Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow a breath of fresh air!
If you're looking for the booty shaking, sex crazed club anthem this is not it! But what it is ..is some talented ladies singing their hearts out. It's good to hear diversity every once in a while and I must admit this is worth hearing. I have heard all the ladies individually but collectively this is on point.
Published 23 months ago by ST

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was Ok
This CD was good but not great. There were only a few songs that I really enjoyed. I thought there would be more of the DIVA's on the cuts
Published 21 months ago by Deborah A. Curry


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow a breath of fresh air!, October 2, 2012
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
If you're looking for the booty shaking, sex crazed club anthem this is not it! But what it is ..is some talented ladies singing their hearts out. It's good to hear diversity every once in a while and I must admit this is worth hearing. I have heard all the ladies individually but collectively this is on point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it Real Soul, October 2, 2012
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
I am so excited I Love it! Real R&B is back I love the show as well the ladies did their thing the Fav songs are Too High for Love, Tears of Joy, Lovin' Me and SisterFriend. GOT TO GET THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, October 3, 2012
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
I wasn't sure how this was going to play out, they really put together a well rounded album. Maybe more women can come together and take some pointers from these ladies. The harmonies were so beautiful, the varied songs that let each of the artists shine really brought a smile to my face. Faith Evans is a genius and really did an awesome job by bringing these women together. Positive music, and positive movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Music!, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R & B Divas (Audio CD)
Wow! As a fan of the show by the same name, I was on the look out for this release. Viewing the episodes where the production aspects were mentioned (particularly the one where they met with the producer whose name I believe is "Big Jim") truly this was divine right out the gate.

I dont want to put more on it than necessary, but this is some of the best most exceptional music recorded. To say that it has no filler tracks, that the arrangements are rich and luxe, the vocals are flawless, the songs assembled make total sense in relation to the theme of the project - would all be descriptions identifiable on this release.

I would not call myself a fan of these artists individually (save Faith and Monifah), however I own at least one CD from each solo artist release because I am a lover of music and have 1000's of CD's for which may have never been played on any device I own. Incidentally, Syleena would be one such artist. There was one song I heard and liked it so I added it to my list of music to get - mostly by way of used CD's whenever possible - but didn't get into my regular rotation. Anyway! I say all that to say that the collaborative effort brought forth by these musicians moved me beyond words. A version of True Colors immortalized by Lauper has been given new life (and the previous version wasn't even dead!).

As a purchaser of music regularly of all styles, this is a clear stand out to me as being solid and enjoyable. The lyrics are real and relevant presented by vocalists of the highest caliber accompanied by music and arrangements that are simply astounding.

If you even considered this CD do yourself a favor and own it! In contrast to the talentless and moronic celebrity folk naming the name of musician or singer - this is the real mccoy - enjoyment guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B Divas the Soulful Album of 2012 in R&B:, November 2, 2012
This review is from: R & B Divas (Audio CD)
what more can I say about the Bad Boy female Vocalist of all time the one and only R&B Superstar grammy Nominated Recording Artist Faith Evans she has mark her point giving back to the Whitney Houston Academy for her album sales. I love the reality TV Series R&B Divas Nicci Gilbert came up with a Good Ideal a Reality show with five Women Faith Evans, Syleena Johnson, Nicci Gilbert, Keke Wyatt, Monifah, first off all of the Tracks are amazing on this Compilation Album.

Standout Tracks
"Lovin Me" Duet Faith Evans, Syleena Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Monifah, Nicci Gilbert.
"Tears of Joy" the first official Single Faith Evans she has the soulful Gospel Sound with R&B combine.
"Sister Friend" Faith Evans, Syleena Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Monifah, Nicci Gilbert.
"Dumb" Faith Evans uptemo Dance Track she is singing the hell out of this song talking about people taking advanage of her money.
"Sometimes" Nicci Gilbert from 90's R&B Trio Bronwstone featuring her mom Helene Gilbert I love this song.
"True Colors" Faith Evans Featuring Fantasia, Kelly Price, the remake of Cydi Lauper.
"She's me" Monifah Carter I'm so glad to hear a new song by her after all of these years nice song but with a pop R&B sound.
"Soon as I get home" Live Version Faith Kill this song I have never heard her sing this song Live; with Syleena Johnson singing background vocals Syleena and the background Singers sound really Good.
"Jesus loves me" Kelly Price she sang that Gospel Song her version is so much better from the Bodyguard Soundtrack. this whole CD is Good for slow Music not the unsual Faith Evans CD but very soulful.
"Too High for Love" Faith Evans giving her best R&B Sound I love this song this another Favorite of mine her background vocals are the bomb faith has the best background singers in R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was Ok, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R & B Divas (Audio CD)
This CD was good but not great. There were only a few songs that I really enjoyed. I thought there would be more of the DIVA's on the cuts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Album, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R & B Divas (Audio CD)
Gotta be one of the best albums this year these girls are singing thesr songs! GOOD JOB GIRLS! GREAT IDEA FAITH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Solid Moments, October 2, 2012
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
Faith Evans, combined with a team including Syleena Johnson, Nicci Gilbert, KeKe Wyatt & Monifah, present the companion soundtrack to the mini series R&B Divas. The album comes care of eOne, the independent label of which Faith Evans is currently signed. In 2011, Evans released her first solo album,Something About Faith for the label. All in all, R&B Diva is a solid album, with some fine moments and other less notable ones.

"Lovin' Me (Theme From R&B Divas)" starts the effort of energetically, delivering capable vocal performances from the R&B singers. The production is sound and the song itself is quite enjoyable, transcending its role as a 'theme' song, much like Mary Mary's "Go Get It" (Go Get It) is solid as its own entity. Faith Evans steals the show on the classic, soulful-sounding "Tears of Joy," the promo/buzz single of the set. Evans sounds in superb voice here, hearkening back to the days of her musical prime when Evans was one of the preeminent R&B females in the game. "Tears of Joy" is the perfect cut for Evans's robust and powerful voice.

"Mr. Supafly" accelerates the tempo following "Tears of Joy." It's not bad, but "Too High For Love" is more powerful, showing more range. "Too High For Love" features Faith Evans, who sounds exceptional here. Talk about underrated, Wyatt's career has been just that, despite possessing the voice. "SisterFriend" provides the obligatory 'sisters forever' styled track, but it is effective. Women will definitely relate to it, much like a similarly themed track entitled "Sisters" from Angie Stone's latest,Rich Girl.

"Dumb" possesses some of the efforts most interesting production, giving into uptempo fair. The vocal harmonies pop well here against the repetitive organ synth. "Sometime" follows, featuring Nicci Gilbert & her mother, Helene "Mom" Gilbert. It is OK, though by no means 'new' or 'the second coming. "True Colors" is a high point for sure, featuring Kelly Price and Fantasia. The vocal harmonies are lovely while the production is both smoothly and soulfully executed.

"Stonewall," featuring Syleena Johnson (whose voice I dearly love) is a bit of miss. While the concept of the song is excellent, the pitch is not. More often than not, the pitch rises (sharp) and instead of adding 'color' to the cut, it hinders it. Sometimes pitch imperfections are positive nuances despite their inaccuracy. In this case, "Stonewall" has too many runs and is hindered by inaccuracy.

"She's Me," featuring Monifah is 'standard fare' while the preeminent diva herself (Faith) shines on a live take of her 1995 classic, "Soon As I Get Home." Kelly Price takes us to church on closing cut "Jesus Loves,"which is incredibly inspiration if ever so slightly overwrought.

Overall,R&B Diva is an enjoyable, though not revolutionary compilation. For a compilation, it works effectively, with selections "Lovin' Me," "Tears of Joy,""Too High For Love," and "True Colors" serving as the representative hits. R&B Divas? Maybe/maybe not, but there is little (save for the pitch problems/missed opportunity "Stonewall") to hang one's head about here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real R&B Returns, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
In today's world of faux R&B, where no one really sings and all you need to do to get a record deal is look cute and wiggle your booty, it is refreshing to hear an album where the artists actually sing. It took me back to a time when you could listen to a song and were able to feel what the artist was going through. A time when you listened to a song and you knew that you were not alone in your joy or pain. Sister Friend and She's Me will have you in tears. It's that heart warming and gut wrenching soulful sound and substance that's missing from today's music. Thank you ladies, for showing that real R&B still exists. Great job and I hope you keep it coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R&B Diva (MP3 Music)
Absolutely loved the entire cd. Uplifting and empowering! Whitney would be proud! I really hope these ladies for together soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

R & B Divas
R & B Divas by Faith Evans (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.