Customer Reviews


318 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's better than the built-in speakers.
The RTS735E is an appropriately-priced, no-frills, three-input, middle-of-the-road, better-than-the-TV sound bar. The sound quality is good but not great, the treble and bass settings are basic and are neither high or deep. The bar can be louder than the TV, but not by much. Dynamic range is similar to a table radio, it neither tweets or booms, it doesn't distort or...
Published 13 months ago by Edward W. Smith

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As described
The only problem that I have is that the connections are RCA only. It does not connect to newer TV's that have HDMI connections.
Published 13 months ago by Jack E. Woods


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's better than the built-in speakers., October 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
The RTS735E is an appropriately-priced, no-frills, three-input, middle-of-the-road, better-than-the-TV sound bar. The sound quality is good but not great, the treble and bass settings are basic and are neither high or deep. The bar can be louder than the TV, but not by much. Dynamic range is similar to a table radio, it neither tweets or booms, it doesn't distort or clip the audio, stereo separation is appropriate for 3 inch by 2 inch speakers 30 inches apart and 1.5 inch high(er) range speakers about 24 inches apart and air ports about 20 inches apart. As is, the sound is neither dull or crisp. If you feed it from an audio processor, it will sound much better. If you want sound that is better than the TV, this bar will do it. It's a sound bar.

The build quality is very good, it's made of clean, unobtrusive, sturdy black plastic. The four buttons (left to right: standby/on, source, - volume, and volume +) are placed along the top center of the unit with four blue indicator LEDs in the center of the top face. The four LEDs are (left to right), standby, and (inferred from the captioning graphic) low, middle, and high (for audio parameter setting), or the source (Aux1, Aux2, Line-In). The volume, bass, and treble seem to have 16 levels. When setting the volume, bass, and treble, the low-middle-high LEDs indicate the setting, blinking predictably when the three LEDs indicate the setting among the the 16 levels. When not adjusting the audio parameter settings and not muted, the LEDs steadily indicate the source. When muted, all three LEDs blink one second on, one second off.

The sound bar has options for mounting (and additional screws are provided for wall mounting and already has back- and bottom-of-unit mounting facilities). Like everything else, the mounts are made of sturdy black plastic.

Connections are in a recessed well in the back of the unit (power, Aux1-L, Aux1-R, Aux2-L, Aux2-R) and are well labelled. The Line-In is an 1/8 inch stereo mini-jack on the right side of the unit. Connection is quick, intuitive, mindlessly easy.

The remote is well made, usually reliable, and basic black with buttons for power, volume, bass, treble, mute, and three buttons for Aux1, Aux2, and Line In. The remote is reliable and works up to about 20 feet away. Up to 30 feet away, the remote aim has to be good. The remote is powered by a single CR-2032 battery. (If using a battery for the first time, it may need to be moved around inside the battery well to wipe the remote's electrical contacts--this happens with button cell-powered remotes, including this one.)

Operation is simple, intuitive, easy. It comes with a paper instruction guide, but most people won't need it.

This sound bar works, is probably better than your TV, will deliver good but not great sound (unless you feed it from an audio processor, then it's possibly the voice of God), and anyone can install and use it. It will not bankrupt you or impress your friends. It's a sound bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


174 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good deal!, March 22, 2013
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
probably best audio bang for your buck - if your not looking to build an ultimate surround sound but want to put a little pep into your tv's factory speakers, this is your best bet. My flat screen is getting a little older, and i have auditory processing disorder and other hearing difficulties from an explosion in Iraq years ago - this thing is great for just a little extra umph with the bass and treble - I had to buy a 5 dollar 3.5mm headphone to RCA jack adapter for my tv, but im happy as hell with it. As for the remote, still kickin for now, got a 3 year old daughter that will kill it before RCA's quality manufacturing does - plus, I dont mind geting off the ol' keister to turn the volume up or down,, its good for the cardio right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
I read the previous reviews and thought I was taking a big chance, what a surprise when it worked perfectly right out of the box.
I am using it for a 22" TV, so the sound bar is actually wider than the set. The sound from TV was very bad, with no options other than use some sort of external system. I have an expensive component sound system in the family room so I am not saying this sound bar is the top of the line, but for the money, and this application -PERFECT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Price and Performance, September 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
This is a good buy! I am very pleased with the sound bar - took about three minutes to set-up, then turned it on and now I get nice, crisp, and loud audio from my television. Previously I couldn't make out what was being said in most of the movies, now I can hear nicely at less than 50% of maximum volume. The look is nice, build quality is good, and the brackets adjust for free standing or wall mount. I noted that one person said the lack of visual volume bars was a problem - all you need do is run up the volume (to 100%) on the sound bar, then adjust the volume, bass and treble using your television remote. Using your TV remote, or synching it with a universal remote means it doesn't matter if the RCA remote dies, AND you don't have to keep track of another darn remote! This is a solid value - buy it, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound bar, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
This item really did boost my sound quality. I am very pleased with it and I have recommended this product to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for some hearing problems, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
Sometimes I have trouble clearly understanding some TV shows. For some reason, certain channels just don't come thru clearly. Turning the volume up does not seem to help, just makes the sound louder. This bar actually helped that problem. Without turning the volume way up, I can adjust the sound for clarity. I think its because it has treble and bass adjustments. Easy to set up and adjust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, August 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
We are new to flat screens and sound bars. We purchased a new 50in tv and decided we needed more sound. Because of the reviews others had left about this product we bought it. The price was right, very fast shipping, easy to hook up up and it works good. Leaving a review does help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous for the price!, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
This sleek non intrusive sound adds a great deal improvement to my flat screen. Nice design that can either be hung on a wall or placed on top of something. Installation and adjustment to sound was super easy to do. Would recommend it highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can Hear!, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
I can now hear both voice and background sounds thanks to this affordable forward facing speaker. The new TV's with rear or side facing speakers are not compatible with my hearing loss. This was a cheap fix and it worked for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As described, October 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar (Electronics)
The only problem that I have is that the connections are RCA only. It does not connect to newer TV's that have HDMI connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

RCA RTS735E Home Theater Sound Bar
$99.99 $60.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.