Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$12.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2008
I bought this because my old discwasher from the seventies was falling apart. What a rip off! This does not have the fibers that point in one direction that actually pick up dust and dirt, like the original product. If you found this video review and demonstration informative, visit my web site and let me know. Thanks!
2424 comments|730 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
I recently revived my old stereo and hundreds of LP albums from the basement. There are many of these albums that never made it to CD, and I also wanted to see what people were talking about when they say that analog vinyl has a warmth that digital CDs do not. Now, a week later, I really do understand.

But with that warmth comes dust and dirt, which is not a problem for CDs. I remembered that back in the day the standard of excellence for disk cleaning was the Discwasher. I spent about an hour looking for my old one, gave up and bought a new one, now made by RCA.

The old company either went bankrupt or just sold out, but RCA has run this product into the ground - it's not what you remember. Now made in China, the wood handle is imprecisely cut so that the bottle no longer fits well inside. Instead, it gets lodged and took some time to dislodge. That's not a big issue however, but indicative of how the quality isn't what it used to be.

The real issue, however, is the cleaning pad. The old model had ridges of material that ran lengthwise to the handle, with the fibers angled so that they dug into the grooves and pulled out the dust, holding onto it. That's why it worked so well. What's the pad covered with now? It appears to be brown corduroy, with ridges, yes, but the fibers have no particular orientation. Thus, it does not dig into the grooves and does an even worse job of holding onto the dirt it does dislodge. I was almost going to give up on the new Discwasher as the results were so second rate.

I was very disappointed, but thought maybe my memory had built the old Discwasher into something Herculean that didn't match reality. Memory has a way of accentuating either the positives of negatives.

Well, today I found the old Discwasher, and let me tell you, if anything my memory didn't give the old product enough praise. I have now cleaned several LPs with the old one, and there's an absolute world of difference. The old one digs the dirt out and keeps it in the pad until you brush it out, completely unlike the one that RCA is peddling these days. The new one leaves a lot of dust on the disc no matter how carefully you roll the brush.

Shame on you RCA for exploiting and cheapening a venerable old brand. What would it have cost you to put the proper fabric on the pad as opposed to corduroy? Maybe 15 cents per item?? But then again I guess they get the corduroy clippings cheap from a GAP factory in China.

Yes, it looks like the Discwasher of old, but that's the extent of the resemblance. If you're looking for the Discwasher you remember, look in the basement; maybe you'll get really lucky like I did. Or, look on eBay, but do not look to RCA.

For those reviewers writing reviews based on the historic quality of this product - you haven't bought this new version. It really is remarkably inferior.

Shame on you RCA for what you've done to this product.
3434 comments|501 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2007
I recently revived my old stereo and hundreds of LP albums from the basement. There are many of these albums that never made it to CD, and I also wanted to see what people were talking about when they say that analog vinyl has a warmth that digital CDs do not. Now, a week later, I really do understand.

But with that warmth comes dust and dirt, which is not a problem for CDs. I remembered that back in the day the standard of excellence for disk cleaning was the Discwasher. I spent about an hour looking for my old one, gave up and bought a new one, now made by RCA.

The old company either went bankrupt or just sold out, but RCA has run this product into the ground - it's not what you remember. Now made in China, the wood handle is imprecisely cut so that the bottle no longer fits well inside. Instead, it gets lodged and took some time to dislodge. That's not a big issue however, but indicative of how the quality isn't what it used to be.

The real issue, however, is the cleaning pad. The old model had ridges of material that ran lengthwise to the handle, with the fibers angled so that they dug into the grooves and pulled out the dust, holding onto it. That's why it worked so well. What's the pad covered with now? It appears to be brown corduroy, with ridges, yes, but the fibers have no particular orientation. Thus, it does not dig into the grooves and does an even worse job of holding onto the dirt it does dislodge. I was almost going to give up on the new Discwasher as the results were so second rate.

I was very disappointed, but thought maybe my memory had built the old Discwasher into something Herculean that didn't match reality. Memory has a way of accentuating either the positives of negatives.

Well, today I found the old Discwasher, and let me tell you, if anything my memory didn't give the old product enough praise. I have now cleaned several LPs with the old one, and there's an absolute world of difference. The old one digs the dirt out and keeps it in the pad until you brush it out, completely unlike the one that RCA is peddling these days. The new one leaves a lot of dust on the disc no matter how carefully you roll the brush.

Shame on you RCA for exploiting and cheapening a venerable old brand. What would it have cost you to put the proper fabric on the pad as opposed to corduroy? Maybe 15 cents per item?? But then again I guess they get the corduroy clippings cheap from a GAP factory in China.

Yes, it looks like the Discwasher of old, but that's the extent of the resemblance. If you're looking for the Discwasher you remember, look in the basement; maybe you'll get really lucky like I did. Or, look on eBay, but do not look to RCA.

Shame on you RCA for what you've done to this product.
1212 comments|355 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2008
This is NOT the original! I was horribly disappointed with this purchase. Thankfully, I kept my original Discwasher and continue to use this 25+ year-old product over this new piece of junk!
0Comment|150 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2008
This is junk compared to the Discwasher that we all knew and used in the vinyl era. The name be the same but the product is essentially ineffective compared to the original. I'd suggest you try to find an old one somewhere but don't bother wasting money on this. I used it once and tossed it in the trash can. You can do better with a t-shirt. The pad is nothing like the pad on the original - it does NOT get into the record grooves. You can do as well with an old (clean) T shirt!
0Comment|151 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2008
The item pictured is the original Discwasher system. The item you get is the new one from RCA with a different handle and completely different material on the business side. And the new item is vastly inferior to the original. This used to be one of the best products out there, now I'm looking for other, better record cleaning solutions.
11 comment|109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2007
This is horrible...what happen to discwasher? It doesn't do what it advertises...remove dirt....they mean pushes dirt around the grooves.
0Comment|123 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2008
I completely concur with other reviewers who have compared this with the original made-in-USA Discwasher. The wood feels cheaply finished, the bottle gets stuck, and the pad is just plain corduroy, nothing like the old directional bristles. Also, when applying the cleaning fluid to the pad, the old design allowed for an even dispersion with just 2 or 3 drops. The new material, however, immediately absorbs the fluid (which now seems to be mostly alcohol) so it takes about 10 drops to get semi-even coverage. If you can find a non-RCA original Discwasher, buy it!
0Comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
To those of you lamenting that this product "isn't like it used to be" I hate to break it to you, but even then you shouldn't have been using it. It is incredible that to this day people still don't understand what goes on with a record, but here are the facts so you know what you are getting into.

Making a record is like making a waffle. Do waffles fall out of the machine cleanly? Not unless you spray it, and the same goes for records. The press is sprayed with a mold release compound and this compound remains on the record and discwasher, old or new, does not remove it. In any case when do brushes clean well? Brushes only push dirt around, if you want the dirt gone you have to use a vac to suck it up.

Records are also damaged not how you think. Vinyl is soft, yet at the stylus tip there is incredible pressure and heat however what happens is it creates a shock wave that emanates from the point of contact and the most direct point of exit from there is.... yes, the OTHER side of the record. This shock wave reaches the other side, the side ends, and the force of it blasts out tiny pieces of weak vinyl on that side which remain in the groove. Using discwasher only pushes these bits about... if that... they remain in the groove. So when you flip the record to then play that side, the heat from the stylus melts this debris and the pressure welds it in new spots on the record creating, that's right, pops, ticks and other noise. That is where this noise comes from, and why it cannot be removed from cleaning. You damaged the record and then welded the damage to a new spot. It's there forever.

There is an answer but in short vinyl is a lifestyle. Before any record is ever played it should be cleaned on a record cleaning machine (like Nitty Gritty) using a solution designed to remove the compounds etc.. on it's surface. The cleaner breaks it down, the machine removes it, as in actually removes it because it sucks it off. Then the record should be treated with Last record preservative. This hardens the vinyl surface a few micros of an inch and prevents the vinyl from breaking from shock.

That's it - Never play a record not cleaned, (because if you do your stylus is now contaminated as well) and once cleaned treat it to preserve it. If you do that, and use a quality setup, you will be amazed. I own thousands of records from the 80's, many played hundreds of times and none of them make any noise (well.. the ones pressed well to begin with that is, but that's a different issue) and I mean any noise. My records do not have pops and ticks. That is what is required, and this product is not even close. In fact tests back then showed, because this brush becomes essentially a filthy mop, that using it spreads MORE debris on the record than was there before. Do not use it.
review image
22 comments|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
I had an original discwasher in the 1970s. While this is essentially the same design, the quality of the materials used makes it nowhere near comparable. The wooden handle is much lighter. The cover on the pad is not level over the breadth of the pad, such that contact is not consistent when used. The cover is very poorly installed over the pad. The corner seams are shabbily sewn and irregular, vs. the original where the pad cover was installed with care and the seams were regular and straight. The attached photos are after just opening the product and using it once. Complete crap.
review image review image
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 28 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.