Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 5, 2013
Surprisingly, this was a really good flick.
i expected the editing to be really crappy, but nope. They covered all of the bases, as to explain why, what, and where....
The Earthlings asked, to the knockout Alien babes:
"where are the males ?" ... "How is it that you speak Our language ?" .... Etc.
All questions were logically answered by the babes to make their status believable, for sake of laying a credible Plot.
These straight forward alien babes take their men straight up and give no back talk, while looking ever so pleasing to the eye....a total DUDE FLICK.

The cast gives a big laugh at the end of the last scene as they crack jokes as to give it up that 'Yes, we totally made a man candy flick, and wouldn't it be nice to be one of us right now? !'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
I recall this film from repeated viewings (with commercials) back in the mid-sixties. I always enjoyed it's quirky oddness. The DVD itself was of fine quality and the commentary track with one of the movie's leads was most welcome. Very entertaining and a great piece for my 1950s Sci-F- video collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
I first saw this movie in an art houe in New York, many years ago now, and just laughed and laughed. Watching it at home was just as funny. Of coure it's not a comedy, but it is just so bad that it works as one. I suppose my favorite parts are the costumes, and the really silly plot. This movie was made on a budget and you can really tell; I probably spend more on groceries than they did on this movie. If you love old sci-fi b-films, you'll love this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2001
Yeah, it's campy, but I loved it! As a child of the fifties, I find the women in this movie very hot. Of course, there was no sex in this film, but the kissing scenes were outstanding. I wish I could have been in the shoes of the Lieutenant, or the commander, who gets but one kiss with Zsa Zsa.
They don't make them like that any more, but I wish they did.
Harmless fun. Probably shot on a dime, too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2007
This movie was like I remembered as a child !! Except I thought it was scary then. It was fun to watch and see all the things that was borrowed from other sets. This was a fun movie and fun to remember the difference of now and when I saw it as a child.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2007
Schlocky 50's sci-fi just don't come any worse than this ultimate camp favorite, possibly the worst film ever made in the "so bad it's good" tradition of cheesy low-budget potboilers.

Zsa Zsa Gabor, in her best-known movie role, stars as Talleah (wasn't that the name of Maria Montez's character in Cobra Woman?), Chief Scientist of the Planet Venus, a world ruled and inhabited entirely by females. Because all but a few of the men of Venus have been banished to a distant asteroid, kept alive only for breeding purposes, most of the women on Venus have never even seen a man. That is, until a scientific expedition headed by Capt. Neal Patterson (Eric Fleming) arrives from the Earth, accidentally blown off their course. And just in time! It seems the women, led by the evil Queen Yllana, are plotting to destroy the Earth, using a death ray Zsa Zsa calls, "Za Beta Disintegrator". The Beta Disintegrator is housed in something resembling a cardboard tent, complete with a polka-dot paint job, and special effects that consist of colored flashing Klieg lights and awkward camera movements. Thank God this film is in Technicolor; without it, you'd never appreciate how awful the sets truly are.

Queen Yllana hates all men, ever since the men of Venus started a nuclear war, which scarred her face, ruined her makeup, and inspired her to lead a revolt in which the men were vanquished, caught off-guard because, as Zsa Zsa observes, "Zhey didn't take her seriously - after all, she vas ONLY a voman". Many of the props, sets and costumes are borrowed from Forbidden Planet, but used so clumsily and positioned so poorly that anyone over the age of five will laugh out loud at virtually all of the production values. The special effects are in a class by themselves, and set a new low in absurdity, crowned by the appearance of a giant rubber spider, so un-menacing you wonder how the sequence got approved, even on the most obviously cheap budget this side of Ed Wood.

The intense male chauvinism catapults the absurd script from downright awful to completely offensive, and sci-fi fans have been debating for years how Ben Hecht (one of the most prolific and honored screenwriters of all time) and Charles Beaumont (who churned out dozens of superior scripts for the original Twilight Zone series) came to write this truly awful camp legend.

Why does Zsa Zsa have a Hungarian accent on the planet Venus? Vhy not? You cannot appreciate the true meaning of camp until you've heard her invoke the immortal line, "I hate zat Qveen; I hate her!", in a fit of jealousy after the Queen sets her sites on Eric Fleming. Zsa Zsa's outfits not only change in every scene, the color of her outfits sometimes varies wildly from shot to shot. It's surreal by even 1950's sci-fi standards, and I have seen a lot of bad 50's sci-fi in my day.

No true lover of science fiction could hope to be even mildly satiated by this truly awful film. But camp aficionados, and anyone who values a cheap laugh over true entertainment, may just find that this film deserves its reputation as one of the biggest camp-fests ever placed before a camera, and one of the worst films ever made. I give it three stars; four for its camp value, but minus one for Zsa Zsa's acting.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
zsa zsa is not the queen from outer space her picture shouldnt be on the box maybe on the back another dumb movie about amazon women in outer space the video is fine and thats about it.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
I have enjoyed "The Queen of Outer Space" since the first time I seen it on WOR-TV Channel 9
on Saturday Night in the 1960's

yes I was 7 and I still like it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
This is a wonderful movie!

Zsa Zsa, Va va Voom! It is so bad, it is good. This is classic Sci Fi Americana.

This movie was amazingly futuristic. There is an ugly Queen who was hurt by men and hates them. She also hates the world and wants to obtain maximum power and destroy the Earth. She ultimately destroys herself by her own arrogance and hatred.

Who does this sound like? Yes! You guessed it. Hillary! And she's coming to an election near you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
Old movies can be fun to watch, but this one has many beauties to see, and a campy plot too boot. Watch it with friends and lots of popcorn.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse