Racing in the Rain and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$4.06
Qty:1
  • List Price: $6.99
  • Save: $2.93 (42%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Racing in the Rain: My Life as a Dog Paperback


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.06
$2.63 $0.01 $19.99

Frequently Bought Together

Racing in the Rain: My Life as a Dog + The Book Thief + The Fault in Our Stars
Price for all three: $21.39

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
  • The Book Thief $7.33
  • The Fault in Our Stars $10.00

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 7
  • Lexile Measure: 720L (What's this?)
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (May 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780062015761
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062015761
  • ASIN: 0062015761
  • Product Dimensions: 2.9 x 2.1 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (563 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,806 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer. Enzo is a lab terrier mix plucked from a farm outside Seattle to ride shotgun with race car driver Denny Swift as he pursues success on the track and off. Denny meets and marries Eve, has a daughter, Zoë, and risks his savings and his life to make it on the professional racing circuit. Enzo, frustrated by his inability to speak and his lack of opposable thumbs, watches Denny's old racing videos, coins koanlike aphorisms that apply to both driving and life, and hopes for the day when his life as a dog will be over and he can be reborn a man. When Denny hits an extended rough patch, Enzo remains his most steadfast if silent supporter. Enzo is a reliable companion and a likable enough narrator, though the string of Denny's bad luck stories strains believability. Much like Denny, however, Stein is able to salvage some dignity from the over-the-top drama. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” (Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants)

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.” (Portland Oregonian)

“Splendid.” (People (3 ½ out of 4 stars))

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.” (Jodi Picoult)

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.” (Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants)

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.” (Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

A very heart warming story .there are plenty of parts that will make you cry.
Erin Brooke Vescovi
Racing in the Rain, My Life as a Dog by Garth Stein This is a painfully poignant story narrated by a dog.
W. Bentrim
I loved this book and would so highly recommend this to everyone who loves animals.
MB

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

65 of 70 people found the following review helpful By Lynda Polk on May 7, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
As someone who is involved with racing, I can tell that Garth has done his homework here. As a general animal-lover, I couldn't imagine how the title could relate to a dog. This is easy to read - short chapters that consolidate various thoughts and actions. In fact, I couldn't put it down. I read the entire thing in 2 sittings, starting on the flight home from a race, irritated that I had to turn my Kindle off during landing.

The story involves a guy who is an amateur racer - SCCA and that type - but still has a day job. He dreams of hitting the big time, and shares his thoughts and dreams with Enzo, his dog. The two share life's trials and tribulations, through Denny's marriage and what comes afterwards. All through Enzo's eyes.

The story takes some harsh and unhappy turns. I found myself thinking that it was a sad story, but after I finished, it somehow stayed with me. I kept thinking about it, and it grew on me. I ended up thinking what a great story it turned out to be. It does take a surprise turn at the last minute. I should have seen it coming, but didn't.

I would recommend this story, even if you're not a racer, or a dog. Easy to ready, good moral story, and more thought-provoking than you think it will be.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful By W. Bentrim VINE VOICE on July 15, 2011
Format: Paperback
Racing in the Rain, My Life as a Dog by Garth Stein

This is a painfully poignant story narrated by a dog. If you like soupy books and love dogs, prepare your reading time with a full box of tissues.

This is the story of a family and their dog. A dog that just knows that his next revolution on the wheel of creation he is going to have opposable thumbs and vocal cords uses his insight and narrative skills to tell the story.

The story is moving and characterizes the value of perseverance, patience and tenacity. Love can not conquer all but love can sustain life. Driving race cars provide Denny and Enzo metaphors for living their lives. This story can teach compassion and a willingness to help others.

This is purported to be a kid's book and admittedly the reading level is hardly taxing. However it is emotionally charged and could be a bit intense for the younger reader. (Remember Ole Yeller?)

Although this book could easily be read by the literate first grader I would not recommend it for the primary grades. I think it would be fine for the upper elementary grades and on up. I enjoyed it but then there have always been questions regarding my maturity level.

I recommend the book, it is inspiring, sad and satisfying.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Christy on May 7, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved the adult version "The Art of Racing in the Rain", it's a book that will forever be on my keeper shelf! It was such a wonderful story that I was so excited to get this version for my son. He is a mature 12 year old but I felt more comfortable with him reading this one. He just keeps telling me how great of a book it is!! I will admit that both of us cried but it left us with smiles on our faces and an overall sense of happiness!
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Katearama on December 16, 2012
Format: Paperback
I read this book in order to preview for my advanced-reader 3rd grader, knowing full well that this was an adaptation for young readers of an immensely popular adult novel that I had heard raved about. I have not read the original adult version, only this one (the kids' one).... Boy, am I glad I did! I, myself, loved the book (this one, for kids); it was a real tear-jerker, poignant, not really about a dog, liked it even though I'm not into car racing, etc. Everything all the 5-star reviewers said!

HOWEVER, the main premise of the story is so heavy and depressing, and I would imagine quite unsettling for the average 9-year-old, that I cannot fathom giving it to my children to read before they are at least in their teens. It does turn out happy in the end, which I'm glad for--otherwise I don't think I could have handled it myself--but it sure is a heck of a ride to get there. One that my children need not be exposed to at this point.

Here's my spoiling summary, in case you want to know what happens: It starts out with the dog old and decrepid and lying in a puddle of his own urine, near death, and ready to go--keep in mind he's got human thought processes being shared with the reader. Then it jumps back to the rest of the dog's life, during which the wife/mother ignores symptoms of a brain tumor, then finally gets diagnosed, the husband is duped into letting his wife live with her parents to live out her dying days (which turns out to be eight months), and even further duped into letting the kindergartner live with them too, under the guise of her spending more time with the dying mother. The husband is starting to be pushed out.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Vanilla Ice on December 7, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is the **CHILDRENS BOOK VERSION** which is exactly what I needed but its not made very clear in the description. Make sure you search for "art" in the title to find the regular version. That is all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Loves to Read/Loves to Teach on August 25, 2011
Format: Paperback
This book came highly recommended by a friend. And while my husband and I both loved the story, I really don't think it was intended to be a children's book. As an elementary reading teacher, I think my students would be very disturbed by some of the subject matter in the story.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa1adaf54)