Start reading Querelle on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Querelle [Kindle Edition]

Jean Genet
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $15.00
Kindle Price: $9.99
You Save: $5.01 (33%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $9.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback $13.20  
Mass Market Paperback --  
"Funny Girl" by Nick Hornby
"One of the funniest and most subtle voices in contemporary fiction."--Chicago Tribune. Check out Nick Hornby's first novel in 5 years: Funny Girl. Learn more

Book Description

Querelle is regarded by many critics as Jean Genet’s highest achievement in the novel—certainly one of the landmarks of postwar French literature. The story of a dangerous man seduced by danger, it deals in a startling way with the Dostoevskian theme of murder as an act of total liberation, and as a pact demanding an answering sacrifice.

“It is awesome, perhaps the finest novel I have ever read in my life. It literally sent shivers through me, the sheer beauty of the language, the exquisite perversity of the imagination, the incredible grasp of motivation—it is his most tightly plotted, best organized, most accessible novel. It is a wonder.” —Dotson Rader


Product Details

  • File Size: 453 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Grove Press (January 13, 1994)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006NZAXDU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #547,996 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Unique Fantasy December 12, 2004
Format:Paperback
Querelle is perhaps Genet's most interesting novel, indeed, it's his only novel that does not contain directly autobiographical references. Thus, it is an interesting trip into the imagination of this great thinker - and his world of fantasy is enlightening and in a strange way quite profound and poetic.

Querelle can be interpreted in many ways - but it cannot be disputed that this story is in a way about the double nature of all human beings. Readers of 'Our Lady of the Flowers' will be familiar with this rich puzzling theme. Genet creates a world, in which, the most hidden desires of men are amplified to the extent that these very desires become a personality unto themseselves. In a way these characters become prisoners to their own fantasies (much of Genet's writing has something to do with prison) and in a most tragic way. The character of Madame Lysiane, for example, is the clearest picture of this imprisonment. She is involved with the two brothers and the neglective Nono - never fully accepted or loved by any one person - she has to live a fragmented life giving parts of herself to many different people at the same time.

What makes Genet brilliant is not necesarrily just his portrait of the double, however. There is a certain inevitability in his writing. He seems to believe in a certain fate for all things. His embracing of fate consistently in his prose - makes him, like Kafka, stand out among other writers. He truly was a poet of the highest order. I would recommend starting with 'Querelle' - it is a nice introduction to Genet's work and is perhaps the easiest of all his books to get into.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder as Metaphor, Poetry as Perversion October 10, 2007
Format:Paperback
Genet's world is a man's world. Men fight, steal, hate, lust, and love each other with a primacy that all but excludes women, where it grudgingly admits of their existence at all. In Genet, men encompass even femininity, or, rather, those traits we usually associate with it. Even the straightest characters in *Querelle* are sexually attracted to each other. This ever-present sexual attraction, inevitably mixed with violence even under the best of circumstances, can be seen as metaphoric--an ever-shifting game of domination and submission, victor and vanquished, killer and sacrificial victim that is only made clearer by being raised in intensity through illustration in the sexual act. Genet makes overt what is always and forever sublimated: the connections between sex, power, evil, and pleasure in virtually all human interactions.

The title character of Genet's novel is a handsome, seductive, sociopathic sailor who has linked the act of theft and murder into a ritual of mystical transcendence. Not that Querelle himself would see it that way inasmuch as he is a figuration of Genet's ideal beautiful male--a pretty brute, an amoral monster of transcendent physical perfection. Querelle travels the world by ship, murdering and stashing loot at every port, loving them and leaving them, whoever they may be.

It helps if you can put aside your own sexual proclivities while reading *Querelle* otherwise it's easy to feel alienated by his creation of the quintessential "homo-fatale." The novel is a rat's warren of crime, sex, and betrayal between its cast of characters--cops, dockworkers, informers, pimps, naval officers, and drug dealers that might be summed up in the words of Mick Jaeger's and Keith Richards' *Sympathy for the Devil*: "Every cop is a criminal and all the sinners saints.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An un-Christian Dostoevsky May 21, 2001
Format:Paperback
Having read, and hated, _Funeral Rites_ a few years ago, I approached _Querelle_ with diminished expectations. I was quite unprepared for its lyrical prose and complex characterization. Some of the passages from Seblon's journal flow better than any I've read in English, and Genet's metaphorical imagery is often surprising yet apt.
I often found myself reminded of my favorite novelist, Dostoevsky, while reading _Querelle_, not only for the redolent, foggy atmosphere but for the extended meditation on evil. While Dostoevsky's works concerned themselves with redemption from evil, however, in many ways Genet writes about evil (or at least criminality) as itself redemptive in some way--that is, when he isn't calling the very notion of redemption itself into question as a liberal humanist fantasy.
But what I like the most about this book is not its intellectuality, though there's plenty of that. I most enjoyed how his characters--unbelievably, even uninimaginably bizarre--became in his hands almost commonplace and real. Like Toni Morrison in a different, evil register, Genet's cast is quirky and out-there yet, somehow, not odd at all. Through their very strangeness they become the best exemplars of our real selves.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant acheivement, an upside down world! March 27, 1999
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Genet's masterpiece is an upside down world of reverse values. Meeting Querelle through these pages is like meeting a seducing demon. His impact on nearly everyone is upheavel and disarray. He reminds the characters around him of their own shames and weaknesses, simply by being himself. Querelle is s fiendish mirror for human frailties, vanities, faults and weaknesses. Querelle's completeion is his domination by others. His peace is in full submission, his irony: those around are desparate to be possesed and dominated by him. His only friendly advances are thwarted by his passivity. A vision of a void and desparately empty character searching for the punishment he so richly deserves. If you don't understand the text , or the possibilities in the message, read Funeral Rights, or Miracle of the Rose, or better many Genet novels, his genius is deep and broad and always thought provoking.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is monumental.
GENET IS A GOD. This book should be required reading.
Published 8 days ago by rhubarb jones
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, love the film
I always thought the film of Querelle was a classic. After recently watching it again, I decided to re-read the book. Genet's books are challenging but worth the time invested.
Published 9 months ago by Dog Friendly
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story
Shows the struggle between good and evil, heterosexual and homosexual tendencies. It's almost like a real account of what life is verses for instance stories that are reluctant to... Read more
Published 11 months ago by Jerry Tamayo
2.0 out of 5 stars At best, a difficult read.
Best read in one sitting as the visual images are just not there. A difficult read at the best of times.
Published on September 24, 2012 by Wrajax
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Up
Perhaps, without the graphic description of homo-eroticism Genet has indulged in, this novel would have been impressive as a tale of pure evil. Read more
Published on May 23, 2009 by B. T. Sampath
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read
"Querelle" is the only exposure I have had to Genet's work, and this only after watching the excellent Fassbinder film adaptation. Read more
Published on September 25, 2004 by Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars What else is there to say?
Well, I'll try to be a little more brief than other reviewers...

I wouldn't even write this review, except that I thought there was one area I could add to what has... Read more
Published on September 24, 2004 by M. Mclain
5.0 out of 5 stars a suggestion
I'm not even finished the book yet, but if it comes across as obscure or obscene or infuriating to some readers, I'd recommend seeing Fassbinder's film "Querelle", and... Read more
Published on December 14, 1998
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, but highly symbolic and, therefore, challenging
I must take issue with the previous reviewer. I found the novel one of the best I've ever read. It is in the tradition of Melville's "Moby Dick" and Golding's... Read more
Published on April 22, 1997
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category