Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small town, a shallow grave, an ancient evil.
Rachel is having a really bad day. She woke up in a shallow grave, mostly dead.

She goes to talk to the people she trusts, but her day gets weirder and weirder, and people keep dying. Meanwhile, in a parallel story, a little girl is also having a terrible day. When Rachel and Zoe run into each other, it just gets worse and worse.

I loved this story...
Published 24 months ago by Heidi Waterhouse

versus
0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty generic. Been there, done that, a thousand times better.
I was completely underwhelmed by this. Felt very juvenile in execution. Poor plodding and cliche after cliche. Not very creepy.
Published 12 months ago by Langer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small town, a shallow grave, an ancient evil., April 19, 2012
By 
Heidi Waterhouse (Minneapolis, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rachel is having a really bad day. She woke up in a shallow grave, mostly dead.

She goes to talk to the people she trusts, but her day gets weirder and weirder, and people keep dying. Meanwhile, in a parallel story, a little girl is also having a terrible day. When Rachel and Zoe run into each other, it just gets worse and worse.

I loved this story because it was creepy and interesting. I loved that, as usual, Moore creates a variety of characters who happen to be women, who are not all alike. Very little reference exists to their sexual commodity pricing.

I am not very good at decoding comics images, so I struggled a bit with Rachel and a character who looks very much like her, but it turns out there is a story reason for that, so I let it go. Other than that, there are enough identifying characteristics to tell everyone apart. The art is evocative, clear, and detailed.

Read if: You like Terry Moore's work. You are willing to exist in suspense. You want to support an author with multiple, diverse female characters.

Skip if: Creepy devil snake will give you nightmares. You are suspicious of setups that sound a little Stephen King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Magic With the Turn of a Page, September 24, 2011
This review is from: Rachel Rising #1 (Comic)
When I finally got my issue in the mail the only dissapointment I had was that the staple made the front cover rub off where it was. My cover should match the perfection of its contents. Each frame is a work of art on its own! I absolutely love the way Mr. Moore leads his readers from one event to the next. His characters, no matter how small of a part they hold, have such a presence that you wish you were in each page. What most tend not to state is the quality of the comic structure itself. The pages aren't thin and flimsy which is sooooooo nice for collector/readers. This is not poorly made. A definite suggestion to new and old readers of comic books. : Pick one up today!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Promising Start, January 6, 2013
Wow, this book really surprised me. I only have a passing familiarity with Terry Moore's work and I'm not the biggest horror fan but I picked this up on a whim and was totally impressed.

First and foremost, Moore's art is fantastic. The panel design and layout is brilliant. The detail is fantastic, whether it's small details in the dirt or the gory nuances of a decapitation. The characters are easily distinguished (another reviewer mentioned Rachel and another character looking alike, but as they said, that's something of a plot device so it gets a pass) which in a black and white book can be difficult to accomplish.

The story really grabs the reader. In short, without giving any major details away, Rachel wakes up dead. She has very little memory of the moments leading up to her demise and goes back to her town to try to figure out how/why she's dead. In the mean time, strange and often violent things are happening around town that have some connection to her death and apparent resurrection. While that might not sound like much, the way Moore slowly doles out details and introduces the cast keeps it moving along at a good pace. Plus, the brief snippets of Rachel's "final" moments are seemingly building toward a big reveal or payoff down the road.

The story is by no means complete and "Shadow of Death" ends with you, the reader, wanting more. I'm not sure how many parts Terry Moore has planned for this series, but I'm hooked. I finished the first volume and am looking forward to getting the second. Great buy and easily one of the best comics being published right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a Horror comic, April 1, 2012
I've been reading this series since issue # 1 hit my comic store. The comic starts with Rachel waking up in shalow grave. She has no clue as to what's happened to her. From there, Rachel is trying to figure out what has happened to her. Fill with all kinds of characters, which really drive the story.

If you like Echo, you'll like this.

If you just like horror you'll probably like it.

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart literary horror, November 10, 2013
The visual pauses between the action are really well executed, covering pages at times with no words needed. The non-linear storyline didn't feel contrived as it often does in other comics. The art is wonderful, too, but perhaps the best thing about this book is its refusal to bore the reader with backstory and exposition. It dives right in from the jarring first pages; the reader feels as if he or she has stumbled into an interesting series of events. The author reveals just enough to sate the reader's appetite for answers, but never too much to dull the suspense and mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, January 8, 2013
The awards that rachel rising has earned are well deserved. The artwork is gorgeous and the story is clever and exciting. I can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing story!, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great story. The first six chapters are in this volume and now that I know that, I already went down to my local comic book store to order six through ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, June 23, 2012
Always been a fan of Terry Moore's work. And Rachel Rising is a very spooky story. Cant wait to read more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serialized Fiction, August 31, 2011
By 
Joe Franklin (Warrensburg, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rachel Rising #1 (Comic)
If you are fan of the comic book medium and serialized fiction, you are going to love this comic book. Independent comic book veteran Terry Moore is in perfect form here. There will be obvious references to his Strangers in Paradise work (strong, female lead character), but don't let that shy you away from this. There's a reason why SiP was such a hit in the 90s and the 00s! Enjoy the mystery as Moore takes you on (for what I can only hope to be) a very long ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just discovered terry moore, September 21, 2013
i just discovered this comic artist in a 2013 comic anthology. i got his comics to start working my way through him. i am now up to date on this one and i find it fascinating. rachel wakes up in a shallow grave in the woods and makes her way back home and then on to see her aunt. the problemis that Rachel is not entirely alive nor is she entirely dead. there was a strange woman looking at her in the shallow grave who resembled her a great deal. the story gets progressively stranger from there. for one, Rachel's twilight state is not unique to just her.

the art work on this is first rate as is the writing. the covers are beautiful i have more terry moore comics stacked up here for me to read so i will be busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa194a234)

This product

Rachel Rising #1
Rachel Rising #1 by Terry Moore (Comic - 2011)
Used & New from: $299.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.