Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Story!!
This is one of the most exiting books I have read in a very long time. Even though I haven't sailed a boat for twenty-five years, Wilson's gripping descriptions of his single-handed non-stop race around the world put me squarely inside the boat beside him. I could almost feel the pain when he broke his ribs early in the race, and I actually got vertigo reading about his...
Published on October 7, 2012 by Steve Schanzer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much extraneous discussion
I enjoyed the descriptions of sailing, but way too much discussion of non-sailing matters. The author is to be congratulated for competing and finishing this challenging race around the world. The newer sailing vessels appear to be too fragile to tackle the conditions of the southern ocean.
Published 21 months ago by Kent Price


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Story!!, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
This is one of the most exiting books I have read in a very long time. Even though I haven't sailed a boat for twenty-five years, Wilson's gripping descriptions of his single-handed non-stop race around the world put me squarely inside the boat beside him. I could almost feel the pain when he broke his ribs early in the race, and I actually got vertigo reading about his 65 foot climb up the mast to make repairs. Whether he was alone at sea for weeks during an endless and savage series of storms, or enduring injuries, or fighting sleeplessness at every turn, Wilson's true tales about his adventure are sure to keep readers riveted.

But the most refreshing point for me was his reason for making this grueling journey. Wilson had arranged in advance to speak to thousands of school kids from around the globe online every day right in their own classrooms. In this way, they could participate in an amazing real-life event while simultaneously learning about everything from marine biology, history, and technology to geography, weather systems, navigation--and the extreme sport of racing sailboats single-handed off-shore.

This book is a must read about one man's struggle against the odds, not for riches or fame, but to provide an exciting learning experience for kids thru virtual participation in a three month, round the world solo sailing race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting read about a remarkable accomplishment, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are passages in this book that will leave you breathless! I was one of the fortunate sailors in Rich Wilson's crew in the 1980 Newport-Bermuda Race. In that race, he devised an innovative strategy that led to a small boat's victory over the monsters of ocean racing. But that was just the beginning of Rich's career of amazing achievements in sailing. In this book, the reader is taken aboard as Rich completes the most grueling of all sailing races - an unimaginable solo race around the world. Along the way, he weaves into the story his own evolution as a sailor, the preparation for this feat, giving the reader a sense of the fear, the danger, the support of the family of ocean racers, and the jubilation of accomplishing the inconceivable. An important part of the story is his conception and nurturing of sitesAlive!, a web-based educational offering that takes students with him, real-time, on these voyages, giving them a riveting course on geography, technology, mathematics, problem-solving, and much, much more. Don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much extraneous discussion, January 24, 2013
By 
Kent Price (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the descriptions of sailing, but way too much discussion of non-sailing matters. The author is to be congratulated for competing and finishing this challenging race around the world. The newer sailing vessels appear to be too fragile to tackle the conditions of the southern ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing tale from the sea!, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
This is a book reminiscent of Gypsy Moth Circles the World - compelling, informative and a well-crafted adventure story with a similar low key and self deprecating voice. Having worked with Rich for several years to support the mission of the Sea Education Association, I know how committed he is to connecting people with the ocean. While sharing the successes of his sitesALIVE Foundation educational outreach effort, he also conveys his true passion for sailing in the most extreme conditions. His writing puts in perspective the extraordinary men and women who compete in the Vendee Globe, and allows us to glimpse the rush of adrenaline unique to the waters around Cape Horn. Tres bien fait Rich!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich Wilson is an authentic hero, September 30, 2012
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
Rich Wilson's book "Race to France: Leave Antartica to Starboard" is a tale of immense personal courage under the most difficult circumstances imaginable. The Vendee Globe around the world alone, non-stop, is without question the most trying sport ever conceived by man. Why does Wilson do it? Fame? Fortune? None of those things came his way, nor were they expected. He did it to help motivate school age children by using his race as the backdrop for educational subjects ranging from geometry to health to the environment. Wilson's commitment to students, his fellow racers, and the people of France who embraced him as their own, shines through in this book. If you like what Shakelton did, you will love what Rich Wilson did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting account of the Vendee Globe, September 16, 2012
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
Fantastic book! The pace is perfect, the 'breaks' nicely timed, Wilson's nods to the race, competitors, race directors, friends, supporters, the public, without self congratulation, are a welcome relief from other 'adventure' books. And his book is so much more because of his asthma, being the oldest skipper, his massive K12 education program, and because of his heartfelt and honest hints to get off the couch and participate in the world. The book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Epic, September 9, 2012
By 
I have had the good fortune not only to read Rich Wilson's book but over the last few years I have gotten to know the man himself. I have been on a calm day sail in Maine on the Vendee Globe racing boat, been to Rich Wilson's lectures and watched his video of the race. I can't imagine what it was like - even after the video. The only 15 minutes of his epic voyage that I think I might have had the courage to enjoy was his triumphant return to France,

The book brings his experience to LIFE- BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for any sailor, June 18, 2014
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
Amazing read about courageous current day sailors. Gripping from the start and wondrous when one considers they were all solo sailors, both the men and the women. I'm in awe of their commitment, planning, and brilliance to survive this challenge. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My dad loves this!, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Race France to France: Leave Antarctica to Starboard: An American in the Vendée Globe, Racing Solo, Non-Stop, Around the World (Paperback)
I bought this as a Xmas gift for my dad, who's a big fan of nautical adventure stories and an engineer who enjoys the technical side of sailing. He's been gushing about how great and amazing this book is - and about a race he's never heard of before. The adventures the author went through sound absolutely mind boggling - to sail solo around the world, and in a race. He's now sharing it with all his buddies. He's going to mail it to me after it makes the rounds so I can read it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exhilerating Read, February 3, 2014
By 
Jim Kerney (Cape Elizabeth, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a fast paced and thrilling read taking us on a heroic journey through some of the most challenging environments known to man. Terrific story, great pictures, and moving end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.