Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (141)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


282 of 288 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purpose of this Splitter
I am writing this review to help everyone out.

This splitter will take the input of one Ethernet RJ-45 connection and physically split it into two RJ-45 Ethernet connections. Please notice that you can only have one device turned-on at a time. This is a limitation of the Ethernet physical signaling. If you try to have two devices use the connection...
Published on June 24, 2011 by D. Dean

versus
29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay attention to Misunderstood Item review
k1114 is correct that 100mb ethernet only requires 4 conductors. Unfortunately, these splitters are not wired to use 4 wires for each connector - all 8 go to both (I took mine apart to see), so you can't simultaneously use two devices, even with two splitters. It's a shame - the only splitters I've found wired for two devices are from Cables To Go and are much pricier...
Published on August 4, 2011 by cbiw


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

282 of 288 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purpose of this Splitter, June 24, 2011
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
I am writing this review to help everyone out.

This splitter will take the input of one Ethernet RJ-45 connection and physically split it into two RJ-45 Ethernet connections. Please notice that you can only have one device turned-on at a time. This is a limitation of the Ethernet physical signaling. If you try to have two devices use the connection simultaneously, it will not work.

If you need two physical connections both on at the same time from one connection, please look for a switch like a 4-port, 5-port, or 8-port Dlink/Linksys/Netgear/HP/etc. More money, but this is the correct way to 'split' connections when you can't run more Ethernet cabling.

Hope this helps everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 144 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job., September 29, 2010
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
Does what it's supposed to do which is split the signal. I bought it knowing I could only use the internet on one device at a time, but thought I could have both devices on at the same time. This is not true. I have it hooked up to my Mac and my Xbox 360. If either one is on, the other must be off for the internet to work. This is frustrating and inconvenient but much cheaper than a router so I'm fine with the situation. You should know that before you purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1-star reviews are WRONG, WRONG, WRONG!, August 4, 2012
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
[*** see Important Update to this review, at bottom!]

The reviewers who gave this splitter a bad rating are dead wrong. They do not understand what this device does. They failed to look at the schematic illustration above (alongside the other photos of it), which clearly shows how to use it.

Wrong reviews are annoying - if you are too lazy to read the instructions & educate yourself the tiniest bit about networking, then you have no business writing reviews to spread your stupidity and ignorance around the world. If you won't do your homework, then shut up - stop pretending that you did, and stop complaining that you failed the test: You *deserved* to fail it.

The purpose of these splitters is *NOT* to be able to buy a cheap splitter instead of having to buy either (a) a Modem-with-built-in-router/switch, or (b) a Modem PLUS a separate external router/switch, plus (c) two long cables to connect it to your two computers. That is what the ignorant people who wrote the bad reviews imagined that they could do with this splitter. Wrong, wrong, wrong!!

As the infamous (& fired) tech support person of legend once advised a customer: "Sir, the best solution to your problem is to (a) pack the computer back into its box, (b) take it back to the store, and (c) ask for a refund -- because you are TOO FRICKING STUPID to use a computer!"

For those who would prefer to educate themselves rather than abandoning their hopes of ever using computers, read on...

You need to purchase TWO of these. And employ them together, as shown in schematic. Then, yes, you can use two computers (or xboxes etc.) simultaneously.

First (as shown in illustration), AT THE MODEM END, you need to have either (a) a modem with built-in router/switch with multiple ports, or (b) a modem-with-a-single-port PLUS a separate, external router/switch with multiple ports. If you only have a modem with a single port, then these splitters won't do anything for you (other than perhaps giving you an opportunity to write misguided bad reviews in which you blame their "failure" on something other than your own stupidity/laziness).

Second, you will need 5 ethernet cables (as shown) - usually 4 short ones and one long one.

Step 1: (as shown), use two short ethernet cables to connect TWO ports of the router/switch to the two female jacks on one side of the first splitter ('splitter A'). (Think of 'splitter A' as the 'Combiner', combining two jacks on the router/switch into just one jack on the splitter.)

Step 2: (as shown), use one long ethernet cable to connect the remaining one port of 'splitter A' to the corresponding single port on one side of your second splitter ('splitter B'). (Think of 'splitter B' as the 'Separator', separating that combined signal into two jacks.) Run this long cable out to where your two computers are located,

Step 3: (as shown), use two short ethernet cables to connect the remaining two jacks of 'splitter B' to the ethernet jacks on your two computers.

Voila! You can now use TWO computers to access the internet simultaneously - even though you've only got ONE long ethernet cable running from the router/switch (A) to the computers (B).

So, What is the point of all this? Simply to be able to use one long cable instead of two. Imagine that your modem/router/switch is located in the basement, and the two computers are up on the second floor, 100 feet away from the modem/router/switch. Normally, you would need to run two separate 100' cables from the basement up to the second floor. 100' cables are EXPENSIVE. Your two cheap splitters allow you to run just ONE 100' cable up to the second floor, instead of two. Total cost is lower, less cable clutter, easier installation, etc.

--------------------------------------------
[*** Important Update - Dec. 9, 2012 ***]

This product is NOT the product that I wrote about (above) on Aug.4!!!

Amazon has changed the product description -- It now states: "allows two computers to share one Ethernet line ONE AT A TIME, but [not] simultaneously." AND - under 'Product Features' it now states that the wiring is 'parallel'.

Also - the product images are different from the images that were here on Aug.4. They no longer show the schematic diagram that I referred to in my review. And image #7 (a customer image from William Pfeiffer) is consistent with the NEW product description.

Also - the product Title now refers to CAT6 in addition to CAT5. What I wrote applies to CAT5 but not to CAT6 wiring.

This is a TOTALLY different product than the one I reviewed on Aug.4!!! Or (if it IS the same product as before), then YOUR previous product descriptions and images were totally wrong. Either way, you make it impossible for customers to correctly understand what is being sold, so people buy it with wrong expectations of what it does. (Or they don't buy it, when they should have.) What is wrong with you, Amazon?? You certainly are wealthy enough to hire electronics experts to edit & correct these product descriptions before you publish them, so why don't you??

Dammit, Amazon, STOP DOING THIS!!! If the product changes to a different product, then the previous reviews don't apply to the new product and they no longer belong here. Keep the reviews attached to the correct product!!!

Your switcheroo makes it sound like I did not know what I was talking about, which is NOT the case. You thereby harmed my reputation; I believe that lawyers refer to what you've done as 'libelous.' Amazon is the idiot here, not me -- stop doing stupid things and letting others take the blame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Cheap Reviewers, April 25, 2012
By 
K. Grimsley (Westfield, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
You're all just complaining because you are too cheap to buy a router or switch to handle multiple internet connections simultaneously. This is a splitter, not a port switcher. It does exactly what it's supposed to do, it physically splits one line into two. That doesn't mean you can use both at the same time, there's no processing functionality in this item.

Compare it to a railroad. You have the railroad switch (this splitter) and the transfer station (a router or switch). You can have multiple trains going through the transfer station at the same time, however you can only have one train utilize a railroad switch at a time. Both are useful, however serve different purposes.

Go buy a $30 switch if you can't handle turning off one connection while using the other, and stop giving one star reviews to items that work properly. You're just too lazy to do some research on what you're buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay attention to Misunderstood Item review, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
k1114 is correct that 100mb ethernet only requires 4 conductors. Unfortunately, these splitters are not wired to use 4 wires for each connector - all 8 go to both (I took mine apart to see), so you can't simultaneously use two devices, even with two splitters. It's a shame - the only splitters I've found wired for two devices are from Cables To Go and are much pricier ($13 each), and have a male on the single end instead of a female. Someone should start selling cheap splitters wired the right way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood item!, February 17, 2011
By 
Paul1114 (Tulsa, OK USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
There seems to be a big misunderstanding about how this item works. It's not going to split one source into two! You need a PAIR of these to do that! Ethernet has 8 wires, right? Well, 10/100mb connections only use four of them. Splitters like these allow you to use four wires on each side, but you have to use ANOTHER one of these on the other end, and feed it two connections from a switch and/or router. This is great if you only have one wire run to a location where you need two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great splitter., November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
this was a great device and does just what it suppose to. most people I have read gave it a low review because they dont know what it does. they think it splits the line in two so that they can run two devices from one modem at the same time like haveing two modems. but you cant you cand hook up two devices like I did my xbox and ps3 are both connected with the splitter so when I play one of them I will be online but I cant play the xbox and ps3 at the same time and b online at the same time. but then again I dont play both at the same time. I got tired of moving my cable from one unit to the other so I both this splitter so I dont have to. but I will say that I did try to hook up a lap top to it but it wouldnt work. not computer savy enough to explain why it would nor did I look into it to find the problem since it works great with my game systems thats why I bought it so no problems for me on that end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
This is design to be a multiple coupler, one live connection at a time. one side does not work, got 2, neither of them work. Normal junk from China. Got what I paid for, very little. Does not work as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine works fine., August 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
I bought this Splitter to split the signal from my PC, via a Cat5 Ethernet Cable, to both my TiVo Cable Box and my Video Player.
Both devices work fine with just one splitter at the Tivo and Video Player units.
I can play a video movie on my TiVo, and play a different movie on my Video Player, both at the same time. There are no video pauses, or hesitatation at all.. Just smooth playing video or movies from both devices at the same time!
Works GREAT.
I highly recomend this HDE RJ45 Ethernet Splitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One problem, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CAT 5 6 LAN Ethernet Splitter Connector Adapter PC (Electronics)
The shipping time was okay, but you can only use one broadband device at a time off of it. I ended up using a router, but I will use it for something. Can't beat the price though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.