Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understandable view of the Holocaust
It's hard to write about the Holocaust. That world is horrific and foreign to our everyday life. It's usually hard to read a book about the Holocaust. I have started many books and then put them aside. This book was one I couldn't put aside. As a matter of fact, I couldn't put it down.

Egbert achieves this by careful choice of his main viewpoint character...
Published on June 16, 2012 by Silicon Valley Joanie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars holocaust ?
It's a story, fictional. of a non-fictional subject, the holocaust. I wouldn't buy it. I made made the mistake and did.
Published on June 20, 2012 by M. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understandable view of the Holocaust, June 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
It's hard to write about the Holocaust. That world is horrific and foreign to our everyday life. It's usually hard to read a book about the Holocaust. I have started many books and then put them aside. This book was one I couldn't put aside. As a matter of fact, I couldn't put it down.

Egbert achieves this by careful choice of his main viewpoint character. Ingrid is the wife of an SS man who is commander of a "feeder camp" for Auschwitz. Ingrid lives in a comfortable house near the camp. She has enough to eat (most of the time) and plenty of middle-class things to worry about. Her daughter is sickly from rheumatic fever. Another SS officer is putting the make on her, finding excuses to come over to the house when her husband is away. She likes the prisoner-orderly who has been assigned to cook for her family, but her husband despises the man and looks forward to the day he will go to the "chimneys."

At the beginning of the book, Ingrid simply keeps the drapes closed on the "camp" side of the house. Eventually, the life of the camp intrudes.

By not forcing us to look at the camp all the time, Egbert makes it possible for us to learn about it as Ingrid learns. Ingrid ultimately makes some very moving and dangerous choices about friendship. I won't tell you how these choices turn out, but you will keep reading to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced thrilleresque story set in the Holocaust, May 12, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (New Delhi, India) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
With a title reminiscent of Holocaust testimony books, this inexpensive ebook, which I chanced upon on Amazon, turns out to be a surprise. It's not a true story, though many parts of it could have been, but a fast-paced thrillerish story set in World War II in the context of events that very much did take place.
The story is set in a fictional labour camp just outside Auschwitz. Obstgarten, which I think means orchard, is just a tiny shade better than the mother camp. But the story isn't about the camp routine or atrocities committed in such camps. It's the story of two people: Ingrid, the wife of a newly appointed commandant of this relatively small camp, and Mario Pastore, or Pastrami as they called him, a prisoner who is a servant in the commandant's house. It's 1944 and the end of the war is nearly at an awful end. That's when the camp - and everything and everyone in it - will be liquidated. Pastore has been preparing for this time because he's determined to survive and get back to his wife in Italy. Ingrid has discovered that her husband has a terrible dark side and their marriage is falling apart. Circumstances bring Ingrid and Pastrami into a joint battle for survival. They become strange friends; strange because he is a Jew and she the wife of a Nazi. No romance here, just an odd friendship where each is determined to help the other survive. The story moves, moves, moves - and then ends with things getting quite resolved for one of the two players. What really happens to the other, we don't know, but the person is not in any danger.
There are many implausibilites, but you forgive them in favor of reaching the finish line. This is an enjoyable book, although it's a little odd to find entertainment in a book set in the Holocaust. Well, why not, actually. The movie The Great Escape was set at that time. And so many others.
The author Charles Egbert, seems to have been inspired to write A Question of Survival during the time of Nuremberg trials where his father was responsible for trial records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to remind you of a terrible time, March 13, 2012
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
There has been so much written about the Nazi concentration camps that it is easy to forget, or avoid thinking about, exactly what happened and what it tells us about our species. Because this book does not stare incessantly at the horror but, instead, treats it as the "part of life" that it was for most of the people in that place and at that time, the "unreality" of the reality of what happened was brought home to me anew.

I reserve a 5 star rating for the likes of "War and Peace". This book was a solid 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars holocaust ?, June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
It's a story, fictional. of a non-fictional subject, the holocaust. I wouldn't buy it. I made made the mistake and did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another look at the banality of evil, April 8, 2014
By 
FSC (APO AE, AE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
This is a spare clean story, that shows its bones come from a fine script for the stage. It is a dark tale, naturally, set as it is against the backdrop of the Holocaust. Through laying out the central story this book shows the crucial decision points individuals come to when facing terrible evil. Beautifully written with an understanding of both human frailty and human cruelty, and a light of hope (perhaps) at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really interesting book, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read a book in a year. I'm glad I read this book, it keep me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The book is smooth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Took a little bit for me to get into it, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
but then I couldn't put it down. It's less about in-camp life than it is about a prisoner living in the camp commander's house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read....nothing too taxing but a story of a German woman's fight for her own life and how her unlikely friendship with her Jewish cook helped them both get what they were looking for....not a true story but a good read nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good rendition and tastefully done, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
It is difficult to attempt by fiction a subject that really did destroy many wonderful lives. With all the true stories that vanished with the people who were taken from this world so horrifically it seems out of bounds to make something up. A fiction writer aproaching a subject like this has to be true to the subject and must not write anything that is unbelievable flippant or disrespectful. The author must at all times respect and represent the truth within the storyline. I believe this author wrote this story well..respecting the dead who actually lived this horror and telling a flowing suspenseful story at the same time. I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, July 18, 2012
This review is from: A Question of Survival (Kindle Edition)
I like autobiographies and true stories of survival so this was a change. It made it hard to put yourself in that era knowing that the characters and camp were fictional. For such a passionate, personal, nonfictional subject, it was little hard to accept a fictional story about it.
If you like to read fake stories about a real, lesson-learner from the past then go for it. If you like true stories about historic events then this might not be the book for you.
One thing that lost me was the mistake in the description about one of the characters. Seemed odd that the writer would repeatedly describe the character as a Jehovah Witness in the book but a Seventh Day Aventist in the description... Why change the religion from inside the book to outside?? Little things throughout the book like that were a little bothersome.
By the way, I have a few family members that are Seventh Day Adventist (which was used to described one of the characters in the description, yet in the book he was descibed as a Jehovah Witness). I can honestly tell you that calling a Seventh Day Adventist a Jehovah Witness is like calling a Baptist a Catholic. If not such a drastic difference in description I wouldn't have said anything but that was blatantly noticable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Question of Survival
A Question of Survival by Charles F.D. Egbert
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.