Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual tale of a boy seduced by a splinter in his eye and a snow queen
This rather long tale is an adventure where a very young girl goes in search of a very young boy, who she loves, who has been seduced by a splinter in his eye and a snow queen. A malicious demon made a glass that magnified everything that was bad and diminished good things and made them ugly. The demon wanted to fly to heaven and look at angels through his glass, but it...
Published 7 months ago by Israel Drazin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strangely amusing
I guess I never read fairy tales as a child because I found some things in this book shocking...I'm trying to figure out why anyone would give this to a child. It's the story of a little boy and little girl that are very fond of one another. One day the little boy goes missing and the little girl wanders off to find him. Along the way she meets many strange characters. I...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual tale of a boy seduced by a splinter in his eye and a snow queen, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
This rather long tale is an adventure where a very young girl goes in search of a very young boy, who she loves, who has been seduced by a splinter in his eye and a snow queen. A malicious demon made a glass that magnified everything that was bad and diminished good things and made them ugly. The demon wanted to fly to heaven and look at angels through his glass, but it fell from his hands and splintered into many pieces, some so small you could not see them. But as small as they were they still had the power the demon placed in them.

One splinter fell into the eye of a small boy who loved and was loved by a small girl. He began to see things in a distorted manner and began to act badly. So when a bad snow queen came she was able to draw him away.

The girl missed him terribly and decided to look for him. Most of the book tells of her strange adventures with both humans and animals. When she finally came near to the frozen palace of the snow queen, a friendly person told her that she could only be successful if she could remove the glass splinter from the boy's eye.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, Grand and Satisfying, December 28, 2013
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
First, some housekeeping. This "Snow Queen", (The Snow Queen (Illustrated) (Andersen's Fairy Tales)), uses the 1867 H.B. Paull translation that was first published by Scribner and Co. and is now, I believe, in the public domain. Its particular appeal is the illustrations by Edmund Dulac and Arthur Rackham, which are both helpful, (for young readers), and creepy/chilling, (for all readers). This version is not free.

A second volume, (The Snow Queen (Fairy eBooks)), is a free Kindle download. It is also based on the H.B. Paull translation, but features illustrations by T. Pym. These drawings are loaded with Victorian charm. The publisher claims that the book has been especially formatted for the Kindle Fire HD. I have a black and white Kindle Touch, and the book displayed well on that.

So, you can download a Kindle freebie or step up to a classically illustrated version for a few dollars. Either way you will be well pleased.

The Paull translation of this story has an elegant old-world sort of feel to it. It is not so old fashioned that it is hard to follow, but it is not like some of the modern versions that are inclined toward glibness in the service of action and narrative drive. The story line is clear enough, but the execution is dreamy and intentionally artificial. It can be too "weird" or ambiguous for some tastes, which is understandable, and the fairy tale/fable quest can be read as a simple adventure story or a parable crammed full of symbolism and deeper meaning. (This is very similar to how one reacts to a book like "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe", which coincidentally, or perhaps not so coincidentally, also features a white witch and a snow covered land.)

However you look at it, this is an inventive and imaginative tale that will entertain youngsters and evoke fond memories for many adult readers. (It's also a story that has been reworked in innumerable popular books, movies and and other forms, so it doesn't hurt to be familiar with it.) I have to admit I turned to it because it is a "classic" and because it was free, and I am very happy I acted on the temptation to download it.

Please note that I found this book while browsing Amazon Kindle freebies. I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for young children, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't read this to a young child - murder and kidnapping don't seem suitable topics for a bedtime story - but I enjoyed reading this because it's Hans Christian Andersen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
love this story and really like to have it on kindle so that when In am away I can still find it with me and have it for that quick read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Queen Rules, October 7, 2013
By 
EvaM (Connecticut Yankee) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
Hans Christian Andersen brings his characters to life, creating a world of dreams and morals, and this version with its pictures, did a good job of presenting the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hans Christian Anderson's feminist story, December 25, 2013
By 
Angie Hooper (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
A delightful story of a young lady who goes on an adventure to save her kidnapped sweetheart. A delightful subversion of the kidnapped princess trope, written long long long before its time.

This tale used to delight me as a little girl, and reading it again now takes me back to my childhood, to the little girl curled up in bed dreaming of adventure.

Delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strangely amusing, December 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
I guess I never read fairy tales as a child because I found some things in this book shocking...I'm trying to figure out why anyone would give this to a child. It's the story of a little boy and little girl that are very fond of one another. One day the little boy goes missing and the little girl wanders off to find him. Along the way she meets many strange characters. I managed to push my way to the end but can't imagine what Hans Christian Andersen was thinking. I'll remember this book more for the weird feelings it gave me than for the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readers studying symbolism and comparative mythologies might enjoy more, December 3, 2013
By 
Anthony Manno (Mt. Prospect, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
Most fairy tales are not intended for young children. Much of the content puts them in the PG-13 range for violence and implied lessons about sexual morality. 'The Snow Queen" (the inspiration for Disney's 'Frozen') even goes beyond adult comprehension.

There is too much symbolism. The story starts by telling how a demon created a mirror that distorts the truth. It shatters and various sized shards serve different purposes but still have the same effect as the whole mirror. There are animals that talk and a longer than necessary section about flowers--they make sense, but they may bore some readers.

The story is called 'The Snow Queen' but this character is hardly in the story. Many parts of the tale are undeveloped. I often asked "Why was this not mentioned before?" The biblical references feel forced...and the ending is both awkward and abrupt.

Maybe it is just this particular translation, but the story ultimately reads more as an outline than a full story. I like some aspects of it, but I would only recommend it for persons interested in symbolism and doing comparative research as it pertains to modern and ancient mythologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Snow Queen, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
It would be a little worrisome for children under 8, but it's cute. It's, more importantly!, totally wholesome! I HATE nasty, gory, sexual implicit things. This is a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Drawn out, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snow Queen. A Tale in Seven Stories (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
The story is not anything that I would have expected it's a little boring and draws on with no real point. The end just kind of stops and doesn't really go anywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.