Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to rabbits, but should not be your only book
This book is a great introduction to the world of the companion rabbit. It provides quick access to easy to understand tibits about common rabbit concerns. It's written in a manner that is able to keep most people's attention and interest.
The only problem I have with the book is the fact that it doesn't emphasize that rabbits should not be kept in hutches. Rabbits,...
Published on June 26, 2004 by Sara D.

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rabbits for Dummies
This is a good book for house rabbits or those who want basic information but it does not (in my opinion) get deep enough into the differing breeds and their characteristics. And the author seemed biased against the bulk rabbit farmers. I usually find the "Dummies"series of books to be more informational that this particular book, but it was an easy read and I would...
Published on March 25, 2010 by Bronauch d' Arc


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to rabbits, but should not be your only book, June 26, 2004
By 
Sara D. (Akron, Oh United States) - See all my reviews
This book is a great introduction to the world of the companion rabbit. It provides quick access to easy to understand tibits about common rabbit concerns. It's written in a manner that is able to keep most people's attention and interest.
The only problem I have with the book is the fact that it doesn't emphasize that rabbits should not be kept in hutches. Rabbits, regardless of size, should be kept in a set-up that is more akin to that of a dog pen. An area that measures approximately four feet by four feet that is fenced off INSIDE your home will be a better set-up for your new lagomorph. They need space to run around and play while you are at work or school and the wire bottom of pet-store rabbit cages can be very harsh on their feet. They do not have foot-pads like dogs or cats. If you value the health of your new companion, please use a dog pen.
I recommend looking into adopting a rabbit from your local House Rabbit Society chapter ([...] Rabbits from pet stores are often sick and not litterbox trained (yes, they are easily trained and very clean animals).
That all said, please read this book before you purchase a bunny. I also recommend reading "The House Rabbit Handbook: Living With an Urban Rabbit" and "Rabbit Health in the 21st Century." Rabbits are much different from dogs and cats and have special health concerns, but can make great pets for the right people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good General Care Book, December 9, 2005
By 
Julie (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This is one of my favorite reference books for rabbits. The book covers all aspects of rabbit care from getting a rabbit, to housing, feeding, training, behavior problems, illness, and death. The format is easy to read and specific information is easy to find. The Appendix offers some great resources on education, activities, rescues, publications, shopping, and registries. The book brings together both ARBA and the House Rabbit Society. It knocks neither and presents both sides; so its a safe pick-up for a believer of either spectrum. I recommend it in addition to "Rabbit Health in the 21st Century" by Kathy Smith as the only two books a beginner needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rabbit care book, September 24, 2006
By 
If you are new to bunnies or just want a thorough book on rabbit care, this is a great one. It covers every topic imaginable! I have found most "Dummy" books to be very informative, and this one is no exception. I would like a few more color pictures of rabbits, but other than this, the book is terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book, October 10, 2005
By 
L. A. Turner (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've fostered rabbits for the local SPCA, and this book definitely helped me understand rabbits and their behavior. I would recommend it for any rabbit owner, as it contains a lot of information.

I had spent a considerable time searching the internet for information on rabbits, and if I'd bought this book first, I could have saved a lot of time and learned a lot more a lot faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for novices, October 24, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my sister, who just got her first rabbit. We were dazzled by the fabulous range of information provided by this book. Pay especial attention to the extensive appendices -- invaluable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is like Rabbit 101, July 11, 2003
By 
Elizabeth Ayala (San Mateo, California USA) - See all my reviews
Excellent book for first time rabbit guardians. Its the next best thing to speaking fluent rabbit. Its easy to understand and packed with very useful information. Its a good companion book for the House Rabbit Handbook or Why does my rabbit...? books. It is definately a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and useful, May 20, 2004
By 
This book is a must-have for new rabbit owners, and even people who've had rabbits for years could benefit from it. It explains the responsibilities that come with caring for a rabbit, and it does so in very clear language...but it doesn't make you feel like a dummy. It outlines the physical needs of rabbits, but I especially appreciate how it addresses rabbits' often-overlooked psychological needs as well. This is a great starter book...I recommend bringing it home the same day as your new bunny, like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rabbits For Dummies (Paperback)
Love this, lots of well written information and a great deal. Some of the info is a little outdated though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic "Owners Manual" for first time rabbit famlies, February 26, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As with all of the "Dummies" publication, this book provides very thorough, elementary information for would-be rabbit families. The imformation is broken down into chapters for ease of use. It offers insight into these amazingly complex animals, their care and distinct personalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for First-timers and Brush-ups, June 9, 2007
I've owned two rabbits before and I was shocked to find out how much has changed since I last owned a rabbit. The information I found in it was right-on. The behavioral problem trouble-shooting chapter is a bit slim, and the disease/health problems list leaves a bit to be desired. But the overall care chapters are superb and up-to-date on recently accepted practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rabbits For Dummies
Rabbits For Dummies by Audrey Pavia (Paperback - March 30, 2009)
$16.99 $14.21
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.