Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea!
This is a very fun and entertaining memory game. The mix between more classical and traditional designs and some contemporary and display types offers a broad overview of the different typefaces available, so the game starts very easy but then gets harder as it progresses! At the same time it is very informative: the set comes with this concertina folded guide that tells...
Published on September 1, 2010 by Guilherme Falcão

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a good idea that fails
This should be a good puzzler but every card uses the same two glyphs, the cap and lower case "a" at a large display size to identify all of the typefaces of the entire deck of cards. Obviously the distinguishing features of few faces can be determine by just the letter a, except perhaps for Caslon and a few others. For instance, Baskerville should show the tail of the...
Published on August 22, 2010 by Richard Bigus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a good idea that fails, August 22, 2010
By 
Richard Bigus (Kailua, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
This should be a good puzzler but every card uses the same two glyphs, the cap and lower case "a" at a large display size to identify all of the typefaces of the entire deck of cards. Obviously the distinguishing features of few faces can be determine by just the letter a, except perhaps for Caslon and a few others. For instance, Baskerville should show the tail of the cap Q as that is its most unique and distinguishing feature. And there ought to be some interesting clues to help us decode our typeface. Each card includes the pangram, "The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog" however, this is in a text size that is too small to truly compare and determine structural features. Also, all of the typefaces are set in contemporary digital fonts that don't necessarily show historical typefaces as well as their original or later metal foundry versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea!, September 1, 2010
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
This is a very fun and entertaining memory game. The mix between more classical and traditional designs and some contemporary and display types offers a broad overview of the different typefaces available, so the game starts very easy but then gets harder as it progresses! At the same time it is very informative: the set comes with this concertina folded guide that tells a bit about the history of typography, elements and parts of the letters... Its very nice since they are such a big part of our lives and we seem to know so little about them! Over all, a great idea - for both experts and enthusiasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoW, December 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
It is really nice and in a great presentation, this could be a starting point for any designer when they start studying typography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, January 22, 2014
By 
Skim (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
The card only displays the letter A in a large font size, and then the rest of the sentence in a much smaller size below. They name the font family on the same side, so there's no guessing what the font is! Also, the quality of the paper stock is very cheap. I purchased these as gifts for friends, but I decided not to give them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatttt, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
Great as my expectations, playing a lot with my Students and at office hour! Very nice game and typographic card!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game for those so inclined, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
I bought this as a gift for my wife who really likes it. She is a real typography buff and loves fonts. This is a game that can be played with younger children and will help with their ability to associate images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Si eres diseñador, es un fetiche imprescindible, September 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
Me gusta tanto la idea, como el formato; viene en un packaging perfecto para el tipo de objeto que es. El diseño de las cartas del juego también es llamativo, ya que en el dorso de cada una de ellas muestran todas la tipografías incluídas.
En el manual de instrucciones, incluye una breve história de todas las tipografías incluidas en el juego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute little set, July 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
Very cute typography matching game, but I hope you have an imagination because there were no given rules included with the box. The box, itself, is also extremely tight and a little hard to open. But those are nit-picky things. I'm going to be a TA for a typography class in the fall, and I think these will be just perfect to get new design students excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun card game., September 23, 2011
By 
Jenny E. Sanderlin (Hornell, New York, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog (Cards)
The card game looks like it will be more challenging than the traditional memory games. The packaging did not look new, which disappointed me because it is going to be a gift. All in all, happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog
The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over the Lazy Dog by Flávia Nalon (Cards - August 1, 2010)
$25.00 $18.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.