami covers all the bases but his organization of material seems a little discombobulated. I can see this text being reasonable for a second QM course, but not as an intro. Griffiths or Liboff is better for this purpose.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2011
For some unknown reason, my undergraduate institution used Goswami's quantum mechanics text instead of the plethora of other quality texts everyone else seems to use (e.g. Griffith's Introduction to Quantum Mechanics). Quantum mechanics is a difficult subject to "get" anyway, even with a good text, but it was practically impossible to make sense of with Goswami's book. Fortunately, the professor who taught the first semester of QM was good, so there was really no need to refer to the textbook. However, the professor who taught the second semester course was atrocious, and all of us students were left trying to learn the material by reading Goswami's book (as well as any other texts we could get our hands on). Needless to say, I got very little out of second semester QM except a hard-earned B (the only B I got that semester).

I'm entering grad school this fall and am spending the summer trying to master all that undergraduate QM. I didn't realize just how bad Goswami's book was until I picked up Griffith's text for review, as well some others (e.g. Greiner, Liboff, and Sakurai). All that material I thought was inconceivably hard as an undergrad seems downright easy now...that is, after I started reading these other QM books.

If you're new to QM, do yourself a favor and avoid Goswami's book at all cost. There are so many GOOD alternatives; pick one of those instead.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2001
This is a fairly complete treatment of QM. The only downside is that it is somewhat too advanced for an intro to the subject, but not rigorous enough for an advanced treatment. However, I used this book as a "backup" to Sakurai in a graduate level QM course. In that role it was flawless. It could also be used as a supplement to Griffith's QM book (which is extremely good but has some logical/mathematical flaws). In this case it would be serving as an "advanced" introduction.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
Had hoped for more theoretical writing, but this book is filled with mathematical equations, and short on theory. Disappointing after seeing Amit Goswami on PBS and getting excited to learn more about quantum physics. This text book is for advanced physics students only!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
Lots of mathematics, formulas, etc. Not recommended unless he has a thorough knowledge of Physics and math. I thought it would have contained more philosophy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
This is THE [extra] book for quantum mechanics. I use this as a companion to my well used Griffiths text, and you cannot go wrong with the combination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2004
An excellent introduction to QM by an expert in this subject, with also foundational issues covered, its probably the best intro QM book ever written along with Griffith, it makes you think and excite about QM unlike any other drab QM book.
Not only does this book equip the reader with operational tools but also covers epistemological aspects of it.
A MUST BUY FOR ANY ASPIRING PHYSICIST, ALSO FOR ONE AIMING TO DO WELL IN THE PHYSICS QUALIFIERS.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
I am reading it in conjunction with the other books by Goswami of recent years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2014
A good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
The text lacks substance with examples and inadequately prepares for the end-of-text questions. The book either assume a higher background level or simply lacks adequate explanation in the text. If you are forced to use this text as an introductory couse - purchase Griffiths Quantum Mechanics (1st or 2nd addition) as a supplement text - you will need it!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse