Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for mini-cassette -- for most people
The RCA RP5007 is a good little voice recorder, but it has its flaws. I give it four stars because, for certain applications (long dictations in a quiet room, or short interviews and speeches in louder situations), it's very handy indeed, and much better than a mini-cassette recorder.
Its major flaw is the lack of storage for high-quality recordings. The included 4MB...
Published on June 18, 2001 by Penmachine

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maddening design flaw
All that the positive reviews said is correct, in my experience. The device is reasonably priced and records and plays back reasonably well.
However, mine has an absolutely maddening flaw: the batteries are held in by a small 'door' that hinges from the bottom of the device. The battery door opens at the slightest touch: in fact, if often opens (and the batteries...
Published on April 22, 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for mini-cassette -- for most people, June 18, 2001
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
The RCA RP5007 is a good little voice recorder, but it has its flaws. I give it four stars because, for certain applications (long dictations in a quiet room, or short interviews and speeches in louder situations), it's very handy indeed, and much better than a mini-cassette recorder.
Its major flaw is the lack of storage for high-quality recordings. The included 4MB SmartMedia card only holds 17 minutes of HQ sound -- so I'd recommend buying at least an additional 8MB card. Unfortunately, that's as big as you can get, since the unit doesn't accept cards bigger than 8MB, or 34 minutes HQ. The SP (low quality) mode lasts a long time (nearly 1hr 40min with the stock 4MB card), but the sound is highly compressed and very hard to understand unless there is no background noise at all.
It is considerably less expensive than other digital voice recorders, so compromises have been made, but they detract little from its good basic features and usability.
Here are the pluses and minuses:
GOOD:
- Small and light
- Reasonably easy to use
- Sound quality quite good in HQ mode
- Every clip is time and date stamped
- Button lock prevents accidental activation
- Both manual and voice-activated record modes
- Dictation (close) or Conference (distant) modes
- Sound clips can be stored in folders
- Sound clips can have annotations appended
- Rudimentary editing (insert/delete segments) possible
- Quick preview mode plays 3 sec of each clip
- Uses standard AAA batteries, and lasts a long time with them
- Standard SmartMedia card storage included (4 MB)
- Standard mini microphone and headphone jacks
BAD:
- Sound quality in SP (low quality) mode barely usable, especially if there is any background noise at all
- 17-minute limit on included 4MB card in HQ mode (1hr 40 mins in SP mode, but as I said, it's barely usable)
- Cannot use SmartMedia cards bigger than 8MB (34 min in HQ mode, 3hr 20 min in SP)
- Record button pauses, but does not stop recording a clip (which requires the separate Stop button) -- can be confusing on the fly
- Deleting clips is confusing at first -- RCA even includes a separate addendum to the manual clarifying how it works -- but once you get the hang of it, it's simple
- Fast-forward and reverse features are choppy and rather slow
- Plastic case seems a bit fragile
- No included AC adapter (but there is a plug for one)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maddening design flaw, April 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
All that the positive reviews said is correct, in my experience. The device is reasonably priced and records and plays back reasonably well.
However, mine has an absolutely maddening flaw: the batteries are held in by a small 'door' that hinges from the bottom of the device. The battery door opens at the slightest touch: in fact, if often opens (and the batteries therefore fall out) while in my pocket, without particularly being touched at all. You don't lose your recordings, but you have to re-set all your time and date settings as a result. For me this one flaw almost negates the good features because it makes the device so frustrating to use.
Also, don't assume that the memory cards included or available for this device can be used in a PC-attached card reader: they cannot, since they have a unique proprietary format. So you cannot put these cards into a card reader and import the sound files into your PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital recording capability whets desire for more features, May 20, 2001
By 
Rachel E. Holmen (Berkeley, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
The RP5007 is about as portable as a voice recorder can get.
To me, its most useful feature is the ability to have different memos in individual files, so that a quick listen to the first few seconds of each is all I need in order to track down a particular piece of information that I know I have stored. An "append" feature lets you listen to the start of a memo and then add further notes, which will automatically appear at the end of the existing file. The total recording time is relatively long for recorders in its price range, and the number of different files (297, I think) seemed adequate for almost any purpose. I liked the capability to add my own microphone and headset, or to use the built-in mike and speaker. Press the "lock" button after you turn the unit off, and the unit won't start up accidentally (which could run down its batteries).
Limitations? * For me, the most serious problem is that I have not yet been able to get the Rp5007's SmartMedia card to read on either a PCMCIA reader or a Clik! (Pocket Zip) drive's reader, so my original hope to transfer voice files to my PC has not been possible. * RCA appears to have discontinued the unit, so availability may be limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, Weak Memory, August 17, 2002
By 
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
I bought this player on clearance at a local... store, hoping to use it for notetaking in school. The Recorder works fine for this purpose, but with marginal audio quality, as it must be used in the low quality setting to record any more than 18 minutes. There is no built-in memory on this recorder, all memory is through SmartMedia cards, which would not be a problem if they could be over 8 MB. (This recorder will not accept any SmartMedia Cards over 8 MB), and comes with a 4 MB. 8 MB and below cannot be found anywhere that I have seen, and the recorder formats the cards for storage in such a way that they cannot be read by Card Readers and transferred to a PC. Therefore, this player is only good for someone looking to record once, listen, and delete. Nothing else can be done with the recorder that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RCA RP-5007 Digital Voice Recorder, April 1, 2001
By 
Thomas (Connersville, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
I purchased this machine to replace a power hungry and tape eating micro-cassette recorder. So far, with less than two (2) weeks with the device in my pocket, I can report that I am greatly satisfied with the recorder. It is a significant improvement over the tape machine I used before.
I am a little discouraged by the difficulty I have encountered in erasing individual files within the folders, but I attribute some of this difficulty to the relative complexity of the device when compared with the "low-tech" micro-cassette recorders that I have used in the past.
In all, I would recommend the RCA digital recorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RCA RP 5007, April 25, 2001
By 
David Bince (Toronto, ON. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
I purchased this digital voice recorder about a week ago and I can say to this point I am impressed with its ease of operation. Compared to the old minitape recorders, it is less than half the weight and provides a superior quality of recording. The only thing my unit doesn't have is the backlit screen. Most of the promotional info indicates this unit is backlit, but the users manual for the 5007 makes no mention of this capability. Overall this recorder should prove to be a useful item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems or bugs, June 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
It is a great recorder with many revolutionizing functions, but with revolution comes mistakes. It is found that with many of the RCA DVR'S that there seems to be a short in the system and very often it will shut off when trying to use the DVR and makes it very unreliable to when it is actually going to work. So if you have patience then this is the product to use, if you don't then i would recomend a different DVR..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls Short, June 16, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder (Office Product)
I found this recorder on clearance. I had been looking for a recorder I could take on long bike trips to listen to music. Unfortunately I didn't want to spend [money] on a Sony minidisc player so when I saw a digital VOICE recorder for [money] I thought I would take a chance on its ability to record/play music. So far I find the only acceptable level of quality for music is HQ recording. Unfortunately that only gives 16 min. of music on the 4MB card that comes with the recorder. I have tried to find an optional 8MB card at [local stores], but they don't carry the 8MB smartmedia card. Also I haven't figured out if the unit can be plugged directly into a stereo for direct recording. I hoped a direct hookup would get ride of the noise when recording on standard play, but I can't find a cord to plug into both units. The standard play records up to 90 minutes, but quality is marginal at least for music.
On the plus side the unit is small, light, and very flexible. I will give it to the wife to record lectures if I can't get more high quality music out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

RCA RP5007 Digital Voice Recorder
Used & New from: $28.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.