Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Quick and Easy Paint Transformations: 50 Step-by-step Ways to Makeover Your Home for Next to Nothing
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2012
I just completed reading Annie Sloans newest book, Quick and Easy Paint Transformations. Chalk paint is a unique and historical medium and with it you do not have to prime your piece first, saving both time and money.

I found this book very helpful as I learned many "Tips & Trade Secrets" that would had taken me years to learn through trial and error. I particularily like learning how Sloan selects which colors for which projects, how she uses her paint in layers and her unique color combinations. It was a complete and deightful surprise to learn that this paint can also be used on metal, cement, floors, walls as well as wood furniture.

I recommend also buying the $5.00 handpainted paint chart as well. I liked having that chart in hand to review the colors of each project and to not have to flip back and forth to the back of the book where the other chart (printed on glossy paper and not as accurate to my eye)is located.

If you are interested in restoring or beautifying furniture or plan to do any DYI hand painting, this is the book for you.

Small House / Big Sky Donna
<...>
22 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
This is a beautiful book to look at, however I felt the specific details in obtaining the final finished product were lacking.
I had many questions about the waxing aspect and felt like it could have been more detailed.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Here are lovely ideas to use with chalk and chalk-style paints. I'm having a lot of fun. In case you don't know about it, chalk paint is wonderful. It provides full coverage quickly, adheres to almost all surfaces with out pre-sanding and cleans up easily compared to straight latex. Annie Sloan's Chalk Paint is absolutely wonderful, but Very pricy. If you can afford it; use it. (It runs $38.95 per quart in my area.) If that is too steep for your budget there are many good formulas on line for making your own chalk-style paint using latex paint, calcium carbonate (available from Amazon) and water. There are also formulas using plaster of Paris or non-sanded grout, but they both have some drawbacks. The chalk "style" paint is only slightly more difficult to clean up than the true chalk paint, and it too provides good coverage and adherence. Getting the correct balance of calcium carbonate to paint and water makes all the difference. Don't over thin the mixture with water. Also, don't cheap out on the brush you use. I've experimented and find that a round boar bristle brush that Annie Sloan recommends really makes life easier. Even an excellent quality flat configuration brush doesn't do as good or fast a job as a medium round brush.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
This is a beautiful book - it makes you want to buy a piece of furniture just to learn how to paint like shown in the book. I didn't think the instructions were detailed enough or had enough information about the type of paint to use (unless you purchased the paint from the writer or one other place in the US). But, I found the book to have excellent examples of what can be done with an otherwise ugly piece of furniture to revive and make it beautiful.
11 comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I just recently discovered Annie Sloane but I have rapidly done project after project using her techniques. You can get all the information on Ytube or her website, but I love having this book on hand for instant access of technique. The example that she gives are also inspiring. I have already refinished a chair, hall table, apothecary chest, a coffee table and picture frames and still have more projects in mind.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
There are lots of good ideas if you want the aged, antique look, but not many for a fresh new look. I was hoping for more of that type.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2011
Annie Sloan is such a delight in person, and just like her book, makes it seem so easy to transform a plain piece of furniture into an "antique treasure" for your home! Great photos and easy to follow directions. The great thing about the Chalk Paints and waxes...flexible! If you don't like the results it's so easy to re-do until you have the perfect finish you want for your furniture piece. Love Annie; love her books! If you paint furniture, this book is a MUST HAVE along with Annie's fabulous CHALK PAINTS and special waxes. You can order directly from a USA stockist; just find one near you by going to Annie's website.
33 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
It wasn't as easy as it looks on videos and in the book when it comes to applying the wax, a LITTLE BIT GOES A LONG WAY. You will be getting a workout when buffing the wax - sticky means more buffing/sanding.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Annie Sloan's books (I purchased 6) are all beautifully illustrated and have very clear concise directions for an amateur do-it-yourselfer. I loved every single one of these books and the projects I've done through the use of these books have come out very well. I am very pleased and highly recommend them. These books are for beginners as well as experienced DIYers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
I have a couple of other Annie Sloan books. This one gives good ideas for different projects and great descriptive steps but does not go into as much depth into colors as her Color Recipes for Painted Furniture book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse