Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any high energy experimental physicist!
This Tome contains so much useful information on the art and science of radiation detection that I hardly can believe I got along without it. Don't let the steep price discourage you. This book is a must-have for any high energy experimental physics graduate student or even undergraduate. It fills many of the gaps between traditional course books and real-world...
Published on July 31, 1997

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Wiley & Sons, Inc sank the rating
A great book but with many, many, and not all corrected in the extensive, yet not definitive, errata list. Make sure you contact the editor for it. I mean, a table of content with page references that don't match, whole chunk of text missing at the very beginning of chapter 14, and then missing words (easy to spot, they left a blank! And I have not read it from cover...
Published on October 27, 2009 by Not Dr. Asimov!


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any high energy experimental physicist!, July 31, 1997
By A Customer
This Tome contains so much useful information on the art and science of radiation detection that I hardly can believe I got along without it. Don't let the steep price discourage you. This book is a must-have for any high energy experimental physics graduate student or even undergraduate. It fills many of the gaps between traditional course books and real-world experience and has a series of encyclopedic bibliographies to boot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Wiley & Sons, Inc sank the rating, October 27, 2009
A great book but with many, many, and not all corrected in the extensive, yet not definitive, errata list. Make sure you contact the editor for it. I mean, a table of content with page references that don't match, whole chunk of text missing at the very beginning of chapter 14, and then missing words (easy to spot, they left a blank! And I have not read it from cover to cover yet as this turned me off, so who knows what else got missed. And if you are a student, wait until you try to use a formula that has not been printed correctly. Great author, great text, lousy editing and printing. Maybe wait for the fourth edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to radiation detection, September 10, 2010
This review is from: Radiation Detection and Measurement (Hardcover)
Quite simply, this book is indispensable for nuclear engineers, health physicists, plasma and high energy physicists, and anyone else that works with ionizing radiation detectors on a regular basis.

I have taught a lab course for junior undergraduate and beginning graduate students at a university using the 3rd edition of this book, and found its explanations comprehensive and technically sound. When students didn't understand the concepts presented in class, I found later that more often than not they hadn't read the book thoroughly or attempted the end-of-chapter problems. If I get the opportunity to teach a similar class, I look forward to using the 4th edition.

The book has also been a handy resource for my research, mostly chapter 3, which explains counting statistics in a succinct, understandable way that pure mathematics textbooks typically lack.

The 4th edition fixes a lot of the errata from the 3rd edition, but otherwise is largely unchanged. That's not a bad thing, as the 3rd edition was still excellent. There is some new and updated material as well.

I bought the 3rd edition used and later wished I hadn't, as I got a lot of use out of the book and it became damaged rather easily. I got the 4th edition new, and I expect it to be on my shelf for decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of the field., August 7, 2002
By 
This book is a must for anyone working in the field of
radiation detection, and contains a clear, readable description
of the working principles of quite a lot of detector types.
The weaker point is the description of the associated front
end (analogue) electronics that goes with those detectors: it
is a bit concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and excellent, May 27, 2012
Knoll's 4th edition is exceedingly good, both comprehensive and very readable. This text provides details and tables in sources, detectors, and methods. It is essential for anyone doing radiation detection for medicine, nuclear physics, even high energy physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference, September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Radiation Detection and Measurement (Hardcover)
An excellent reference text for radiation detection. I've only used it as a reference to gain more details about specific detectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, detailed on the subject matter and readable, December 3, 1998
By A Customer
This is an excellent text and considered the prime source for an detailed overview of it's field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for someone in nuclear field, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Radiation Detection and Measurement (Hardcover)
Must-have textbook for anyone in the nuclear physics/engineering field. It's very well-written and informative -- atypical to a lot of nuclear-related textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Radiation Detection and Measurement (Hardcover)
Knoll's book about Radiation Detection and Measurement is a must have for any instrumentation professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book service, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great service, fast and was more like new instead of good, no need to improve this is taking to long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Radiation Detection and Measurement
Radiation Detection and Measurement by Glenn F. Knoll (Hardcover - August 16, 2010)
$144.27
In stock on February 4, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.