Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A straightforward and compassionate follow-up to On Death and Dying.
Questions & Answers on Death and Dying is an extremely helpful resource to those who are bereaved or are on the cusp of being so. It is also a good introductory book, as was its predecessor-On Death and Dying-to the area of counseling psychology, specifically thanatology, the study of death and dying, for there are many issues in the dying process that are addressed:...
Published on August 15, 2005 by Christian Engler

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the book I ordered
I ordered a book entitled "On Death and Dying"; I received "Questions and Answers on Death and Dying"...a supplementary book to "On Death an Dying".
Published on July 28, 2010 by D. Swartwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A straightforward and compassionate follow-up to On Death and Dying., August 15, 2005
By 
Christian Engler (Woburn, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
Questions & Answers on Death and Dying is an extremely helpful resource to those who are bereaved or are on the cusp of being so. It is also a good introductory book, as was its predecessor-On Death and Dying-to the area of counseling psychology, specifically thanatology, the study of death and dying, for there are many issues in the dying process that are addressed: nonverbal symbolic language, prolongation of life, sudden death, suicide and terminal illness, fear, faith and hope to old age and just plain coping. Encompassed in the very latter, coping-wise, is not simply the patient and family but also the medical staff. The dynamics of dying have a process and to witness a loved one going through that process is obviously painful; it is the agonizing but inevitable hurt that no one wants to go through. But it can and will make the living stronger. This work in particular is helpful in many respects, because it is not necessarily a "how-to" guide on how to grieve or cope; it simply tries to answer the most fundamental and frequently asked questions that people have in respects to death and dying, i.e. emotional and physical pain, loneliness, anger against God and healthy people and finding some caliber of meaningfulness in their life while simultaneously being in the throes of the dying process. The questions asked are sincere, moving and eloquent. The dam of curiosity is opened, and Elizabeth Kubler-Ross eloquently answers all questions, even ones we would not even think of asking. Her insightful and kindhearted responses go to the core of what we're all essentially curious about; she herself admits that in doing this work, it has created a religious belief system that she believed was nonexistent, as one question illustrates: "In all your research on death, what is your personal belief of what happens after death?" "Before I started working with dying patients, I did not believe in a life after death. I now do believe in a life after death, beyond a shadow of a doubt." What is so nice about this book is that it is a gap filler to the first book. What Elizabeth Kubler-Ross started with in On Death and Dying, the general public-the living and the dying (by their questions)-completed with Questions & Answers on Death and Dying; it went full circle, and it reads as such. This is a valuable work to have. Many, many topics are addressed, and there is no compassionate condescension or nihilistic overtones, just truth, information and loving understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book should be on the bookshelf of every family, June 27, 2000
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
This sensitive, essential information is required for all patients and families. The factual presentation of information will allow intelligent decisions to be made and thoughtful discussions with health care providers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive presentation of difficult information, June 27, 2000
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
This book should be on the book shelf of every household. It presents difficult information in a way that focuses thinking and allows patient and family to make effective decisions about the end of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information But..., August 15, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
This book has some really good information in it, but there is such a thing as "too much of a good thing" I found it almost boring with the redundant questions and answers. This book could have been half the pages and still good. Good read, but very repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Questions and Answers on Death and Dying, March 16, 2006
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
Elisabeth Kubler-Ross gives an in depth look into questions related to death and dying. This author helps answer those questions whether you are a family member of the dying or a healthcare provider, this book will help you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You're Not a Student of Thanatology You'll Find it Boring, May 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
If You ARE a student of thanatology and you're into wanting the smallest of details, you'll love this book!

I found it to be a combination of boring yet extremely interesting at the same time for lack of a better way of explaining it.

As the survivor of a near death (transcendent) experience in 1981, and someone who has spent years as both a grief counselor and an end-of-life counselor working mostly with hospice patients, I found this book to be both fascinating and enlightening.

It's pretty pricey, but the information contained within the pages of this book is very thorough and detailed, and not much has been left to the imagination.

If you're really serious about the study of thanatology then this book is for you, but if you're just seeking a "casual read," you may wish to look elsewhere because it reads like more of a technical manual, and I don't mean that as a mean-spirited comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion book to "Living with death and dying", April 18, 2008
If you read Dr. Kubler-Ross' book "Living with Death and Dying" this is a great companion book. It explains frequent follow up questions Dr. Kubler-Ross had after her lectures to medical staff and family members dealing with death and dying. Book answers important questions on how to treat terminally ill patients (both adults and children), how to handle sudden or unexpected death due to accident. One learns that many times patients disclose what is on their minds thru a small talk, drawings or occupational therapy. Even bed ridden and seemingly unconscious patients do communicate non-verbally and appreciate small kindness such as talking to them, reading to them, providing them with comfort such as warm cloth bath, warmth, combing their hair. This is a very sensitive book. Although some of the questions are repetitive, I find them to gently re-enforce basic teaching that Dr. Kubler-Ross was trying to convey to both medical staff and general public. Written in simple language with enough situational examples, this book is a great guide for anyone dealing with death or going thru the grieving process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle and enlightening, September 15, 2005
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Death and Dying (Paperback)
I have been a fan of the writing of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross since college. She has a writing style which is tender, kind and honest. As with all of her other books you will find answers to your questions and feel comforted by her words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True and real., December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elisabeth Kubler-Ross' writings have helped me for years as a hospital chaplain and minister.
Reading he questions that were asked and how they were answered will help me as I deal with the families and professionals I deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death and Dying, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elisabeth Kubler-Ross is a excellent Doctor and Teacher about the subject of Death and Dying, I liked the question and answer
Format, She addressed all stages of grief,along with the process Terminally ill patients,families, and medical staff must face, What I learned will help me as a Nurse to listen,be more compassionate, caring for patients and their families,helping
Them through the different stages to achieve acceptance and peace at the time of Death, I feel this is a must book for physicians,Nurses, Clergy, psychiatrists', patients and families,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d45a1b0)

This product

Questions and Answers on Death and Dying
Questions and Answers on Death and Dying by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross (Paperback - June 9, 1997)
$14.00 $10.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.