Robin non-member

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.85 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Rachmaninoff: The Transcriptions [Import]

Sergei Rachmaninoff , Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov , Fritz Kreisler , Georges Bizet , Modeste Mussorgsky , J.S.Bach , Felix Mendelssohn , Piotr Il'ich Tchaikovsky , Howard Shelley Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Howard Shelley
  • Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Fritz Kreisler, Georges Bizet, Modeste Mussorgsky, et al.
  • Audio CD (November 19, 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZPC
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #450,289 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: The Flight of the Bumblebee
2. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Liebesleid
3. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Minuet, From 'L' Arlesienne' Suite No. 1
4. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Wohin?
5. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Hopak
6. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Prelude, From Violin Partita In E Major
7. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Gavotte, From Violin Partita In E major
8. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Gigue, From Violin Partita In E Major
9. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Daisies, Op. 38 No. 3
10. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Scherzo, From 'A Midsummer Nights's Dream'
11. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Lilacs, Op. 21 No. 5
12. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Polka de V R
13. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Lullaby, Op. 16 No. 1
14. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Liebesfreud
15. Rachmaninov: The Transcriptions: Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov transcriptions June 13, 2000
This recording is uncomparable. None of these transcriptions is easy to perform, but Shelley's playing sounds like pure music and is never a demonstration of his technical abilities (this can only be achieved by best pianists). Unfortunately the Rachmaninov transcriptions and arrangements for solo piano are very limited (14), and one of his best pieces (Vocalise) had never been transcribed for piano by the composer. So Shelley adds to this album his performance of Vocalise transcribed by Zoltan Kocsis. I personally think it is better than the Zoltan Kocsis' own performance. Rachmaninov' songs arranged by the author (Daisies, Lilacs) are brilliant. Their readings by Shelley are not inferior to that of Rachmaninov. Unfortunately, in "Shelley plays Rachmaninov" series the transciptions for four hands are missing, but the whole collection including works for piano and orchestra is strongly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
This disc from 1991 is such a masterly traversal of the Rachmaninov transcriptions that it makes comparisons seem pointless. The coverage itself is comprehensive, the playing demonstrates a comprehensive technical assurance coupled with a complete empathy with Rachmaninov's style of piano writing. If that were not enough, the performance side of the disc has been matched by sound engineering that seems as faultless twenty years later as it did when first issued.

This is as close to a rave review as it is possible to get and is therefore a completely rare thing in my long list of reviews. There is little else I can suggest other than to consider this disc most strongly for potential purchase.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase
Howard Shelley is one of today's best pianists. Hyperion is one of the world's most important recording companies, recording much beautiful classical music that has been neglected by others. Everything here is just fine: playing, recording, notes, and delightful music.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous transcriptions May 6, 2010
As a pianist, I have always been a great admirer of Rachmaninoff's work. (Who couldn't?) These transcriptions must rank amont his best works for the keyboard. Particularly Mendelssohn's Summer Night's Dream is played here with such brilliancy and determination that I cannot but listen in total awe at the mastery of technique and expression by Howard Shelley. (see another version by Alexander Paley, equally gorgeous, but none as close to this speed and control, to see what I mean). A real must-have for piano lovers!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category