Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Radar Man: A Personal His... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Calphil
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: paperback with minor wear
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $1.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Radar Man: A Personal History of Stealth Paperback – October 5, 2010

4 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$21.95
$18.77 $17.00

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
"When Breath Becomes Air" by Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question - What makes a life worth living? Learn more | See related books
$21.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: iUniverse (October 5, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1450248020
  • ISBN-13: 978-1450248020
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,408,757 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
In 1960, after the Russians downed Gary Powers' U2, an airplane that used high altitude as its primary defense, the need for new stealthy technologies became eminently apparent. Little did the world know that work was already in progress on a successor aircraft at that time. Radar Man is the life story of Ed Lovick, the man who became the chief advisor to Lockheed Skunk Work's Kelly Johnson and how he and his small team were able to develop methods of reducing the RCS (Radio Cross Section) enough to subsequently increase its survivability against the Russian's Surface to Air Missile (SAM) and Air to Air (AAM) missile attacks. This book documents the story of those technological developments in an easily read, layman's-term narrative. Ed intertwines his personal history, with the technologies and developments that were used, along with his unique perspective of the events, humorous incidents, and people with whom he worked.

In the fall of 1957, Ed joined the Lockheed Skunks Works, and was part of a small team of scientists tasked by Kelly to study ways to increase the survivability of the U-2 by reducing its RCS. During the following two year effort, Ed describes what was done to the U-2 as well as studies of other aircraft configurations that could survive this Russian threat. In 1959, the A-12 was born when the Skunk Works study report concluded that a high degree of airplane survivability could be achieved as follows: "A strong recommendation for a very high speed, very high altitude flight to hinder radar detection in addition to incorporation of materials and shaping in the original designs to reduce radar reflectivity.
Read more ›
Comment 14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The rest is great if you're up on radio theory. The first third is like sitting at your grandpa's knee. There are stories about when he was little doing stuff with his buddies. The go off on tangents that end abruptly with no real end. Once the book gets into the technological side of things that's where the great stuff is. If you have a knowledge of radio theory it's a VERY interesting look at how early stealth was achieved and how later aircraft just might achieve that today.

The highlight for me was the story behind the design decisions behind the F-117 and why the angles were designed in their very very specific configurations. It's not the reason you think.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
For anybody interested in radar/electronics this book should be right up your alley also. Its pretty interesting looking back and seeing how serious the engineers used to be at SkunkWorks. Would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in defense history even if they don't have a physics/electronics background. The physics in the book makes it just that much better though if you have an idea of what's going on.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Edward Lovick shares facts, his knowledge and some humor in his book: Radar Man as he and others tested and created their stealth designs while working for Kelly Johnson on the Lockheed Black Birds. War-Bird Buffs would love this book as I did. It's most informative on the subject of Stealth.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Radar Man: A Personal History of Stealth
This item: Radar Man: A Personal History of Stealth
Price: $21.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com