Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent horror thriller
Eighteen year old Chris Corin is having a very bad year. After his mother's death, he became the legal guardian for his fifteen year old sister Brittany who is going through puberty and challenging his authority every chance she can. His maternal grandmother, who he has never met and who his mother never talked about, challenges him for custody of Brittany. He is the...
Published on March 30, 2005 by Harriet Klausner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Sequel to Possessions
At first, I was really disappointed with this book because it turns out that it is the sequel to Possessions. No where on the book's cover, or inside flaps is this pivotal fact mentioned. I had to look it up online to figure out why something felt missing... And since the ending of Possessions is definitively given away in this sequel, I am not really in any rush to go...
Published on December 18, 2009 by Yolanda S. Bean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A Sequel to Possessions, December 18, 2009
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
At first, I was really disappointed with this book because it turns out that it is the sequel to Possessions. No where on the book's cover, or inside flaps is this pivotal fact mentioned. I had to look it up online to figure out why something felt missing... And since the ending of Possessions is definitively given away in this sequel, I am not really in any rush to go back and read it. Maybe someday...
That aside, I did enjoy this book quite a bit. The narration was refreshing and the characters were likable. The end also seems pretty open-ended, so I will keep an eye out for a third book in this series. There were a lot of gaps in the plot, but it didn't bother me too much, since this book was mostly all about excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chris Corin learns that evil doesn't die so easily, December 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
After battling and defeating no less than an evil god in Moore's previous Leisure novel POSSESSIONS, Chris Corin wants nothing more than to kick back and try to put his chaotic life in order. His hopes are dashed, however, when he learns that his friend Jerry is suffering from an affliction which is consuming his entire body, transforming him into something "other". It appears that Jerry and many others who were exposed to the now dead evil entity are carrying the seeds of a new, potentially greater evil in their decaying bodies. Unfortunately for Chris, destiny has decreed that he is the only one who can defeat this new threat.

A direct sequel to POSSESSIONS, RABID GROWTH offers an answer to the question, "Just what does happen to a "big bad" once it is ostensibly vanquished?" Most books would have you believe that the protagonists live happily ever after. RABID GROWTH offers no such solace, which stands to reason, since the evil faced in POSSESSION was on a cosmic level. Surely then, some vestiges of that evil must still survive, and may even come to thrive again in other forms.

Satisfying on that level, RABID GROWTH also offers a captivating and realistic cast of characters, all people you'll feel you've come to know well by the time you finish. Moore is obviously very comfortable with these players, although that familiarity sometimes works against him in regard to readers who come to RABID GROWTH without first reading POSSESSIONS. In light of the overall quality of the novel, however, that's only a minor criticism. Moore's sheer storytelling skills continue to appeal -- if you liked his previous works, you're apt to enjoy this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, April 5, 2005
By 
J. Foster (bellmawr, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
let me start by saying i am a huge fan of Mr.Moore. i have spoken with him before and i truly think he is a good guy and a great writer however i was not satisfied with the rabid growth. for those who don't know this is a sequel to his previous novel possessions.

this book deals with the consequnces of what happened in the first novel and if you haven't read it you should. this story take's place around chris corin and his sister and friends and how they are recovering from what happened at the end of possessions. apparently not very well because chris still hasn't gotten his lottery money and his sister is a nympho at the age of 14.

apparently there are still thing's out there that don't like chris very much and he spends the novel being stalked and fighting them off. what these things are and where they come from is not really explained which is a big complaint of mine. i like to know why thing's are happening maybe that is just being too picky.

my main complaint is just that...i dont know what the thing's chasing chris are and what there motivations were in the first book i thought things would be explained in this book but they weren't.the ending of possessions promised so much but i ont think it came through with many answers. this book is action packed and exciting but ultimately a let down in the end. i can only hope for another sequel to explain things.

i suggest people who want to read good horror read james moores under the overtree and it's sequel serenity falls which are great and have one of the best hero's ever to grace the pages of a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be Titled Possessions Part 2, June 2, 2005
By 
wiley18 "wiley18" (Tebbetts, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
Not knowing this was a continuation of Possessions, certainly clouds my perceptions of this book. Most authors who write series books refer to characters or events in previous books and if they are any good - they can pull off a stand-alone book, where it doesn't really matter if you've read those coming before (I speak of John Sanford's 'Prey' series as an example). Moore, obviously cannot do this. Very disjointed and dependent on Possessions. You may get more out of this book if you read that one first - but that may be a stretch in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent horror thriller, March 30, 2005
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
Eighteen year old Chris Corin is having a very bad year. After his mother's death, he became the legal guardian for his fifteen year old sister Brittany who is going through puberty and challenging his authority every chance she can. His maternal grandmother, who he has never met and who his mother never talked about, challenges him for custody of Brittany. He is the winner of millions of dollars in the lottery but with al the paperwork that has to be taken care of, he barely has enough money to buy food.

There has been an enormous increase in the homeless population and the men are violent. One of the men who became extremely violent is taken to jail where he dies. The police lose the body and later Chris sees him walking the streets. Chris' friend Jerry, as well as other people in town, who were affected by the events that took place last year (see POSSESSIONS) are changing, becoming something other than human. Chris tries to help his friend while trying to prevent being killed or worse by the others that have changed into something alien.

James A. Moore is one of the best new horror writers of the twenty first century as he can hold his own wilt the greats including Clive Barker, Bentley Little, Stephen King and Robert Mccammon. Be advised that this book should be read with all the lights on and they should not be turned off even when the reader goes to sleep. The story starts off in a mundane fashion but changes so subtly readers will feel they are in the Twilight Zone without an idea of how they got there.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite a stretch, October 30, 2005
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
I would suggest this book for new horror readers under the age of 25. Lots of loose ends even for a series book. It had some slightly scary parts but not much to leave to the imagination. You can go from Moore to Koontz but not the other way around. Being an avid Koontz fan, this was rather flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, October 24, 2005
By 
Tim M. (St. Petersburg, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rabid Growth (Mass Market Paperback)
I haven't even read POSSESSIONS to get the full gist of this fantastic story. Moore's very realistic characters and great writing style make this book fly, along with tremendous horror sequences. Creepy and weird with some head-spinning scenes. Can't wait to read more by Moore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rabid Growth
Rabid Growth by James Moore (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.