Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

101 Questions and Answers about Backyard Wildlife Hardcover – November 1, 1996


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$56.86 $0.01

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 9 and up
  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Walker Childrens (November 1, 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0802784577
  • ISBN-13: 978-0802784575
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.2 ounces
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,493,880 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 3-5. An appealing book, inspired by Squire's move to a large old house and resultant encounters with local wildlife indoors and out. Divided into chapters on birds, insects, mammals, and reptiles and amphibians, the questions range from woodpecker tongues to dragonfly eyes, from cicada cycles to a squirrel's life span. The questions are logical, the answers accurate, and the writing style conversational. Organization leaves a tad to be desired, as not all of the information about various creatures is grouped together. The index will help readers seeking a particular snippet, but having all data on a single critter in one sequence is more logical. The black-and-white sketches are realistic, accurate, and appealing. A pleasant little book to have on the porch on a summer evening, along with a frosty pitcher of real lemonade and a few jam jars for hunting fireflies.?Patricia Manning, formerly at Eastchester Public Library, NY
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

Gr. 3^-6. Quiet and unpretentious, with no glossy color pictures but with precise black-and-white drawings, this small, attractive book is an immensely readable, fact-filled account of the birds, insects, mammals, amphibians, and other creatures children might see in their own backyards. The question-and-answer format makes browsing easy and will keep kids reading, in the classroom and on their own. These are things you might wonder about or might not have thought to ask about: Why don't birds sing in the winter? Are bats really blind? Does a snail ever outgrow its shell? The answers aren't just snippets of data but are quite detailed information about animal physiology and behavior. The combination of casual style, excellent black-and-white drawings, and remarkable facts makes this science an exciting part of everyday life. Hazel Rochman

Important Information

Ingredients
Example Ingredients

Directions
Example Directions

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.