Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5-Star Modern Day Western
If you believed great western films died with the passing of John Wayne, I have news for you - this western is every bit as good as those of the Duke.

Based on a story by Louis L'Amour, "The Quick and the Dead" is a fast-paced western about Duncan and Susanna McKaskel and son who are traveling across the continent to settle near the Big Horn Mountains in 1876...
Published on July 9, 2005 by kone

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, Bad, Interpretation
I noticed most people gave this movie 5 stars. The reason that I am giving this movie 1(and if I could, a 0) is because I read the book first, by Louis L'Amour, one of the best western writers ever. In the book there is no love story between Con and Susannah, as she is totally devoted to her husband and son, and Con is only admiring her for her looks and cooking ability...
Published on June 23, 2011 by chicforjesus


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5-Star Modern Day Western, July 9, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
If you believed great western films died with the passing of John Wayne, I have news for you - this western is every bit as good as those of the Duke.

Based on a story by Louis L'Amour, "The Quick and the Dead" is a fast-paced western about Duncan and Susanna McKaskel and son who are traveling across the continent to settle near the Big Horn Mountains in 1876. Escaping their violent memories of the Civil War, they run into Wyoming Territory where a man (and in this case, a woman) settle their problems with a gun. They are befriended by a nomadic western ranger, Con Vallian, who is reminisient of John Wayne's character Hondo. Mr. Vallian (Sam Elliott), takes a personal interest in the wife of the pilgrims, Susanna McKaskel (Kate Capshaw). Not wanting harm to come to Susanna, Vallian becomes their guardian angel, as they are pursued by eight ruthless theives that are intent on taking everything they own and having their way with Susanna.

Sam Elliott's role as Vallian is an admirable 5-star performance, which establishes him as a premier western star in the post John Wayne era. Sheperd brings his character to life with his deep resonant voice, his glowering smoldering eyes, and his ruggedly handsome good looks. Elliott's Vallian is a pragmatic character who would not mind taking over husbandly duties with Susanna, should anything happen to her husband Duncan. As the story unfolds, Vallian builds a grudging respect for Duncan, seeing the steady grit inside the man.

Kate Capshaw plays Susanna McKaskel, and is the obvious reason for Vallian's interest in the family. Capshaw is truly a strikingly beautiful woman; however, she is also a strikingly good actress and carries off the part of a pioneering woman with ease. Her performance matches Sam Elliot's scene for scene.

The story unfolds quickly and there is a level of tension thoughout the movie that keeps you in your seat. You will not be disappointed in this movie. I intend to move it to my "keeper" movie shelf with my other western classics. It deserves its place there.

Jim Konedog Koenig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superior Horse Opera, August 19, 2003
By 
"billlester" (Latrobe, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
The Western is arguably my favorite film genre and The Quick and the Dead is one of the best. Sam Elliot is superb as the slow talkin' stranger who befriends a family of settlers preyed upon by theiving killers. He takes special interest in Kate Capshaw, the beautful and faithful wife. Yes the plot is simple but simplicity is often a good thing. I think you will enjoy The Quick and the Dead as much as I. Just be sure not to confuse it with the poorly acted Sharon Stone/Leonardo DeCaprio film of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most under-rated western of all time., October 29, 2000
This review is from: Quick & The Dead [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This little movie was a quiet knockout. A subtly exquisite love story told against the background of hard pioneer life and a violent sub-plot. Sam Elliot at his absolute best, stunningly beautiful Kate Capshaw at hers, and Tom Conti just perfect. Elegantly cast, remarkably well performed, and the photography (by the way) was superb. My favorite "modern" western ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good are Good and the Bad are Bad: No Grey!, December 10, 2005
By 
Dr. Victor S. Alpher (Austin, Texas, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
I'll admit that the simplicity of this L'Amour tale of Easterners being protected by an anonymous-type stranger on the wagon trail out west has to please. Sam Elliott is the best he can be, as are the supporting characters, Good and Bad.

The westward-bound couple with their young son learn early that with the best of intentions--it is best to learn to shoot to kill, and that some Bad men just won't take no for an answer.

The cinematography is beautiful (stunning, really) and might just inspire a few tenderfeet to head out to Utah to see what it is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay agead of the Game, October 7, 2011
This review is from: Quick & The Dead (DVD)
Quick and the Dead was made for the television in 1987.
Fantastic dialogue written by James Lee Barrett and directed to the finer perfection by Robert Day giving full credit to the great story written by Louis L'Amour.
It has a beautiful musical score, which fits the great landscape just after winter snow
Melting on the mountains.
Story was set in 1876 Wyoming territory.
Tom Conti plays (Duncan McKaskel) with his wife (Susanna McKaskel) played by
Kate Capshaw and they have one son (tom Mckaskel) played by Kenny Morrison.

They are on their way to start new life on the land which her brother who was in Custer's regiment bought and built the house before going to war.

Then there is Sam Elliot as (Con Vallian)-I doesn't have to tell much about Him.
Each dialogues is explosive.
In this movie he is a son of mountain man and Indian mother.
He keeps appearing like a ghost saving the day for them and indirectly preparing and teaching them to take care of themselves as they were chased by a band of ruffians -even though while doing so he got shot but he kept going on saying this funny dialogue ever since he first met them.

"Yes sir McKaskel you are a lucky man
You got a damm good woman.
You are a mighty handsome woman maam.
She is my wife. You know she is handsome
I know she is handsome-will you stop saying it.
Still she is mighty handsome".
Susanna says-Pardon me but we don't even know your name.
Name don't count much out here maam.

On one occasion Duncan says.
Have you actually ever done a day's work in your life vallian.
I worked hard every day in my life Mr.
As What?
"BY STAYING ALIVE".
Good movie-you can never go wrong.Print is good sound is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Sam, October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quick & The Dead (DVD)
Not only is this a great western by a master like Louis L'Amour, you have one of the sexiest men alive starring in it! You have the best of both worlds to enjoy. No one spins an interesting yarn of western life like Louis L'Amour, and Sam Elliott is one of THE BEST western actors EVER. He is just a natural and takes you right into the story with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quick and the Dead, Sam Elliott, June 24, 2007
By 
Bobbie Treloggen (Winnetka CA, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
This movie, The Quick and the Dead starring Sam Elliott should not be confused with The Quick and the Dead starring Sharon Stone. How these movies ended up with the same title is a mystery to me.
My review is on The Quick and the Dead starring, Sam Elliott.
This western has action, romance, historical fiction, beautiful scenery, and the most rugged, handsome, cowboy ever, complete with his great horsemanship skills and own stunts. Sam Elliott is almost like a "guardian angel" who can speak the Sioux language and protects a single family who is traveling out west from danger when it's least expected. Good story line, the bad guys are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAM ELLIOTT & LOUIS L'AMOUR. AIN'T MUCH BETTER THAN THAT!, May 24, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "MRD" (Somewhere in the Field) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
I've come to know that if Sam Elliott is involved with a Louis L'Amour story you pretty much can't miss. Such is the case with THE QUICK AND THE DEAD. By now you know that this is nothing even remotely close to the movie of the same name starring Sharon Stone and Gene Hackman.

The story involves a Pennsylvania couple that has gone west. Lest you immediately think stereotype, THE QUICK AND THE DEAD features some departures from the usual "good guy saves the day" western clichés. First of all Elliott, while the consummate good guy, is definitely a mischievous good guy. And Tom Conti who plays the Pennsylvania man gone west is not your typical helpless pilgrim. In fact, if you're like me, Conti's portrayal of Duncan McKaskel will have you smiling more and more before Elliott's Con Vallian rides of into the sunset.

Kate Capshaw sparkles as Susanna McKaskel. Vulnerable and yet tough, Susanna ends up, in my opinion, with the right man in the end.

Matt Clark is wonderfully evil as Doc Shabbitt, the head of a gang of smelly western toughs bent on doing as much damage as possible.

I found THE QUICK AND THE DEAD to be a wonderful western discovery that should get more credit than it has. Some have criticized it for not being as good as the original Louis L'Amour book but, then, how many movies out there are able, in 90 to 120 minutes-or even in the epic proportions characteristic of most Costnerian Westerns-to tell the story as completely as print? Yes, read the book but enjoy the movie as well!

THE HORSEMAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A western with romance but with the cowboy thing !, July 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Quick & The Dead [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A movie one can watch time and again. Sam Elliot brings his best that makes western movies what they should be. A story of what life is also about to day. Just another time and place. Just as Con and Suzzana wished for... " I guess wild things don't grow well in gardens" That line tells the story and what it can show us. I have watched this movie dozens of times. This one is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUICK AND THE DEAD - SAM ELLIOT/L'AMOUR/NEED I SAY MORE!, June 3, 2005
By 
Jean Mills (Aliso Viejo, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (DVD)
I never miss a Sam Elliot film and this one is a very good example of the reason not to ever miss one. Like all Louis L'Amour novels, the loner and very masculine, sensual cowboy is always the charismatic main character. Sam Elliot was made for this part......There is nothing really earthshaking about this film except maybe the brief love scenes between Elliot (Con Vallian) and Cate Capshaw (Susanna - a married woman) that are very well done and very sensual. Susanna finds this stranger to be terribly exciting even though she fights the feelings he rouses in her. She loves her husband, absolutely, but she lusts for, respects, admires and is grateful to Elliot. You will be drawn to him too if you are any kind of female. He IS the dark stranger that saves this family over and over again from real harm and watches out for them all the way to the valley of The Little Big Horn where they are planning to make their home and raise cattle. This is simply a very good, romantic western and is easy to watch. I love the dialogue Vallian uses when talking privately to Susanna such as "I got a lot of feelings for you ma'am. Another time, another place Ms.McKaskel I would have chased you till you dropped". You will love the relationship that grows and is depicted between Vallian and Susanna's young son. There is a deep respect and lasting bond that develops with Vallian and this family (even the husband Bill Conti) that you believe will continue for years to come. Try this movie. I guarantee you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Quick & The Dead
Quick & The Dead by Tom Conti (DVD - 2010)
$5.97 $4.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.