Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job
BEHIND THE NECK HEADPHONES
"Behind-the-neck" headphones are generally the most comfortable type you can purchase. They also the best at staying in place when exercising. However, you can buy a half-dozen different headsets which look identical except for the brandname. Some will be comfortable, some won't. Apparently different folks have different shaped heads and...
Published 13 months ago by Stoney

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good headphones for the price
These headphones are good for the price. Though my first pair only lasted about 10 months, I bought the same pair again because they are cheap and I use them for running. I have bought the more expensive kind before, and those too, expire after a year so its better to go cheap when using them for things that might cause the headphones to have a lot of wear and tear. One...
Published 17 months ago by Aradhana


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
BEHIND THE NECK HEADPHONES
"Behind-the-neck" headphones are generally the most comfortable type you can purchase. They also the best at staying in place when exercising. However, you can buy a half-dozen different headsets which look identical except for the brandname. Some will be comfortable, some won't. Apparently different folks have different shaped heads and ears, which is important to the fit of behind-the-neck headphones. So, when you find a set which is comfortable for you---buy an extra set or two and stash them. Personally, I find the RCA HP245 headphones uncomfortable---but your experience could be different.

FOLDABILITY
The foldability of the RC HP245 is a nice feature, but they may break if handled roughly. Careful adults only. They fold to a small package which can be stuffed into a pants pocket (or a purse). However, there is no provision for the cord.

For an "outside the house/office" headset, I still prefer my J-buds JBuds Hi-Fi Noise-Reducing Ear Buds (White) with my Budkeeper Carrying Case - Fire Engine Red (BKFD20-G47) case, which I clip to a belt loop. I can also stash a couple of extra AAA batteries with my J-Buds in the Budkeeper. The J-Buds in the Budkeeper are a much smaller package, and J-Buds are better at noise reduction, for example in a doctor's waiting room with a TV on.

ADJUSTABILTIY
"Behind-the-neck" headphones are non-adjustable because no adjustment is necessary. In fact, that is one of the advantages of "behind-the-neck" headsets as compared to "top-of-the-head" headsets.

CORD LENGTH
Despite the silly complaints of a few other reviewers that the cord is short, it is in fact the standard length---long enough for you to carry your MP3 in your pants pocket. Short is better than too long---you can always add a cheap extention, for example Cables To Go 40405 3.5 mm Male/Female Stereo Audio Extension Cable, Black (1.5 Feet/0.45 Meters). If the cord is too long, it will catch on things, straining the cord at the plug----which is what will ultimately kill the headset. If you need an extension, consider an extension with a built-in volume control Koss VC20 Volume Control

SOUND QUALITY
The sound quality of the headphones is VERY crisp and clear, (unlike many headsets which are optimized to "pump up the bass" which makes voice and treble muddy). I use the headphones to listen to audiobooks for which it is perfect.

CONSTRUCTION QUALITY
Virtually all headsets "die" by strain on the wires at the plugs---so straight plugs are far better than angled plugs (because straight plugs pull out easily, rather than straining the wire). Unfortunately, the RCA HP245 has a right-angle plug.

OVERALL
A very good headset for the price.

COMPARISON WITH OTHER TYPES OF HEADPHONES
"Top of the head" headphones slip easily, require adjustment, interfere with wearing hats and interfere with women wearing hair "up". The only purpose for which a "top-of-the-head" headset is better, is for listening to music while taking a nap.

Apple/airline type earplugs are just plain uncomfortable, fall out of your ears easily, and do not provide the noise isolation of earbuds.

Earbuds (such as J-Buds), although a good choice in many situations, are uncomfortable after several hours. I suspect that the build-up of heat and moisture in your ear canals might lead to infections if earbuds are worn several hours daily. Indeed, enough heat builds up to melt your earwax, which then solidifies in and on the earbuds. Premium earbuds even have replaceable "wax filters". If you wear non-premium earbuds, clean the earwax out regularly.

MY QUALIFICATIONS
I use headphones at least 12 hours per day, and have used every style which exists. Over the past 20 years, I have owned probably 50 headphones (including at least 20 behind-the-neck sets.

GENERAL RECOMENDATIONS
"Behind-the-neck" headphones are the most comfortable, period. I wear "behind-the-neck" headphones at home/work (I work at home) about 12 hours per day. When I go "out", I wear J-Buds, because they are less obtrussive, and easy to "put away" if necessary. Earbuds are also useful for noise reduction in noisy environments (traffic, mall noise, etc.). If you want true noise reduction (for airline flights, mowing the lawn, etc.) you need active noise-cancellation. Phillips makes a cheap noise-cancelling set which works remarkably well. Philips SHN2500/37 Noise-Canceling Earbuds. I replace the earbuds (in both my J-Buds and my Phillips noise cancelling set) with 3-level buds for greater comfort and better noise isolation. 2 Pair, Mens Size - Earphones Plus Brand, Tri-Level, Replacement Ear Cushions, Earbuds for Sound Isolating Earphones. (See Fit Information in Details Below), Larger headsets which consist of rubber cups over your ears, with active noise-cancelling, are even better, but are very expensive, and bulky when traveling. Bose QuietComfort 2 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for my small head, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
These headphones fit my small head very nicely. Most headphones are too large but these are a nice size. These are good for kids due to size. The sound is fine too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Headphones, January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
The sound is great and work perfectly for listening to music while runnign on the treadmill. The only reason they aren't 5 stars is because they dont fit as well as others I have had in the past. But so far, they are durable and sound good. I recommend these to anyone wanting a decent pair of headphone to work out with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless junk, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
I had several pairs of these that were non-foldable and they were great. Bought these horrible folding ones because they were the only ones available, and of course they broke in half within one week of opening the package. No shock there, I know, but still I gave them a shot.

Ear fit - Excellent, maybe the best headphones ever
Sound - Great
Durability - absolutely useless. If they don't break the first time you use them, just count to 10 and they will be broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good headphones for the price, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
These headphones are good for the price. Though my first pair only lasted about 10 months, I bought the same pair again because they are cheap and I use them for running. I have bought the more expensive kind before, and those too, expire after a year so its better to go cheap when using them for things that might cause the headphones to have a lot of wear and tear. One problem is that they don't fit over your ears as comfortably as some of the more expensive headphones, but still, stay in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars design is good -but didn't fit my ears, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
Has good sound quaility-like the way it adjusts - ears hurt after a few minutes-just doesnt have enough clearence between the ear hanger & speaker & i have small ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Foldable Headphones for Under $10, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
The title on this product is incorrect. these are not 'over-the-head' headphones. These are actually 'behind-the-neck' headphones as stated in the description.

I purchased these knowing the title was wrong and I intentionally wanted 'behind-the-neck'. These replaced a pair I had been using for 5 or 6 years. You could find a cheaper 'behind-the-neck' set, but the folding ability is worth the extra couple bucks. These may not be for audiophiles, but if you're using them at the gym or to run outdoors, they're more than capable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Breaks to easy.., February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
They snaped in half just after one day of using it and all I did was put them on. over my ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've used these headphones for several years, always keep ..., July 14, 2014
By 
yellow rose "book lover" (Cortez, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
I've used these headphones for several years, always keep at least one spare around, used almost exclusively for listening to ipod as part of going to sleep. Earbuds are proven to hurt hearing even at lower sound levels, so I also get these for family. Definite 5 stars, including for price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hate it!, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone (Electronics)
Hate it, hate it, hate it!!
They are ill fitting and very uncomfortable to wear. And I use behind the head headphones all the time. Would not recommend these to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

RCA HP245 Folding Neckband Style Headphone
$12.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.