Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! WILL DEFINITELY BUY AGAIN!!
For many years I have wanted to use the Japanese Thermal Straightening system but I was a bit afraid because on many of the blogs that I read it was stated that the product was not recommended for black hair especially if you have used a relaxer before. However after waiting for about 18 months for my hair to grow out I finally decided to purchase the Quantum Thermal...
Published on March 14, 2010 by ITAL GYAL

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worked alright
I'm Caucasian. I have short, dirty blonde hair. It grows in very full and used to curl into a half afro if I let it air dry, bleh. I was under the impression this product would make it silky and manageable, but that wasn't the case. Anywho, it is more loose and wavy, close to straight. It just has a poof to it~ I don't hate it
Maybe it just doesn't work for my hair...
Published on July 7, 2012 by Moi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! WILL DEFINITELY BUY AGAIN!!, March 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
For many years I have wanted to use the Japanese Thermal Straightening system but I was a bit afraid because on many of the blogs that I read it was stated that the product was not recommended for black hair especially if you have used a relaxer before. However after waiting for about 18 months for my hair to grow out I finally decided to purchase the Quantum Thermal Straightener. I did not purchase it on amazon. I got it for a cheaper price at another online retailer because it was on sale. The price on amazon.com is actually a really good price. It is much less expensive than the price at the local beauty store. In addition, you cannot purchase this product at the local beauty store and many other online stores unless you are a licensed cosmetologist.

Let me just say that I am really impressed with this product. First of all it did not burn my scalp like the relaxers usually do. Also, my hair is completely straight and incredibly soft. Even my mom was surprised at how smooth and soft my hair was. After the whole process was completed it did not have a weird smell like the relaxers usually do when I used them in the past. For anyone that is considering using this product, I will give the following advice.

1. Make sure that your hair is very strong and is in really good condition. If your hair is not healthy, then you may not want to use this product.

2. Even though I had previously relaxed my hair, I have to warn others that you may not get the same result as me. I had previously tex-lax my hair with a relaxer and I usually only relaxed my hair twice a year. Moreover, I had gone without any type of relaxer for about 18 months.

3. Make sure that your hair texture can accommodate this product. This product is meant for curly and wavy hair. I have naturally wavy hair but still I was apprehensive about using it. Test the product on a few strands of hair before fully committing to the whole thing.

4. Even though the product says it contains 2 applications, I ended up using the whole package because I have long hair. There is a lot of product in the package but since the whole hair has to be saturated all the way to the ends, if you have long hair you may end up using the whole package.

5. Use in a well ventilated area as the straightener (#2 product in the big jar) smells like rotten eggs. After the straightener is rinsed out of the hair and the neutralizer is applied the smell will go away. When the leave in treatment (#4 product) is applied to the hair it will smell great.

6. The products that come in the package include 1 porosity equalizer (#1 product), 1 straightener (#2 - big plastic jar), 2 Neutralizers (#3 product) and 1 leave-in treatment(#4 product). Other products that you will need include a clarifying shampoo, a tint brush, gloves, plastic hair clips,a wide tooth comb and a ceramic flat iron with temperature control. I used Suave Clarifying shampoo which I purchased at the local retailer for about $1.50. I bought the tint brush at the local beauty store for about $1.00. I purchased the Fromm International 100% ceramic flat iron from amazon.com.

7. It is very important that you use a ceramic flat iron with temperature control because you will need to keep a constant temperature of 180 C/350 F. Straightening the hair with the flat iron took me about 5 hours to complete. I did it twice. Once after the straightener was washed out and then again after I rinsed out the neutralizer and applied the leave in treatment.

8. The process took about 7 hours to complete and the hair should not be washed for 48 hours (2 days ) after that. Make sure that you have enough time to go through the whole process before you decide to use this product.

9. The process involves the following steps below:

(a.) Wash the hair with the clarifying shampoo. Dry the hair with a towel and apply the porosity equalizer (#1 product)to the whole hair from roots to ends.

(b.) Apply the straightener (#2 product) using a tint brush. Apply to the whole hair even the ends. Comb through the hair. Allow the hair to be processed as per instructions enclosed with the package. Coil a few strands around your finger and if the hair maintains the coil, then it has been processed. If not, wait a little longer and then try again.

(c.) After the hair has been processed rinse the hair thoroughly with warm water keeping the hair as straight as possible throughout the whole process.

(d.) Finger dry the hair while using a blow dryer and leave 10 -20% moisture in the hair.

(e.) Preheat the ceramic flat iron at 180 Celsius/356 Fahrenheit for 1 minute. Use the flat iron to straighten the hair in small sections. Use the clips and the comb but try to keep the hair as straight as possible throughout the whole process.

(f.) Apply the neutralizer (#3 product) to the whole hair from roots to ends and allow it to process as per instructions enclosed in package.

(g.) Rinse the hair thoroughly for the amount of time specified with the enclosed instructions. Then apply the leave-in treatment (#4 product) to the hair.

This is where the instructions ended but I added another step ( as I had read about this on the Internet) and I went ahead and used the ceramic flat iron to straighten the hair a second time at 180 C/356 F.

10. MAKE SURE THAT YOU ARE SKILLED ENOUGH TO USE THIS PRODUCT. I have been doing my own hair since I was 15 so I know how to do hair. However, if you are inexperienced, you may want to seek out a reputable and talented hairstylist who has experience with Japanese thermal straightening.

It takes a long time to process but I love the final result. I am so happy with my hair. I constantly touch my hair now because it is so soft. I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thermal Straight is GREAT!, April 4, 2010
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I used the Quantum Thermal Straightner System at home by myself; ALTHOUGH I do have cosmetology training and have done my own hair since I was a young adult. I have It was easy although time consumingand WELL WORTH THE TIME SPENT!!!

After doing a lot of research, making numerous calls in my area only to find no one with experience to do the process I decided to take the leap and try it. I am African-American so was VERY apprehensive as all of the informaiton says African-Americans should not use. I do not chemically straighten my hair and rarely used heat tools-just air-dry and pony-tail- so I HAVE NOT USED A CHEMICAL RELAXER for approximately 5 years so my hair is very long, very thick and very wavy/frizzy. I do used temporary or wash out tint (Clairol Natural Instincts) for the last 4 years to have black hair. My only worry was that my hair although thick is very fine-so I purchased the formula for tinted hair.

I purchased the product at my local beauty supply and asked a lot of questions of the sales person. THe package says to only use a ceramic flat iron and suggested several brands, the brand I purchased (as recomended by the sales person)was the jilbere de Paris which I purchased for 1/2 price. She suggessted I get the 1 1/2 inch for the process which I did, it worked very well, although I probably could have gone with a smaller size for this process. I may return to get a larger size for weekly maint. and a smaller size for touch-ups.

The process took around 8-8 1/2 hours since my hair is very long appeared to be mid-back since it is so curly and wavy (it is waist length after the process!), and I did it alone. The only difficulty I experienced in working a lone was trying to keep the hair perfectly straight during the application and trying to keep it out of the way since you are not supposed to used clips since you do have to keep the hair as straight as possible.

The process from the box is 4 steps although you shampoo your hair with a clarifying shampoo before the box process and style after the process and have a bunch of steps in between ( preparation,combing, rinsing, drying and styling)so it can be considered 11 steps.PLEASE NOTE that with any process you should ALWAYS perform a TEST strand to see how your hair and skinn will react to the product. After the test I follwed all the steps:

1-assemble all tools and product to include latex gloves, wide tooth comb, cotton squares for blotting spills or drips, Quantum Clarifying Shampoo, your jilbere, , or other recommended ceramic flat iron, blow-dryer, plastic hair clips, plastic cape or towels, a timer, a stand up mirror (for when you need to sit down), your Quantum Thermal Straightening System,an application brush, - I used a tinting brush which was a bit too wide so will go for a smaller applicator brush for touch-ups; and a silk sleep cap (for after the propcess to keep hair from tangling and to keep it shiny) I also had some good movies to watch to keep me company during the straightening process.

2.Shampoo hair with a clarifying shampoo-package recommends Quantum clarifying shampoo, which I did not buy because I did not know to buy it.

3 Towel dry hair so it remains a bit damp.
part hair in three sections.

4. Begin application at the nape taking 1/2 inch sections and apply poreousity formula to entire head taking care not to over saturate the hair.

5. Most time consuming step-Apply the Straightening formula in the same manner taking care not to get onto scalp- got some on my scalp and skin it caused itching and a burning sensation initially although I blotted with a wet cotton square. You must comb the formula through your hair with a wide tooth comb after you apply to each section. After application to entire head I began the procressing and testing phase by timing (5-15 minutes) and wrapping strands in a coil to test for processing time-Mine process time was about 8 minutes (this is additional time not counting the application time).

6. After 8 minutes of processing time I washed the formula from my hair which took about 20 minutes as I had to use the entire bottle from step one and most of the bottle from step 2.
After rinsing my hair was straight in some areas and a bit wavy in other areas toward the front of the head.

7. I used the blow-dryer and my fingers to dry my hair, leaving it a bit damp.

8. I then began the thermal straightening process using the jilbere flat iron and a wide tooth comb selecting small sections 3/4 to 1/2 inch-starting at the back of my head- starting from the root going to the ends not applying too much pressure and not taking more them a few seconds on each section, I just completed a second pass it needed.

9. After the entire head was straight I admired it for some time and then applied the Neutralizer-there are two good sized bottles so there was plenty left-I left the neutralized on the entire head after application for 5 minutes, I was the solution out of my hair which took another 15-20 minutes.

10. I towel dried to damp, combed the hair and applied the Leave-In Conditioner to my enitire head saturating it to wet again.

11. This was the 2nd most time-consuming step-I used the blow-dryer to finger dry my hair to just a bit damp -it was straight but a bit of wavy remained in some areas, although I used the flat iron again it became bone straight.

After drying and using the flat iron my hair is Super Shiny, Super Straight, Flowing with a lot of movement, and wonderful!
I cannot wash it for 2 days as suggessted by the manufacturer, although some sites suggessted 6 days-I do not think I can last that long as I already itch A LOT!

The test strand did break off to about half the length so it was visible although it just looks as though I cut this piece off; it does not look damaged only short-so that shows me that I should not EVER double process when using this product. The smell is still in the hair and stayed in the room which I performed the process so use in a well ventillated area-it is very strong smell.

I am not sure that this is a process that others should try on their own. it was lengthy and I can see where you could have some trouble and damage to your hair-I would advise others to;
1. If you do decide to do your own hair GET SOMEONE TO HELP YOU! it is a long process;
2. Ensure your hair is in great condition before the process;
3. FOLLOW ALL THE STEPS AS RECOMMENDED;
4. Ensure you block off at least 8 hours if you have long or thick hair;
5. TAKE YOUR TIME;
6. Use products recommended by manufacturer
7. Buy a silk sleep cap since you cannot wash your hair for two (manufactured suggessted) -6 days (salon suggessted-through web-site research)after the process ( I will probably not last more than 3 days).

I am very pleased with the results and will use again, and definately recommend this product. I cannot wait to see what results after the first wash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice feel, June 8, 2011
By 
GJbean (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I am a white Italian with medium wavy and frizzy hair. People love my hair curly, but I don't.
I have had my hair professionally straightened. did not like the feel. Thought it was too harsh.
I have straightend twice with this product. It is long lasting, and gentle. You can still get
a curl in if you want to. Can't wear your hair naturally curly if you want to after you use this.
Straighten first, then get a nice sharp blunt hair cut. Your hair will look longer after you use this.
good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, September 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
About 10 years ago I used this 2 times a year. It worked so great on my really long hair that was extremely colored treated. My hair was silky straight. The new formula is totally different! My hair has way less coloring than I did years ago. This time it wrecked my hair!!Hair started breaking off. I tried to wash it right away to remove it but hair looked limp, fried and frizzy. This new formula is horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
This is a horrible product. It didn't straighten my hair at all. It damaged it,made it harder to style and gave me more frizz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worked alright, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I'm Caucasian. I have short, dirty blonde hair. It grows in very full and used to curl into a half afro if I let it air dry, bleh. I was under the impression this product would make it silky and manageable, but that wasn't the case. Anywho, it is more loose and wavy, close to straight. It just has a poof to it~ I don't hate it
Maybe it just doesn't work for my hair type, I didn't get the results everyone else claims to have. ;u;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works really well, August 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I have been doing Japanese thermal straightening for a while now, and this is the best one I have used so far(I did it myself 3 times and had professionals do it 3 times before). Like the other reviews said, it makes your hair straight and soft as long as you do exactly what the instruction says.

I am pretty experienced so it only took me about 3 and half hours. If you are not as experienced, it might take longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Results on Super Color Treated Hair from Red to Blonde, December 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I do not have thick hair but I have a lot of it and it loves to retain moisture. As a result, it takes me over an hour to adequately flat iron my hair and I can never seem to completely get the back of my head. The length of my hair is a little past my shoulders and it has been through the ringer recently since I decided to go back to honey blonde instead of burgundy. I was a little skeptical about using such a harsh product on my hair after all the lightening treatments and highlighting but I had box died my hair the past couple of times and I never blow dry or flat iron my hair anymore (just takes too long.)

So I ordered this particular product even though I did not read any reviews (it seems especially with hair care products there is such a spectrum of results that are awesome or totally awful) and I doubt there is someone with my exact hair quality and history that I can rely on for a review.

It took me a little over 3 hours to finish the whole process (I made sure to do a strand test so my hair wouldn't fall out.) Step one is a little difficult to apply because it is so watery despite being green. Step two is the scariest because it smells like burning hair and even though I did get some on my skin and scalp, I didn't experience any burning or irritation. Make sure to turn the bathroom fan on or do it outside because the smell will linger. For the thermal aspect of it, essentially flat ironing your hair after rinsing out step two, I spent a long time making sure I got every single strand of my hair, which of course took a long time. My dog chewed my blow dryer cord so I towel dried it first and then straightened it (as oppose to blow drying to 10-20% moisture.) Step three felt like putting lotion back in my hair and step four also has the consistency of water. It says there are two applications but I don't think I even used enough for one.

The final results are amazing! I have always equated my drying hair to that of a mermaid's. It is somewhat straight on top but curls a lot on the bottom and is super wavy. Even before my hair was dry it looked like it does when I flat iron it! It is so much more manageable now and I can get away with not styling it after showering. I will definitely by using this product on the regular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I didnt like the product at all, i was so excited to get it but it was not what i expected. Too strong and damaged my hair. I used another brand long time ago and it was excellent I am very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quantum Thermal Straightener For Color Treated Hair (Health and Beauty)
I was not happy at all with this product! I used this product on a client that had curly hair and it didn't do anything what it said it would do. Her curls didn't even relax. It was a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.