Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing and insightful new translation of the Qur'an
The most cogent advice I received when I started
reading the Qur'an (several translations/transliterations and many years ago) was to understand and absorb it, through a humble, open HEART AND MIND, as a whole, all-at-once message and not through extracted excerpts. Many critics of Islam, as presented by the Qur'an, are unlikely to have approached it with this...
Published on October 1, 2007 by Jeffrey Garrison

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Islamic Bomb
I've read translations by Pickthal, Yusuf Ali, Asad, Irving, Shakir, Arberry and Rashad Khalifa.

This translation with its appendices really blows out all traditional and legacy perspectives of Islam completely out of the water.

You have the traditionalist ( sunni/shia/hadith etc. ) view at one extreme and then you have the 'Quran only' ( Muslim )...
Published on August 25, 2010 by Riaz Syed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing and insightful new translation of the Qur'an, October 1, 2007
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
The most cogent advice I received when I started
reading the Qur'an (several translations/transliterations and many years ago) was to understand and absorb it, through a humble, open HEART AND MIND, as a whole, all-at-once message and not through extracted excerpts. Many critics of Islam, as presented by the Qur'an, are unlikely to have approached it with this spirit, in my experience. I wonder how many Muslims have experienced the Qur'an in this way. Reality is not linear but the written word is necessarily so.

I strongly suggest that this English representation of the Qur'an can only be fully appreciated by slowly absorbing it, cover to cover. As well, I suggest that the most integrated understanding of the Qur'an can only be realized by synthesizing the full message in one's heart first, as a single experience. With this in mind, this Reformist Version does an unusually fine job in clarifying
those elements (such as gender imbalance) which have been perceived as dissonant within the whole message in the "standard" translations. This version, which is not revisionistic, presents an integrated consistency rarely found in other translations and it elucidates issues not commonly grasped by modern readers (in any language). Those with an open mind and heart, who only understand modern Arabic and not the dialect in which it was originally revealed, have the opportunity to experience comfort and inner peace by absorbing this clean, Reformist translation. With this in mind, this version can only be judged following a thoughtful read of the entire volume. The issue of the number "19" has been commonly misunderstood. The number does NOT contribute to new understanding of the textual meaning and message; it reveals an extraordinary symmetry which would not be found in the product of a human being.

In addition, the analyses within the commentaries can shed the light of new understandings, which might be a relief for many open-minded, humble readers, Muslim and non-Muslim alike. This work also offers the possibility of beginning to open the door to the resolution of the conflicts, among the Abrahamic religions, including among the Islamic peoples, so common over past centuries. This can only work through peaceful, thoughtful contemplation and discussion among those with varying views and sincere hearts. To my understanding, there is a consensus within the broad, thoughtful Islamic community, that on the "final day," we are all alone before our Creator, taking personal responsibility for our life. If there are errors within the translation or my understandings, they are owned by whoever created the errors. This important new English version is a well-intended effort and a positive contribution to the ancient and honorable Islamic principle of ijtihad. For those who disagree, at the deepest levels within their "hearts," they should remember that there really can be "no compulsion in religion." Looking more deeply into the Qur'an, with additional analyses, with the Message best understood as a whole, is not, in any way, a reflection of a sect division. Indeed, the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) vigorously cautioned against the development of ANY sect divisions in Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare to read and understand the Truth, November 23, 2010
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
I learned about the mathematical system of the Quran during early 80's. One of my teachers mentioned it in the class, making a few statements and it was never mentioned again. However, his comments stayed in my head until 2010 when I started reading Rashad Khalifa's and Edip Yuksel's Translation and explanation of the code 19. Generally speaking, many people write about very different topics every day, and after years of practice, eventually it comes naturally to them. However, when one sits to write, the thought of organizing the collection of writing in a way that a mathematical relationship is preserved throughout the writing never crosses any human-wirter's mind. As humans, we are very much focused on the logical flow of what we right, grammar, punctuation. Some care about political correctness of how ideas are expressed, and many other external factors including saying things in a way that would attract a lot attention. The thought of writing any meaningful literal piece and preserving any mathematical relationship is something that is not even considered. Furthermore, and again generally speaking, there are very few people who may have the vast knowledge of both mathematics and literature, let alone the ability to combine these two into a masterpiece. Keep this in mind as I will be coming back to this.

I studied Biochemistry for undergraduate, and then voluntarily took extra physiology and other science courses during years of obtaining my Doctorate in Pharmacy. Aside from learning the science, the recurring theme in my head was that whoever programmed all this must have had the highest level of knowledge in ALL, yes ALL, sciences including physics, chemistry, biology, physiology, kinesiology, medicine, immunology, biochemistry, electronics, engineering and much more that human limited capacity is yet to discover. Sciences that I mentioned above are a small collection that I had superficial exposure to some. Now, combine all this with the literature and mathematics, and you have a picture perfect! Yes there are mysteries in Quran that will be revealed at the right time to the right person. Yes, anyone can raise questions regarding multiple meanings and allegories used therein. What is undeniable is that all signs point in one and only one direction, and that is existence of an omniscient, omnipotent and omnipresent being, far beyond our understanding, who takes every opportunity to touch us and communicate with us. Yes, there are repetitions in Quran, guess what, the most efficient way we learn to remember things is through repetition.

The reformist translation was done at a much needed time. A time, that many volumes of Hadith and other types of religious manuals were written that were far longer and voluminous than Quran itself. These were written without much thought and careful verification of sources and credibility of such sources, and what is far worse is that it never occurred to the authors and publishers to read the Quran and see if their product is contradicting Quran or insulting anyone. Furthermore, If we agree that the author of Quran possesses all knowledge that there is, then Quran must remain a timeless masterpiece. The reformist translation took time to link many of the recent scientific discoveries to what was written over 1400 years ago. This link is highly significant; since it, yet again, proves that Quran is a living and timeless document far beyond our current and future discoveries. Furthermore, many things written in Quran became hot button for various groups (e.g. beating women). The reformist translation took a fresh look at the topic and took time to clarify some of the inadvertent misconceptions of previous translations.

Quran repeatedly states that "we made Quran easy to learn. Do any of you wish to learn?" (54:40), this is yet another dimension of this book, where anyone with any level of literacy can read and be (God willing) guided to countless signs that exist in us and around us.
As for the Code 19, it is something that it is rather impossible to imitate, yet it should not be considered the end of the miracles that Quran offers. One can easily be amazed by it, admire it, and stop right there, but an open mind sees far beyond the words on the paper.

Peace to all those who have successfully killed their ego and are open-minded and fearless enough to acknowledge truth when they are exposed to it.
Ali Seyed, Pharmacist, 43, PA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that I've read the most in my whole life., October 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
If you are a Muslim, you should get this translation to see how you have been blocked from understanding the actual meaning of many parts of the Quran.

If you are a Jew or a Christian, you should get this translation to see how Quran relates to Bible. Keep an open mind and you'll see that what you are reading is the truth.

If you are an atheist, you should get this translation to be more informed about monotheism and save yourself never-ending discussions with monotheists.

I hope you can read this book before you depart from this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth the read, October 19, 2009
By 
Kawaii Gardiner (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
I own a copy and if you've been put off by the translations of the Qur'an then I suggest you read this.

It does include some stuff in there I don't believe in as a Muslim such as the so-called 'Qur'anic science' and Code19/Qur'an only movement. With that being said, however, once you ignore those bits - the translation is just as valid as the last.

You'll also find that the translation is endorsed by people with academic weight - so it isn't some two bit translation with no weight behind it:

- Aisha Y. Musa, PhD, Assistant Professor of Islamic Studies, Florida International University; author of An Examination of Early and Contemporary Muslim Attitudes toward Hadith as Scripture (Doctoral Dissertation, Harvard University, 2004).

- Dr. Amina Wadud, Author: Inside the Gender Jihad: Reform in Islam.

- Riffat Hassan, Ph.D. Professor of Religious Studies and Humanities at the University of Louisville, Kentucky. A pioneer of feminist theology in the context of the Islamic tradition.

- Reza Aslan, CBS News Consultant; Author, No god but God: The Origins, Evolution, and Future of Islam.

So one isn't talking about a book without respected people behind it. The only people who are offended are those with a vested interest in the status quo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing work and effort, December 20, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
This is an excellent work that is not only useful in terms of translation but also is a great material for Arab-speaking or not , Muslims or not to truly understand the core of Islam .
I thank the authors for this great work and I appreciate the amazing and honest effort they put in it.It is simply a genious work that focuses on the Quran 's soul without great noise or pretention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Islam - Finally, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
I had always been told that the Qur'an must be understood in its entirety to understand what it says. It is its own source of explanation.

The Arabic language does not lend well to translation of a religious text such as the Qur'an. The arabic words and syntax may be easily translated to yield a self-contradicting work. Single verses (Aya) are found in translations which contradict other verses. Often, 1 verse will be quoted to prove that the entire book is "evil". However, the majority of related verses will all yield a unified position. Some critics will even go so far as to say that abrogation leaves the "last" verse (skillfully selected to be the "evil" verse) so to "trump" all the sane beautiful verses. Well - flapdoodle! Abrogation in the Qur'an is abrogation of the Old testament, New testament and other earlier world religious source texts. It does not abrogate itself. Extremely horrid is if lesser works (Hadith/Sunna) are used to abrogate the Qur'an!!. yea.... Huhhh!

This books looks at the arabic language and shows how all verses are consistent and speak with one voice. Prior translations just too often start from other prior translations. Mistakes propagate forward through time. This Qur'an now examines all verses with all variant meanings and puts the book together as it was meant to be. Coherent, consistent, true to "Itself". The confusing verses meld away under this keen analysis.

Excellent research coupled with excellent explanations give us an excellent work. Good enough to be called The Qur'an.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent translation. Not a bad effort, with room for improvement., May 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
This translation is not a bad effort but I am afraid that people who have never read the Quran before will find it confusing. I have read your Turkish translation and found it much more convincing. I believe that some of your endnotes are confusing. I would like to offer some constructive criticism in that regard.

I am specifically talking about your referral to code 19. This may or may not be true. It may very well show the miraculousness of the structure of the Quranic verses. However, it does not prove or disprove any particular verse. It is the verses themselves that do that. The existence of code 19 is completely irrelevant to the meaning of the verses and it only adds to the confusion. My recommendation would be for them to completely taken out in future editions. I think this will be particularly helpful for first time readers who do not know anything about it.

My second criticism would be your extensive referral to the Bible. However, the Bible is an extraneous source that is corrupted just like the hadith. So it doesn't make sense to refer to the Bible while at the same time discouraging referral to the hadith. I think it would be better to only use examples from real life and to only refer to other verses when making your point, just like you did in the Turkish translation. Otherwise, you may give the impression that you are interpreting the Quran to suit the meaning of the Bible which I know you are not trying to do.

My other recommendation would be to offer a transliteration of the verses with word by word translation, with all possible meanings of the root words, in order for the reader to come up with and to be convinced of the most appropriate translation/interpretation. There are in fact resources on the web such as the website [...] that allow the reader to look up individual words. I believe that a print version of a word by word translation would be a good idea.

Overall, I believe that this translation is good and convincing but there is room for improvement. I commend your extensive efforts, with your many books, to spread the true message of Islam rid of the corrupting influence of hadiths and to show the world how close true Islam is to Western society. May God bless you and your family in this world and in the hereafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
This translation has been absolutely fantastic to read and understand the Qur'an properly. There are so many translations out there that have mis-translated or misinterpreted words from the original Arabic, which is a terrible shame. This translation shows the marvelous progress of the restoration movements within Islam, which are bringing the religion back to its true, positive roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., March 27, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
Very in depth and clarifies a lot. I have multiple Quran's that I read and I always fall back on this one for a reference and or explanation on a given part of the reading. Outstanding job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reformist translation of the Quran by Dr. Edip Yuksel, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English) (Paperback)
It is a robust effort to defeat distortion of Islam that cost Muslims not the less but humanity the more. Our sorry state today proves that for centuries we have been misguided and betrayed our by theological criminals. It is high time we open our eyes for our own benefit. If anyone does not agree to the translation s/he should engage in an intellectual debate/discussion with the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Quran: A Reformist Translation (Koran, Kuran in Modern English)
$24.70 $22.23
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.