Customer Reviews


2,251 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,465)
4 star:
 (522)
3 star:
 (149)
2 star:
 (68)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


408 of 418 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In defense of introversion (or how being an innie is cool)
This is hardly an impartial review. As somebody who has been called at some point or another the gamut of terms associated with introversion, from "shy" (which I don't object) to "anti-social" (which I most certainly consider unfair), I found in Susan Cain's "Quiet," the validation and appreciation many introverts have been searching for.

In "Quiet," Ms. Cain...
Published on October 16, 2011 by Pippa Lee

versus
212 of 228 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag. Good resource for further reading.
Background: I'm an INFP (very strong on I and N, weak F, middling P) on the Myers-Briggs typology; I first took the test almost 25 years ago, and have done much further reading on personality, motivation and behavior since. The last two books I read before this one were Without Conscience: The Disturbing World of the Psychopaths Among Us and The Sociopath Next Door (I...
Published on February 3, 2012 by Alec


‹ Previous | 132 33 34226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Comforting, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read a chapter a day, and thought about what I had read. And at the end of the book, I can say that I feel better about myself, and the other introverts in the world. I learned that if I believe in something strongly enough, introversion will not hold me back. That in fact, it is an asset. Yay, team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, April 6, 2013
By 
Mike Perry (Fort Collins, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Confirmation for me - when I question why I am the quiet one in a meeting. And reminders - to inform and empower my teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So that's why., April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a card-carrying introvert - and longtime disparager of those who "can't stop talking" - the minute I saw the title I knew I had to read "Quiet." Every point Susan Cain mentions in her revelatory book exposed a pivotal chapter in my life: So that's why. And, by the end: It's who I am. And it's OK. For a good summary by the author, view her talk at TED 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Whether or not you are an introvert Susan Cain does a fantastic job at illustrating the differences of problem solving, mindset, and niches of both personally types. She does a fantastic job of dispelling the myths around introversion. A great read and especially important for any manager to truly understand your people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information, April 2, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Albuquerque, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is very informative. I give it 4 stars at best because the print is soo small for my elderly eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am Not a Freak After all!, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you Susan Cain, for sharing your book with the world. I related to so much in this book as I have been one of the "Quiet" ones my entire life. After many years living, I have learned to accept and even love myself as I am, (and push out of my comfort zones often) however, had I read this book when I was much younger, it may have prevented some pain. I recommend this book to young introverts everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read!, April 2, 2013
By 
I loved this book! I have always considered myself to be introverted and loved the way that Cain explored this topic. She explains how our society values extroverted people over introverted ones. However introverted people have these amazing qualities that often make them better leaders and businessmen. I felt like this book really spoke to me and helped me to understand a little more of myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book on different personalities!, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good book covering Introverts, Extroverts, and a little on other personality traits. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Introverts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking (ISBN: 978-0-307-35215-6) was written by Susan Cain. In the book, Cain refutes the Extrovert Ideal which has come to dominate modern society and argues that introverts, can not only be valuable resources of knowledge, but are also better suited for leadership than extroverts in some situations. Throughout the book, Cain uses various scientific and academic studies, as well as, anecdotal evidence from famous introverts to support her claims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Someone to Represent the Introverts of the World!, April 1, 2013
By 
M. Hunt (Inver Grove Hts, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After six months I finally got around to finishing the last couple of chapters of this book tonight. What a great read! As an introvert the book has given me a better vocabulary to describe my world and to help inform my more extroverted wife on how we can define a balance in our relationship. Susan Cain does a great job in weaving her research into a strong narrative. This should be mandatory reading for every teacher, manager, and leader out there. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 34226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e48ae4c)

This product

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking by Susan Cain (Hardcover - January 24, 2012)
$26.00 $14.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.