Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all 1st year Pyschology students who should do their inner work on Class, Race, and Stratification in the USA/Glo
Great book for all 1st year Pyschology students who should do their inner work on Class, Race, and Stratification in the USA/Global issues on transference, counter-transference etc. based on our individual biases (Covert/overt) towards our clients as well as daily "Stereotype Threat" issues that are pervasive in all societies.

All providers/folks in...
Published 19 months ago by A. Chartrand

versus
9 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book with historical facts
this book covers all the necessary needs for a person to have counseling training to understand people from all different ethnicity background.
Published on June 6, 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all 1st year Pyschology students who should do their inner work on Class, Race, and Stratification in the USA/Glo, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book for all 1st year Pyschology students who should do their inner work on Class, Race, and Stratification in the USA/Global issues on transference, counter-transference etc. based on our individual biases (Covert/overt) towards our clients as well as daily "Stereotype Threat" issues that are pervasive in all societies.

All providers/folks in general have their persona stories and upbringings that need to be explored deeply and accessed on a deeper level before engaging in the practice of healing and supporting others. This book opens one's eyes so they can being their work in understanding how their perceptions and unconscious issues have played a large part in their daily opportunities or lack their of depending on status, class, and economic opportunities in a stratified society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading, February 19, 2004
By A Customer
This book was amazing in its scope and varying perspectives on issues concerning "minority" Americans. Both editors and incredible and I personally am really looking forward to reading Patricia Hill Collins' lastest book, Black Sexual Politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, April 8, 2009
This book is very interesting...in that it has different articles that point out the social inequalities that we may not see in our society. The articles have different view points that explain what the author is trying to introduce to its readers. I think this book is very interesting and it helps point out some issues in our society that we may not ordinarily see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really (not joking) great book!, December 18, 2010
By 
TeamQuinnHQ (Tucson, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Text books are really dry and hard to read (for me) but this one was really good and I actually learned a lot. If you have to buy this book, don't freak out it isn't bad - I even kept mine when the course was over :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for any therapist, December 15, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed this book for a course in my MSW program, but found it to be very enlightening, and a great reference source in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Anthology review, April 20, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Pensacola, FL USA) - See all my reviews
I'm not a huge fan of the format. It's a compilation of a whole bunch of different articles. Many are interesting, but some just whine on and on. I thought they could have done a better job for the title, but I guess it did encompass all aspects. It was well written, but just an ok book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased Customer, August 29, 2008
I'm amazingly happy with this product. With the insanely high prices of textbooks on college campuses it is nice to be able to save money and also get the textbooks quickly. I'm completely satisfied with this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book with historical facts, June 6, 2001
By A Customer
this book covers all the necessary needs for a person to have counseling training to understand people from all different ethnicity background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Race, Class, and Gender: An Anthology
Race, Class, and Gender: An Anthology by Patricia Hill Collins (Paperback - Dec. 1997)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.