Kindle Price: $6.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Racing in the Rain Kindle Edition

980 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$6.99

Length: 309 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $11.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready
Age Level: 8 - 12 Grade Level: 3 - 7

Summertime is Book Time
Discover our hand-selected picks of the best books for kids of all ages. Browse by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer. Enzo is a lab terrier mix plucked from a farm outside Seattle to ride shotgun with race car driver Denny Swift as he pursues success on the track and off. Denny meets and marries Eve, has a daughter, Zoë, and risks his savings and his life to make it on the professional racing circuit. Enzo, frustrated by his inability to speak and his lack of opposable thumbs, watches Denny's old racing videos, coins koanlike aphorisms that apply to both driving and life, and hopes for the day when his life as a dog will be over and he can be reborn a man. When Denny hits an extended rough patch, Enzo remains his most steadfast if silent supporter. Enzo is a reliable companion and a likable enough narrator, though the string of Denny's bad luck stories strains believability. Much like Denny, however, Stein is able to salvage some dignity from the over-the-top drama. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.” (Jodi Picoult)

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.” (Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants)

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.” (Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True)

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.” (Portland Oregonian)

Product Details

  • File Size: 738 KB
  • Print Length: 309 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (May 3, 2011)
  • Publication Date: May 3, 2011
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004CFA9R8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #27,865 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Garth Stein is the author of four novels: the New York Times bestselling gothic/historical/coming-of-age/ghost story, "A Sudden Light;" the internationally bestselling "The Art of Racing in the Rain;" the PNBA Book Award winner, "How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets;" and the magically realistic "Raven Stole the Moon." He is also the author of the stage play, "Brother Jones." He has a dog, he's raced a few cars, climbed a bunch of really tall trees, made a few documentary films, and he lives in Seattle with his family. He's co-founder of Seattle7Writers.org, a non-profit collective of 74 Northwest authors working together to energize the reading and writing public.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

81 of 86 people found the following review helpful By Lynda Polk on May 7, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
As someone who is involved with racing, I can tell that Garth has done his homework here. As a general animal-lover, I couldn't imagine how the title could relate to a dog. This is easy to read - short chapters that consolidate various thoughts and actions. In fact, I couldn't put it down. I read the entire thing in 2 sittings, starting on the flight home from a race, irritated that I had to turn my Kindle off during landing.

The story involves a guy who is an amateur racer - SCCA and that type - but still has a day job. He dreams of hitting the big time, and shares his thoughts and dreams with Enzo, his dog. The two share life's trials and tribulations, through Denny's marriage and what comes afterwards. All through Enzo's eyes.

The story takes some harsh and unhappy turns. I found myself thinking that it was a sad story, but after I finished, it somehow stayed with me. I kept thinking about it, and it grew on me. I ended up thinking what a great story it turned out to be. It does take a surprise turn at the last minute. I should have seen it coming, but didn't.

I would recommend this story, even if you're not a racer, or a dog. Easy to ready, good moral story, and more thought-provoking than you think it will be.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
66 of 72 people found the following review helpful By Katearama on December 16, 2012
Format: Paperback
I read this book in order to preview for my advanced-reader 3rd grader, knowing full well that this was an adaptation for young readers of an immensely popular adult novel that I had heard raved about. I have not read the original adult version, only this one (the kids' one).... Boy, am I glad I did! I, myself, loved the book (this one, for kids); it was a real tear-jerker, poignant, not really about a dog, liked it even though I'm not into car racing, etc. Everything all the 5-star reviewers said!

HOWEVER, the main premise of the story is so heavy and depressing, and I would imagine quite unsettling for the average 9-year-old, that I cannot fathom giving it to my children to read before they are at least in their teens. It does turn out happy in the end, which I'm glad for--otherwise I don't think I could have handled it myself--but it sure is a heck of a ride to get there. One that my children need not be exposed to at this point.

Here's my spoiling summary, in case you want to know what happens: It starts out with the dog old and decrepid and lying in a puddle of his own urine, near death, and ready to go--keep in mind he's got human thought processes being shared with the reader. Then it jumps back to the rest of the dog's life, during which the wife/mother ignores symptoms of a brain tumor, then finally gets diagnosed, the husband is duped into letting his wife live with her parents to live out her dying days (which turns out to be eight months), and even further duped into letting the kindergartner live with them too, under the guise of her spending more time with the dying mother. The husband is starting to be pushed out.
Read more ›
17 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful By wbentrim VINE VOICE on July 15, 2011
Format: Paperback
Racing in the Rain, My Life as a Dog by Garth Stein

This is a painfully poignant story narrated by a dog. If you like soupy books and love dogs, prepare your reading time with a full box of tissues.

This is the story of a family and their dog. A dog that just knows that his next revolution on the wheel of creation he is going to have opposable thumbs and vocal cords uses his insight and narrative skills to tell the story.

The story is moving and characterizes the value of perseverance, patience and tenacity. Love can not conquer all but love can sustain life. Driving race cars provide Denny and Enzo metaphors for living their lives. This story can teach compassion and a willingness to help others.

This is purported to be a kid's book and admittedly the reading level is hardly taxing. However it is emotionally charged and could be a bit intense for the younger reader. (Remember Ole Yeller?)

Although this book could easily be read by the literate first grader I would not recommend it for the primary grades. I think it would be fine for the upper elementary grades and on up. I enjoyed it but then there have always been questions regarding my maturity level.

I recommend the book, it is inspiring, sad and satisfying.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful By Christy on May 7, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved the adult version "The Art of Racing in the Rain", it's a book that will forever be on my keeper shelf! It was such a wonderful story that I was so excited to get this version for my son. He is a mature 12 year old but I felt more comfortable with him reading this one. He just keeps telling me how great of a book it is!! I will admit that both of us cried but it left us with smiles on our faces and an overall sense of happiness!
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Vanilla Ice on December 7, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is the **CHILDRENS BOOK VERSION** which is exactly what I needed but its not made very clear in the description. Make sure you search for "art" in the title to find the regular version. That is all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Loves to Read/Loves to Teach on August 25, 2011
Format: Paperback
This book came highly recommended by a friend. And while my husband and I both loved the story, I really don't think it was intended to be a children's book. As an elementary reading teacher, I think my students would be very disturbed by some of the subject matter in the story.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?