Customer Reviews

83
3.8 out of 5 stars
RPS PRODUCTS DFK Waterbed Drain/Fill Kit
Price:$7.05 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase
Problem: waterbed needed draining. Would have simply siphoned it out the window, except that the window was on the 15th floor. Bad idea. Right-priced kit delivered promptly. Good idea. Problem solved.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on August 24, 2011
Verified Purchase
I should probably disclose up front that I bought this to create a siphon for my aquarium. Those "Phython" brand siphons are ridiculously priced when one of these and some clear tubing from a local hardware store makes the same thing for 1/4 the price.

That said, this functions well as a siphon with one caveat! The plastic of which it is composed is very soft. It took only a few runs of screwing it on, siphoning/filling up and unscrewing it before the threads were stripped and started leaking something fierce. It's better to add this to a more durable connection and seal this one up with something like plumber's tape or pipe dope or adhesive. The plastic is just too soft for the repeated on/off that you would use this for.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase
If this product is connected directly to a faucet using a hose connection, it works great. If you have to use the faucet converter/ adapter, go to Ace Hardware and purchase a metallic "hose thread adapter 2/9C (15/18"- 27 dual thread to 3/4" hose thread) to replace the crappy plastic adapter provide with this product. The plastic on the faucet converter provided with this product is so soft it keeps popping off the faucet with obvious results. I was able to snugly fit the converter on the faucet for my bathroom sink, but when the water is turned on and water pressure is applied to the unit, it will work for a time and then pop off. I was able to fill my waterbed about 3/4 full and then the unit would pop off under any water pressure. Very poorly made product. I finished filling the waterbed with the metallic faucet converter/adapter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase
Waterbeds aren't as common as they once were, so this item is almost impossible to find in stores. I was thrilled to find it online and to have it delivered so promptly at such a reasonable price. Truth be told, we don't have a waterbed, but this is the perfect assembly for draining and filling the large aquarium our turle lives in. Pet stores in the area sell the valve we needed from this system, but not individually....you have to buy the whole filter system.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase
RPS #DFK Waterbed Drain/Fill Kit ... This item worked exactly as we needed. It did take a few tries to get it working ... but just don't give up ... keep trying ... once we got it going ... it worked perfectly. We drained a King Size Waterbed that was in the basement. We drained it up and out the window to the yard. It took a couple hours or so (maybe even 3) ... but that was to be expected. I would recommend this to anyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase
If you only plan to use this once, it may be the most economical choice. I am draining my bed for the last time so I am not terribly picky, but would not recommend this product for anyone who was keeping their waterbed and might need to use it a second time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Verified Purchase
This product is very cheaply made and probably won't stand up to repeated use. If you are just going to fill or drain a waterbed, this will work, but don't expect to use it more than once or twice. Be very careful when screwing a hose onto it because the cheap, soft plastic will strip out extremely easily!

I used it to drain the waterbed mattress that my wife and I had used for at least 10 years, but which had finally sprung so many leaks that we decided it was time to replace it. Since it is getting hard to find waterbeds or waterbed mattresses these days, we opted for a memory foam mattress this time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2014
Makes emptying old mattress and filling new mattress so much easier. The suction was good and water emptied out of old mattress at full stream.Also made filling the new mattress easy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase
First off I did not use this on a waterbed, I used this connection to help fill and empty a 26 gallon and 55 gallon fish tank. After explaining to a friend how the aquarium water changers work, they recommend I try a waterbed drain/fill kit as a cheaper alternative. It worked ok for the fish tank right by the sink, but after tanking the faucet connector on and off a few times the threads were gone. I ended up going to the hardware store and buying a metal faucet connector and just using it with a hose (which was probably a smarter idea in the first place) and was able to easily drain/fil the tank that way. Even though it ultimately did not work for what I wanted the price was good (around $7) and it did help me find a better solution without having to give up and buy the $40-60 water changer.

The kit does work, but if you are looking to repeatedly use this like I did just know the plastic is soft and the threads will wear out quickly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 29, 2014
Did not work for draining the bed. I ended up on youtube to find and easy way to drain with nothing more than a garden hose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.