Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD TEXT
Had this text for an Intro to QM course - not a good choice for the "Intro" part. Goswami covers all the bases but his organization of material seems a little discombobulated. I can see this text being reasonable for a second QM course, but not as an intro. Griffiths or Liboff is better for this purpose.
Published on November 5, 2006 by Tim Harris

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful text for learning quantum mechanics.
For some unknown reason, my undergraduate institution used Goswami's quantum mechanics text instead of the plethora of other quality texts everyone else seems to use (e.g. Griffith's Introduction to Quantum Mechanics). Quantum mechanics is a difficult subject to "get" anyway, even with a good text, but it was practically impossible to make sense of with Goswami's book...
Published on May 20, 2011 by peppermint


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD TEXT, November 5, 2006
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
Had this text for an Intro to QM course - not a good choice for the "Intro" part. Goswami covers all the bases but his organization of material seems a little discombobulated. I can see this text being reasonable for a second QM course, but not as an intro. Griffiths or Liboff is better for this purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intermediate Level QM Book, May 24, 2001
By 
David Dreisigmeyer (Fort Collins, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
This is a fairly complete treatment of QM. The only downside is that it is somewhat too advanced for an intro to the subject, but not rigorous enough for an advanced treatment. However, I used this book as a "backup" to Sakurai in a graduate level QM course. In that role it was flawless. It could also be used as a supplement to Griffith's QM book (which is extremely good but has some logical/mathematical flaws). In this case it would be serving as an "advanced" introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful text for learning quantum mechanics., May 20, 2011
By 
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
For some unknown reason, my undergraduate institution used Goswami's quantum mechanics text instead of the plethora of other quality texts everyone else seems to use (e.g. Griffith's Introduction to Quantum Mechanics). Quantum mechanics is a difficult subject to "get" anyway, even with a good text, but it was practically impossible to make sense of with Goswami's book. Fortunately, the professor who taught the first semester of QM was good, so there was really no need to refer to the textbook. However, the professor who taught the second semester course was atrocious, and all of us students were left trying to learn the material by reading Goswami's book (as well as any other texts we could get our hands on). Needless to say, I got very little out of second semester QM except a hard-earned B (the only B I got that semester).

I'm entering grad school this fall and am spending the summer trying to master all that undergraduate QM. I didn't realize just how bad Goswami's book was until I picked up Griffith's text for review, as well some others (e.g. Greiner, Liboff, and Sakurai). All that material I thought was inconceivably hard as an undergrad seems downright easy now...that is, after I started reading these other QM books.

If you're new to QM, do yourself a favor and avoid Goswami's book at all cost. There are so many GOOD alternatives; pick one of those instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous intro..., May 16, 2004
By 
Samuel Smith (Seattle, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
An excellent introduction to QM by an expert in this subject, with also foundational issues covered, its probably the best intro QM book ever written along with Griffith, it makes you think and excite about QM unlike any other drab QM book.
Not only does this book equip the reader with operational tools but also covers epistemological aspects of it.
A MUST BUY FOR ANY ASPIRING PHYSICIST, ALSO FOR ONE AIMING TO DO WELL IN THE PHYSICS QUALIFIERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only for a mathematician, July 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
Lots of mathematics, formulas, etc. Not recommended unless he has a thorough knowledge of Physics and math. I thought it would have contained more philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only for Physics Majors, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
Had hoped for more theoretical writing, but this book is filled with mathematical equations, and short on theory. Disappointing after seeing Amit Goswami on PBS and getting excited to learn more about quantum physics. This text book is for advanced physics students only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Introductory Text, February 20, 2011
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Hardcover)
The text lacks substance with examples and inadequately prepares for the end-of-text questions. The book either assume a higher background level or simply lacks adequate explanation in the text. If you are forced to use this text as an introductory couse - purchase Griffiths Quantum Mechanics (1st or 2nd addition) as a supplement text - you will need it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Quantum Mechanics
Quantum Mechanics by Amit Goswami (Hardcover - Dec. 2003)
$107.95 $102.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.