Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Insurance- Useful for the consumer and practitioner, February 8, 2005
This is quite a useful reference both for the financial services professional and for the layperson with specific questions about life insurance. The question and answer format, user-friendly table of contents and reference tables make it easy to find the answers you are seeking. The writing is clear and easily understood. Life insurance industry jargon is explained in plain English.

The book begins with the basics and moves on to progressively more complex questions. It delves into the minutiae without becoming tedious.

It is comprehensive, covering most anything you might want - or not want- to know about life insurance. Most readers will use the book to answer specific questions, but it is well enough organized to serve as a textbook for those interested in the complex field of life insurance.

Overall, an excellent effort and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive description of life insurance, December 28, 2004
By 
Helen Bohl (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
"Questions and Answers on Life Insurance" is an excellent resource for anyone who is buying or has bought either "whole" or term life insurance. It is also a good reference for life insurance salespersons, financial planners, or those just interested in learning more about life insurance. The book answers questions regarding what type of policy is appropriate, how to deal with an insurance salesperson, what to expect in the underwriting process, and what steps one should take after buying life insurance. The book also contains many useful web site references and some sage advice relevant to life insurance and general financial planning. The question and answer format quickly directs the reader to a specific area of interest. The index and glossary are particularly complete. Mr. Steuer should be complemented on his thorough and interesting book.

Overall, if you have the slightest desire to know more about life insurance, I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Book On Life Insurance, January 26, 2007
I found this book to be very thorough, covering many important topics regarding life insurance. This book is very consumer friendly, as well as informative to a seasoned professional. There does not seem to be very much on the topic of life insurance in the marketplace and it is refreshing to see Mr. Steuer tackle these issues in a consumer friendly manner. I would be more than happy to recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the life insurance industry. Many books are written on how to accumulate assets/wealth. More books, like this one, should tackle the issues of protecting financial assets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have For Your Reference Library, February 20, 2007
By 
Joyce Yee (San Bruno, CA) - See all my reviews
Thank You, Mr. Steuer! I can now understand the mysterious world of life insurance and why it's so important to be insured. Q&A on Life Insurance was written just for you and me in language that is simple and easy to understand. The best part, it's a non-biased reference without the sales pitch.

I appreciate the easy to find answers. I don't have to dig through pages of information to find what I need. Readers will also appreciate that Mr. Steuer has taken the time to de-code and decipher traditional life insurance lingo. His book is filled with many useful definitions. I had several "ah-ha" moments myself.

A definite MUST-HAVE for your private reference collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demistifying Life Insurance, January 25, 2005
By 
Ray Brown (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Sooner or later, most of us buy life insurance. Unfortunately, darn few of us know enough to sort through the myriad of whole life and term insurance policy options when searching for the best policy to satisfy our present and future requirements. Anthony Steuer helps you do just that. Steuer demystified this complex subject. His topic isn't wildly exciting, but Tony made it reader-friendly by using a Q&A format. You may even, much to your surprise, find it interesting. If you're like me, sooner or later you'll prowl through the physical exam factors in Appendix D to research your specific medical conditions. Steuer's book is an invaluable tool for the consumer who needs to understand life insurance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on the subject, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Life Insurance: The Life Insurance Toolbook (Paperback)
As other reviewers have already expressed, it is as informative as a text book, yet as readable as a novel. Lot's of good info covering almost everything from A to Z. I generally agree with the previous positive comments, so I will not repeat them. The book does have two glaring omissions. 1. It never addresses the differences between a Mutual Insurance company and other Shareholder companies. I thought the author would have pointed out the advantages and benefits of a mutual company. He does have the definition of a mutual company in the Glossary of Terms at the end of the book, but he should have devoted at least a few paragraphs to this important distinction. Kind of like writting a book on banking but not exxplaining the differences between a bank and a credit union. 2. In the preface he states that Life Insurance is not an investment. He never explains this in the book. There is a lot of books and chatter about self banking using life insurance that he should have addressed. The author states that it is a financial vehicle that can be used to pay for education and many other things. That sounds like an investment to me. He should have shown the difference between an investment and life insurance.

It easily deserves fives stars, if not for the two mentioned omissions.

Thanks,
Joe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer, March 25, 2007
Questions and Answers on Life Insurance is a great primer for anyone with life insurance questions. This is a particularly valuable resource since consumers never know who to believe when they are contemplating buying a policy. After reading this book, you'll increase your chances of obtaining a better policy or you may very well decide you don't need cash value life insurance at all. I share Steuer's belief that most people only need term insurance. If you want a rare unbiased look at insurance, this is your guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for this honest and comprehensive toolkit about life insurance, November 17, 2011
This review is from: Questions and Answers on Life Insurance: The Life Insurance Toolbook (Paperback)
This honest and comprehensive overview is the only guide I need and it encompasses more than all the other books I had put together. It's easy to read and the abstract concepts and complicated language of life insurance is broken down for the layperson. Many references make it a guide for the financial professional as well. Evaluating and purchasing a specific policy is only one part of the process. Tony Steuer encourages vigilance and staying current and he gives the how-to's in maintaining or changing policies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The more you know, the better off you are., April 8, 2010
I have had this book on my reference shelf for awhile now, and find myself picking it up more often all the time.

When looking at life insurance there are many pieces and topics to cover and that can lead to not only confusion on the part of the consumer, but also to those in the industry to different extents.

There is no "best" policy - only the best policy for the financial objective of the buyer. Getting to that objective and then finding the policy type that fits that need is briefly mentioned specifically in the book under policy suitability. However, the underlying tone of the book throughout - its educational tone - provides information that will allow the reader to see what makes a particular type of policy applicable to the needs at hand - whether they be maximum cash values, specific business applications, etc.

Mr. Steuer also touches on some more advanced upper market tools, such as premium financing, that may be of interest to those involved in sophisticated sales. As someone who has been involved with life insurance analysis for 22 years, I can say that overall this is a very useful and readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Informative, January 22, 2009
I found this book to be extremely comprehensive. It provides information on all subjects related to life insurance.

The information is clearly written and explained. The book contains answers to more than 130 common questions regarding life insurance.

Whether you are a novice to life insurance, or work in the life insurance industry, you will find this book to be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Questions and Answers on Life Insurance: The Life Insurance Toolbook
$22.95 $17.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.