Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to Quicken
Quicken 2013 For DummiesI read the previously posted reviews before purchasing the book. If you are an experienced Quicken user then this book is not for you. However, I found it quite helpful in simplifying several tasks and providing a quick reference point for seeking answers to problems I encountered and saving me some frustration in trying to learn how to use...
Published 22 months ago by Charles Roberts

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Appropriately Titled
This is a wordy, repetitive and confusing book written for those needing step-by-step directions for the most basic features of Quicken, and provides no advantage over learning by trial and error using Quicken Help and Google. Save your money and buy a cheap manual home bookkeeping system. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is that it's not totally useless...
Published 19 months ago by Fly Boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to Quicken, February 6, 2013
By 
Charles Roberts (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Quicken 2013 For DummiesI read the previously posted reviews before purchasing the book. If you are an experienced Quicken user then this book is not for you. However, I found it quite helpful in simplifying several tasks and providing a quick reference point for seeking answers to problems I encountered and saving me some frustration in trying to learn how to use Quicken as quickly as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Appropriately Titled, May 4, 2013
By 
Fly Boy "KC" (WI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a wordy, repetitive and confusing book written for those needing step-by-step directions for the most basic features of Quicken, and provides no advantage over learning by trial and error using Quicken Help and Google. Save your money and buy a cheap manual home bookkeeping system. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is that it's not totally useless.

Quicken has a wealth of features that really make it a wonderful tool. This book mostly ignores those features. For example, even though the author acknowledges that printing checks with Quicken is expensive and unnecessary, he discusses check printing at length, including the pros and cons of remittance copies (the long part of the check that describes what the check is paying, like "Utilities"), but practically ignores electronic banking. Most financial institutions (including credit cards, mortgage lenders, stock brokers, etc.) provide automatic transaction downloads into Quicken. Most Banks provide FREE electronic bill scheduling and payment services which coordinate with Quicken. The Author's coverage of this neat capability - contact your bank.

Another example: Let's say you have a home network (NAS) or cloud storage and want to store your data on a remote device. Good luck finding the chapter on that!

Every "advanced" feature in Quicken is ignored or glossed over. If you expected any help for either the Business or Rental versions, forget it. This book is like the annual park department brochure on services - same content every year with only minor changes for park hours and pet waste disposal. Where did that water slide come from?

I had hoped for a much better book, and am very disappointed. Unless you are new to Quicken and need an over-priced primer, save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quicken 2013 for Dummies, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Good quick refferance, but not an indepth resource. Since the product doesn't come with a manual, I was hoping for a more complete refference. Reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Well written and easy to understand. Makes muddy water clear as spring waters. Takes the mysteries out of Quicken,therefore making it a easy to use. One of the best written instruction books ever, even with the Strange title.

Sincerely

EV Calvert
SW, Missouri
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quiken for dummies, April 26, 2013
By 
Joseph R. Zaientz (Haddam Neck, Ct. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Must have for dummies like me who use quicken daily and need a reference when I get in trouble. Good to update it periodicaly as new versions of Quicken chane a little bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Just what I was hoping for...easy to read, understand, concise. No dry volume to go through! Thank you, Stephen L. Nelson, MBA, CPA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Being a prior (older version) I was impressed with this latest version and this book explained all the new bells & whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, March 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
This formed a fine run-through of Quicken 2013, in an engaging style. I suppose one always has some questions that a book can't or doesn't answer. What it does, though, is done well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
Too cutesy. Wound up hiring a professional who set me up with a spreadsheet instead. I wanted some extra help with Quicken so I could get through my taxes, but this book was more about budgeting. If my business had been rental properties, it might have been more relevant to me, but it didn't address questions I had concerning my new home business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as easy to use as I had hoped, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quicken 2013 For Dummies (Paperback)
I haven't given it enough time to really make use of it. Not as easy to use as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Quicken 2013 For Dummies
Quicken 2013 For Dummies by Stephen L. Nelson (Paperback - October 23, 2012)
$24.99 $15.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.