Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential for any restraunt owner moving to quickbooks
Just to level-set: I'm familiar with personal accounting products such as Quicken, Microsoft Money, and Mint.com. I'm comfortable with categorizing expenses and reading reports. I've never used Quickbooks before reading this book.

I would recommend this book to anyone familiar with basic accounting that wants to start using Quickbooks to manage a restaurant...
Published on May 29, 2010 by C. J. Saretto

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what they REALLY don't tell you...
What they really don't tell you, is that this book QuickBooks for the Restaurant is only useful if you want to play around with the author's fictional restaurant "Aroma Ristorante". If you are already using Quickbooks, or even plan to, it is IMPOSSIBLE to find answers to questions that will inevitably arise.

As a new restaurant owner albeit one with tons of...
Published 19 months ago by defo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential for any restraunt owner moving to quickbooks, May 29, 2010
By 
C. J. Saretto (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
Just to level-set: I'm familiar with personal accounting products such as Quicken, Microsoft Money, and Mint.com. I'm comfortable with categorizing expenses and reading reports. I've never used Quickbooks before reading this book.

I would recommend this book to anyone familiar with basic accounting that wants to start using Quickbooks to manage a restaurant. The chapters have simple step-by-step directions with screenshots so you can follow along. The chapters naturaly build on one-another. You start with setting up your company in Quickbooks, then accounts, then ordering and inventory, then payroll, etc. When I first opened Quickbooks, it all seemed pretty daunting. After the first 3 chapters, I felt comfortable and at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what they REALLY don't tell you..., February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
What they really don't tell you, is that this book QuickBooks for the Restaurant is only useful if you want to play around with the author's fictional restaurant "Aroma Ristorante". If you are already using Quickbooks, or even plan to, it is IMPOSSIBLE to find answers to questions that will inevitably arise.

As a new restaurant owner albeit one with tons of restaurant experience, I was having a hard time organizing all of my inventory and financials with quickbooks. I've purchased other books, and taken a class, but was still pretty confused about certain things- like how to organize my accounts appropriately, how to recieve and track inventory, and whether to enter bills for received items as "expenses" or "items". I bought this book based on the Amazon reviews thinking that since I'm new to quickbooks, the negatives of the other reviewers wouldn't apply to me. The book came today, and I've been looking at it for 2 hours hoping that I'm missing something...

For Example: Chapter 3 "Working With Lists" covers: Using Lists; Using the Chart of Accounts; Creating and Editing Accounts; Deleting Accounts; Making an account inactive; Creating a Vendor from the Vendor Center; Creating a customer from the customer center; Creating an item; Editing and Deleting a Vendor, Customer, and Item; Identifying the roll of classes; Preparing Lists; and Chapter review Problems... the chapter is 23 pages long... 1 page is the "Chapter Outline" which simply lists the above topics; 7 of these pages are screen shots that you'll be able to see anyway if you have quickbooks, 5 pages are a "Sample Chart of Accounts for a Table Service Restaurant" (which, by the way, repeat about 4 times with conflicting "Types" so you can't even enter them as the book shows), and then 3 pages of "Chapter Review Problems"... which are specific to "Aroma Ristorante" and still don't explain anything. that leaves just 7 pages in this chapter to go over ALL of the items in this outline... and those pages are broken up with blocks of "Data" that apply to the stupid fictional Ristorante! There are only THIRTEEN paragraphs of text in this entire chapter, and each paragraph averages FOUR lines!!! (yes I counted and did the math... That's how disappointed I am in this book!) that's a ton of necessary information to cover in just 52 lines of text!

They also don't tell you that it only applies to Quickbooks Pro 2008 and 2009, but assures you that by going to the companion website it will have updates for newer versions... in fact, the book often directs you to the companion website ([...])- but the website apparently has only a teacher's guide... but you have to register and wait for them to accept you before gaining access to it- and I would assume since it's a teacher's guide, it's directed at people who already know enough about quickbooks that they're comfortable enough to teach a class in it... I'm still waiting to be accepted...

Prior to purchasing this book, I bought the e-book of Restaurant Operators Complete Guide to Quickbooks by John Nessel- I found it lacking in a few areas specific to my needs, so I bought this one... despite it's shortcomings, I would recommend Nessel's book a million times over this one...

Needless to say, I am beyond disappointed, and will find more value in this book using it as kindling for my wood stove.

But Thank you Amazon for great speedy service, as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quickbooks for the Restaurant - Standard Fare!, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
I've been working in Quickbooks for a restaurant for years now and I hoped that this book would give me something I don't know or haven't worked with yet, but it didn't.

I would recommend this book for anyone just starting out in the business and has no knowledge of restaurant accounting. It's a good start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
the dvd was used and will not work so cannot use the programme. will have to review how to use the programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bookkeepers with Hospitality Clients Should Pick This Up ASAP!, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As someone who has several clients in the restaurant industry, I found this book to be a great addition to my library via Kindle. What many bookkeepers who don't have hospitality clients don't know is that the set of issues faced by this business are unique. Purchasing issues, documenting cash income, and other journal entry issues this industry faces are covered here.

The text itself is well written and well laid out. However my issue with the book is that it has not been updated for the new QuickBooks Online solution with has some different features than the complete package software. The book focuses on the package software, however much of the information regarding journal entries and handling inventory costing are the same and universal in many respects. Luckily most bookkeepers are using Provisor Services and have the full software quite rather than QBO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars You're on your own with costing, June 30, 2013
By 
Michael David Cruz (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book expects you to buy and sell finished products. Doesn't discuss how to handle CGS when you actually cook your own food in the restaurant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Primer for Restaurants Using QuickBooks, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
Restaurants are a 'different' kind of business, so it helps to have a book like this to guide you through how to do book-keeping / accounting for a restaurant using QuickBooks. The book provides a context for its advice, in the form of a notional restaurant, enabling you to see what an owner will likely see in terms of data, operation cycles, etc, then clearly presents how to capture and use the information in QuickBooks. One specific plus is that alternative scenarios are covered, such as both having an integrated POS and not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful Book, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
Quickbooks is a very confusing program at first glance. The program is used in the many industries, such as the restaurant, bar and construction industry to keep track of inventories, orders, etc. This book comes with a CD that lets you have the Quickbooks program for a limited amount of time ( since they do not want you to purchase the book and download the program to use since it is cheaper than the actual program) to practice program while following along with the book.

It is good for anyone looking to start using Quickbooks and also good for those who are looking for work. Quickbooks knowledge is a plus for many employers these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Practical Example, July 31, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: QuickBooks for the Restaurant (Paperback)
This book goes through the actual operations of a restaurant along with accounting procedures.
There are two things I feel the book should include (hopefully in the next edition):
1. A Chapter on Quickbooks POS
2. More examples of on AR--the handling of uncollectable accounts from customers.

On the Preface it stated "Updated chapter data and instructions will be available at [....] but when I got to that site it appears that they have moved around. You need to do a search by title on the publisher's site, and if you can't find it, you need to contact their "technical support" to see where they have moved it. Or you can get it from the instructor if taking a class. Otherwise, you will need to create the new company using the data in the book and will take sometime with data entry but that makes you really familiar with QB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great On Accounting, Short On Restaurants, December 24, 2011
By 
Jeffrey Summers (Fort Worth, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Either the authors or the publisher needs to do their homework. This is NOT the first and only book written about how restaurants can use Quickbooks to manage their business. John Nessel wrote the first (and much more practical) book that deals solely with the use of Quickbooks by restaurateurs - The Restaurant Operators Complete Guide to QuickBooks, (Now in it's 2nd Edition)and in it, satisfies all the complaints by reviewers listed here. Restaurant Operators Complete Guide to QuickBooks 2nd Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

QuickBooks for the Restaurant
QuickBooks for the Restaurant by Stephanie Murphy (Paperback - March 9, 2009)
$40.00 $34.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.