Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FYI: It's the same concert as Soundstage 2008
Great concert, but this title is just a re-release of the existing Soundstage one. Just letting the unaware know this fact!
Published on July 29, 2011 by G. Hakala

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reo
Oh the passage of time. If only this recording had been done 20 years ago or so when Kevin's voice was much younger. Don't get me wrong here, I would still pay to hear Kevin sing. You must remember that much of Reo's music is powerfull, melodic, vocal, Rock and Roll music. At his best, Kevin WAS the best. This particular concert has excellent sound, crisp and hi-fidelity...
Published on November 26, 2009 by Angelo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FYI: It's the same concert as Soundstage 2008, July 29, 2011
This review is from: REO Speedwagon: Live in the Heartland [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great concert, but this title is just a re-release of the existing Soundstage one. Just letting the unaware know this fact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific concert!, July 8, 2008
I've never been a major REO fan in that I've never bought a record or CD by them. But, after catching this concert on public TV, and being pretty wowed by their performance, I have to say I was very impressed by how tight these guys play together. The classic hits here really are done justice by these live performances and. because they have been ingrained in the classic rock public consciousness over the past 25+ years, they really hit you with more power than the first time you heard them ("I Can't Fight This Feeling", etc.). And, one of the new tunes, "Find Your Own Way Home" blew me away by how good a song it is - I've got to get the CD, and will also get this DVD when it comes out next month. REO has been around a long time and that fact makes viewing this tight & enjoyable performance even more amazing. This is no nostalgia act - these guys still rock, big-time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible LIVE performance, July 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I also just saw this concert on PBS, and was FLOORED. It is obvious that these guys have been performing live, non-stop since the late 1970s. On stage, these guys are a well oiled machine. The talent and skills are higher now than when they released Hi Infidelity. My wife and I watched this concert over and over on our Tivo, and like this live concerts vertions of the REO songs better than the original album vertions. The audio and video quality of the broadcast concert were outstanding and I hope it is on this DVD also. I am trying to find this concert on Blu Ray, but if it is not offered that way, I will still buy the regular DVD vertion because this is a performance I know I will enjoy with my wife for years to come.

After being so impressed with this, I will admit that my wife and I went to the REO Speedwagon web site to see if we can go see them live in concert! I have not been to a concert in over 20 years, but can't wait to see these guys in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-release, September 10, 2011
By 
Peter Tsang (Rhode Island, New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: REO Speedwagon: Live in the Heartland [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a re-release of "Soundstage Presents: REO Speedwagon Live In The Heartland". Note that the price for this re-release is lower than the original blu-ray.

Here's the set list of 16 songs.

Find Your Own Way Home
Take It On The RunK
Keep Pushin'
I Needed To Fall
Tough Guys
Can't Fight This Feeling
Dangerous Combination
Back On The Road Again
Smilin' In The End
Time For Me To Fly
Don't Let Him Go
Keep On Loving You
Roll With The Changes
Ridin' The Storm Out
Golden Country
157 Riverside Avenue

There are two additional acoustic songs.

I Needed To Fall
Riding' The Storm Out

It is about 38 years since this group hit it big. The main vocalist, Kevin Cronin, has matured gracefully since the early years.

I enjoyed Mr. Cronin's singing. He still sings well and he clearly enjoys himself and the audience. His voice may have changed and on this concert I heard a minor lisp.

You hear the hit songs from the radio, including the rock ballads, "Can't Fight This Feeling" and "Keep On Loving You". The concert experience is pleasant and the audience clearly loves him. Kevin Cronin is professional, friendly, and moves with ease. I think fans, as well as people who have never seen this group, would appreciate this concert.

Audio and video are fine on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REO Speedwagon-At Their Best-LIVE in Concert!, July 1, 2008
REO Speedwagon has been touring non-stop for 35+ years. They have sold well over 40 million records worldwide. Now, SOUNDSTAGE gives REO their due, and long over due it is. Performing from REO's heartland, right where they started the whole Speedwagon thing, right smack in the middle of the U.S., Chicago that is. Right away they start out with a rocker, Don't Let Him Go and keep it going with Take It On The Run. This gets and keeps the crowd on their feet. They then cut into a brand new song, the title track off of their new cd, Find Your Own Way Home. The reception after the song felt like the crowd wanted more new REO. But, instead, they kick into high gear and start jamming one REO classic after another. Even when you think it is going to slow down when they start playing their signature rock ballads, like Keep On Loving You and Can't Fight This Feeling, to the contrary, the audience is begging for more. And does REO Speedwagon satisfy. You get over 75 minutes of classic REO. You even get some rare interviews which wraps this Widescreen HD DVD taped in 5.1 Surround Sound up nicely. I gave it 5 Stars because that is just what it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT CONCERT, January 29, 2009
I agree with alot of the other reviews that described this concert with the "WOW FACTOR."
A friend brought this over for me to watch recently, the first thing I asked was "is Gary Richrath on it?" The answer was NO, so I was somewhat subdued by that fact, but once we started watching this concert, I was captivated the whole time, these guys flat out rock the entire show, it was amazing and incredible, I was completely blown away. The audio and video are excellent, but most importantly the band was smokin' hot, so those three elements make for an excellent production to the max.
I don't really understand those couple of negative reviews, "Kevin's voice is about shot, and these guys look old and haggard." Those remarks were way off base. I can't believe anyone could watch this and then make negative remarks like that.
I highly recommend this DVD to anyone who wants to hear a top quality band that flat out rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wagon is still rollin....., August 8, 2008
By 
J.man (YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO United States) - See all my reviews
REO is still rollin at full speed!!!. I saw the band at the height of their success on the "High Infidelity Tour", (along with 18,000 others at that particular time,) and i enjoyed this show as much as that! This is a great show, the stage,the sound, and song mix of old and new tunes are perfect.Although the crowd on this show is much smaller than the full size arena show when I saw them,the energy level between the band and the crowd is well documented here!Do not miss this dvd!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "Other" Great band from Chicago, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: REO Speedwagon: Live in the Heartland [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Saw them live many many years ago. They still sound and sing GREAT. the Video and Audio (5.1 SS) is Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best REO DVD, August 12, 2008
REO Speedwagon performs at a level on this Soundstage concert that rivals their heyday. Included is nearly every hit, many of the classics, and includes 4 songs off the new "Find Your Own Way Home" album. Only missed "Everything You Feel" from the new album that would have made this absolutely complete. But the best part of this DVD is that, after rockin through the hits, classics, and new music, during the encore it includes "Golden Country", never before available on video. This REO classic is probably the most underrated classic rock anthem song ever, and seems be relevant more today than when written by original lead guitarist Gary Richrath back in 1972. This live performance and the new album shows that REO is refreshed and still able to put out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Live in the Heartland ... REO Speedwagon ... Koch Vision (2008)", August 19, 2008
Koch Vision and Soundstage presents "REO SPEEDWAGON LIVE IN THE HEARTLAND" (2008) (94 mins/Color) (Dolby digitally remastered) --- Celebrating 35 years of ruling the arena, REO Speedwagon is back in top power ballad form in this entry in the PBS Soundstage concert series --- The classic rock giants play all of their ubiquitous sing-along hits, including "Can't Fight This Feeling," and "Keep on Loving You," as well as material from later releases, in an intimate setting before an enthusiastic hometown crowd --- Presented in sparkling high definition and packaged with bonus interviews with the musicians, this one of a kind release LIVE IN THE HEARTLAND showcases the legendary American rock band like never before.

REO Speedwagon is an American rock band which grew in popularity in the Midwestern United States during the 1970s and peaked in the early 1980s. REO Speedwagon hits include "Keep On Loving You" and "Can't Fight This Feeling." --- Both songs are power ballads, the former being prototypical of the genre and appearing on the group's most commercially successful album, Hi Infidelity, which also included the hit "Take It on the Run," a song that peaked at number five on the U.S. charts.

Track Listing in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround - English

Soundstage: REO Speedwagon Live in the Heartland
1. "Find Your Own Way Home"--from the 2007 album Find Your Own Way Home
2. "Take It On the Run"--from the 1980 album Hi Infidelity
3. "Keep Pushin'"--from the 1976 album R.E.O.
4. "I Needed to Fall"--from the 2007 album Find Your Own Way Home
5. "Tough Guys"--from the 1980 album Hi Infidelity
6. "Can't Fight This Feeling"--from the 1984 album Wheels Are Turning
7. "Dangerous Combination"--from the 2007 album Find Your Own Way Home
8. "Back on the Road Again"--from the 1979 album Nine Lives
9. "Smilin' in the End"--from the 2007 album Find Your Own Way Home
10. "Time for Me to Fly"--from the 1978 album You Can Tune a Piano But You Can't Tuna Fish
11. "Don't Let Him Go"--from the 1980 album Hi Infidelity
12. "Keep On Loving You"--from the 1980 album Hi Infidelity
13. "Roll with the Changes"--from the 1978 album You Can Tune a Piano But You Can't Tuna Fish
14. "Ridin' the Storm Out"--from the 1974 album Ridin' the Storm Out
15. "Golden Country"--from the 1976 album R.E.O.
16. "157 Riverside Avenue"--from the 1971 album REO Speedwagon

SPECIAL BONUS FEATURES:
Clips - Special Acoustic Performances -
1. I NEEDED TO FALL
2. "RIDIN" THE STORM OUT
Interviews - Kevin Cronin, Performer; Neal Doughty, Performer

Great job by Koch Vision --- looking forward to more high quality titles from the Sound Stage Collection film market --- order your copy now from Amazon or Koch Vision where there are plenty of copies available on DVD, stay tuned once again for top notch releases --- where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector.

Total Time: 94 mins on DVD ~ Koch Vision 6567 ~ (8/05/2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

REO Speedwagon: Live in the Heartland [Blu-ray]
$17.97 $12.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.