Customer Reviews


941 Reviews
5 star:
 (689)
4 star:
 (159)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


301 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Stinks
Erich Maria Remarque (1898-1970) served in World War I, where he received wounds five times in battle. The searing images of trench warfare left indelible scars on Remarque, who then attempted to exorcize his demons through the writing of literature. "All Quiet on the Western Front" is Remarque's most memorable book, although he wrote nine others dealing with the miseries...
Published on January 7, 2003 by Jeffrey Leach

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good story but horrible edition
This a very important work, perhaps a little dated in it's language but a classic nonetheless. BUT this particular edition is practically unreadable due to the formatting, typos and errors. It looks like a cheap knock-off and is very difficult to read. I ended up buying a different version to finish the story.

Do yourself a favor and avoid this edition...
Published on September 1, 2009 by A. Wright


‹ Previous | 151 52 5395 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great war novel., March 7, 2006
By 
Andrew Meyers "Andrew" (Saint Petersburg, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
"The greatest war novel of all time." This unofficial title which has been assigned to All Quiet was more than enough to entice me to give it a read. What I found upon reading wouldn't be the action-packed adventure novel I expected, but rather a much deeper emotional dissection of the effects of war on its participants.

The novel's central character is Paul Baumer who gives a first hand account of the Great War from the side of the Germans. Baumer and several of his classmates enlisted immediately after graduating from grammar school with the feelings of idealism common among Europeans at the time. Shortly after the first bombardment, however, Baumer and his friends learn that there is much more to war than uniforms and medals. They begin to function in an environment where morals and personal judgment are thrown out the window and one is forced to act only upon instruction and instinct.

I found All Quiet to be an extremely complex and enlightening reading experience. Remarque uses vivid detail to convey the loss of innocence felt among the soldiers as they learn only to destroy, and see their best friends die beside them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Battle Scenes, June 6, 2004
By 
kickit (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay, to start off, this book has many good battle scenes, that are well described in lurid detail. I've noticed that some people have said in reviews that this book is extremely "sick" because of the how the author describes the battle scenes and the story in general. For one thing, you can't sugar coat a war. That basically means that if you want to write a good story about one of the most horrible wars in history, you have to include the horror of it. And yes, the main character, Paul, was obviously completely shell-shocked, or nuts, as some people might call him. When you are about as nuts as Paul was, then you actually might want death to come. This actually has and still does happen with soldiers that fight in wars, such as World War 1 and Vietnam. Anyway, I was amazed and enchanted by how this author, I can't spell his name, put his thoughts when he himself was fighting in the war through this main character. I swear, I could never dream of writing down such distinct thoughts and actally making sense of them. I took off one star because at times, this book got pretty boring. But still, buy this book, which is definitely the greatest war novel ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A classic one should read, August 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book deserves it's place in the hierarchy of fiction. Well written, interesting, and illustrative of the horrors of war and their effects on the common soldier. Frequently raw, sometimes enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, March 26, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sums up the experience of warriors preparing to do battle, warriors in battle, warriors waiting to do battle and warriors returning home. The uniforms, weapons and locales change, but some stuff doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, to understand the reality of the first ..., October 25, 2014
A great book, to understand the reality of the first world war, from the point of view of a young man who was in the middle of it. An important historical and human record, and a work of high literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, September 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can honestly say that I truly appreciated every chapter of this book. To question the brutality of war while being honest about its current and future consequences is a lesson we all must listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the truth about war, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really liked this book. This is the first book I've read that shows the reality of being on the front lines. This should be required reading for all 18 year olds from every country and culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL QUIET ON THE Western FRONT, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
Purchased for class, easy-quick read! The author gave clear details of the period-time, in a very engrossing manner. I found it hard to put the book down. For a history-buff, this is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Quiet On the Western Front: A realistic War Novel, March 20, 2001
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was probably one of the most realistic war novels ever written. There were many aspects to review, but the most simple are plainly what I liked and disliked about the book. I disliked the fact that so much of the book explained the psycological things going on in Paul Baumer's (the main character, a german soldier) mind. There was a very long and boring stretch in the book explaining how a soldier's mind can affect whether he lives or dies. A thing I liked in the book was that it had so much description. When wounded and in the hospital, Paul Baumer explained how everything looked, felt, smelled, and even sounded like. This was very realistic but sometimes very disgusting. Another thing I liked in the book was Paul Baumer's role in the book. He was very courageous and never had a boring role. In reading _All Quiet On the Western Front_, I learned something very important. Although many people think war is glorious and exciting, this book completely shows the other side. It shows the horror and agony of war. It depicts war realisticlly which is not the way many people think of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for what i needed it for, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because it was required reading for a contemporary history course in college. It arrived it standard used condition. The novel was surprisingly informative about World War I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 151 52 5395 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Quiet on the Western Front
All Quiet on the Western Front by A. W. Wheen (Mass Market Paperback - March 12, 1987)
$6.99 $6.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.