Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Radical Disciple: Father Pfleger, St. Sabina Church, and the Fight for Social Justice (Roman Catholicism Roman Cathol)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2013
Fr. Michael Pfleger is a constant in an inconstant circumstance - American society. This is a priest that is all that a Pastor should be and a whole lot more. His Christianity has "Christ" in it - and his actions speak volumes (and so do his spoken words). Nevertheless he has been harassed by his Diocese's leadership and even given an involuntary "leave". Chicago's South Side is more livable because of his presence.

I am an agnostic whose husband once told me I was the "best Christian" he knew based on how I live my life. But, believe me, I am extremely humbled by Fr. Pfleger - he is a giant in a world that needs more "Christianity" (persons who live their life in the ways taught by the Christ). He is a hero in a world that needs more heroes - and which also needs to realize that a hero is not a person who can earn millions of dollars because they happen to be good at a sport, etc., but rather a person who truly loves his fellow persons and strives to make the "equality" our country was supposedly founded on true equallty! If you don't know who Fr. Pfleger is, but have any interest in race relations, and in seeing that the generations following us are better than ours (and his), then this is a must read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
There are SO many disturbing parallels between the 'Reverend' Jim Jones and his Peoples Temple and 'Father' Michael Pfleger and St. Sabina's. From the excessively long, multi-hour services that are Marxist political indoctrination, to the friendship with the odious Farrakhan, to the narcissistic Pfleger's insatiable need for government funding, mainstream media publicity and misusage of the church - I could go on, but it is certainly quite disturbing and eye-opening. The Religious Left, which has infected nearly all mainstream churches today with its doctrines of leftist envy, grievances and associated bile, is nowhere more powerful than within St. Sabina's.

STAY AWAY from 'Father' Pfleger!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
Author Robert McClory is not just a biographer; he is also a reporter. In fact he is a professor emeritus of one of the nation's top schools of journalism at Northwestern University. So, McClory, admittedly an admirer of Michael Pfleger, still looks at his subject with the detached eye of a veteran journalist.

There is no way this book could have been titled,"St Michael Pfleger of Saint Sabina Church".

Included among the assessments of Pfleger are some that are downright negative. Jim Bowman, himself a reporter, visited the Sunday liturgy at Saint Sabina. His description of Mass there: "The people embrace a virtually non-sensical worship service full of loud music and emotive display.---The preaching was by slogan, often shouted." (pgs 148-149).

Nevertheless, I challenge you to read this book that I highly recommend. Read and see if you can see a reflection of Christ in the person and the work of Father Michael Pfleger. Cardinal Bernadin once "quietly" attended Mass at St Sabina. Later he told Pfleger that the Massl had been "one of the most spiritual experiences of his life". "Those people really love Jesus", he said. Subsequently Bernadin asked a meeting of priests if people found Jesus when they come to their Church--and if not, why not, what did they find and why do they come?

Some highlights of the book for me: The seminary rector visits Pfleger and asks him to return to the seminary after his decision to give up on becoming a priest.--St Sabina receives no subsidy from the Archdiocese of Chicago; Sunday collections exceed $30,000.--Pfleger will have no part of bingo or spaghetti dinners;--there is no regularly scheduled weekday Mass.--Pfleger is opposed to all abortion but has little tolerance for pro-lifers who crusade against abortion but do little or nothing for those alive outside the womb.--Pastor Pfleger will not conduct a wedding for cohabiting couples. They must live in separate quarters for at least six months before the wedding.--Pfleger has extremely qualified assistants--their theological and managerial credentials are superb.--Among the clergymen Pfleger most admires: Minister Louis Farrakhan, Reverend Jeremiah Wright, and Father Ed McLaughlin.

If you read this book, and I hope you will, you will surely begin to read with and already formed opinion of Father Michael Pfleger (especially if you live anywhere near Chicago). See if that opinion hasn't changed when you have finished.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
F.r. Mike Pfleger is the real deal; God bless him and his work. He is the kind of priest Pope Francis is talking about: in the streets with his people.
Some people say Christianity has been tried, and failed. I think it's never been really, seriously tried. More of us need to be like Fr. Mike. Great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
The story of Father Pfleger demonstrates the true universal character of the Catholic Church; the Catholic Church is not just a church of the white man. This book captures the application of Catholic Social Doctrine to the real life situations of the people living in South-side Chicago. Phleger is portrayed as a man committed to social justice for the long haul, but Radical Disciple: Father Pfleger, St. Sabina Church, and the Fight for Social Justice (Roman Catholicism Roman Cathol)also as a man who makes mistakes. A must read for any Catholic who wants to understand authentic Catholic ministry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
>>>..."RADICAL DISCIPLE : Father Pfleger (@MichaelPfleger on Twitter), St. Sabina Church and the Fight for Social Justice", authored by Robert McClory, Renown Journalist, etc. is a book of 13+ Chapters, 208+ Pages with some Insights into an Exceptional, Remarkable, etc. Man-Of-GOD, based in Chicago, Illinois, USA!!!...>>> Father Pfleger, in the spirit & tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and other great prophetic Christian figures in American life & history, is a Man-Of-GOD & a RADICAL DISCIPLE of JESUS CHRIST, and by your reading "RADICAL DISCIPLE", YOU will get to know a little of Father Pfleger by reading this book...>>> However, if YOU can come to Chicago and ATTEND his Sunday AM services and join with him in those services and / or ACCESS his services ONLINE, etc., YOU will know why those services, with him, can and will change your life fRadical Disciple: Father Pfleger, St. Sabina Church, and the Fight for Social Justice (Roman Catholicism Roman Cathol)or the better!!!...
>>>...>>> However, A First Suggestion <<< INVEST / PURCHASE "RADICAL DISCIPLE :...Fight for Social Justice"!!!...>>> NOW / TODAY...>>> As YOU Read, Learn & Understand about Father Pfleger, YOU will be better for it by becoming an Active, Contributing, Participating Citizen of Humankind on Mother Earth!!!...>>> Going Forward, Make Today The First Day of the Rest of your Life!...Make Your Days Count!...Carpe Diem / Seize The Day!...>>> Our Time Is Our Only Non-Recoverable Resource!!!...>>> Michael!......
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
This is a very good book about Fr. Pfleger. It gives the reader an insight into his life and why he continues to do what he can to help make the world a better place.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2010
Since the wide circulation of a short YouTube video during the recent presidential race in which Father Michael Pfleger mimicked Hilary Clinton to make a point about the very real issue of assumed racial privileges in our country, Father has been lambasted. Ironically, his most vocal detractors seem to have been anti-Clinton Catholics, who have assumed incorrectly that he supported abortion and otherwise assumed his activism to promote justice was anti-Catholic. If it is anti-Catholic to fight for the poor, to protect the downtrodden, to feed the hungry, to supply housing for the homeless, to protect victims of violence, then Father Pfleger is certainly guilty as charged. No person or group of people deserves to be threatened with constant violence in their community. The work he has accomplished, continues to accomplish on behalf of the congregation he serves are the very tenets upon which Catholicism is based. The extent to which this priest is criticized is, I feel, the extent to which racism is alive and well in our country and I am sad to point out, even among some within the church. The foundation he has built will nevertheless become a firmament upon which a more integrated and accepting nation and church will, I hope and believe, be built. Robert McClory, a former St. Sabina priest himself, has written a balanced account of Father Pfleger's history, vision and challenges that I feel any person who is interested in the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. should study. Challenges present opportunities: in the area of social justice, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Father Pfleger and others have presented a long term vision, but in order to create that world where there is peace and justice for all, work remains. If this book inspires you, please consider joining the cause.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
As we approach Martin Luther King, Jr.'s national observance day, I have just finished this wonderful book. Both the subject of the book, and the author, I feel, are superb, Godly human beings, meeting the test of fairness and compassion, in my estimation. This legacy of MLK,Jr. should be noticed and explained,- as Robert McClory so aptly gives his intelligent, journalistic writing skills in the service there of.

Fr. Phleger is a prophet for our time, - imperfect as we all are, - but giving his all, with his gifts of preaching and skills for accomplishing social justice, with the people of present day St. Sabina. He starts his day with praying and moves forward with courage in activism.

Robert McClory's interviews with Fr. Phleger have brought out so many topics that people will find eye-opening: that Fr. Phleger thinks the Bible is the most social action book ever written; that he says there's a war right here in Chicago on our children; that he apologized for his satiric dramatization of Hillary Clinton in church; and that an award was given to Fr. Phleger by Cardinal George, among many other telling topics.

I truly recommend this noble biography to all those interested in social justice. To think about as you, hopefully, read this book, I close with this quote from a long ago pope:
"When we attend to the needs of those in want, we give them what is theirs, not ours. More than performing works of mercy, we are paying a debt of justice." - St. Gregory the Great
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
The book has Fr. Phleger as its prime subject, but its great and gripping story is really that of a community living their faith like very few others ever do. McClory presents the names and histories of the leaders of the Sabina community...their journeys away from the Catholic Church and back, or their discovery of a much deeper meaning in their lives with the help of this truly brave and charismatic priest. So, there are many stories in this book, all connected, and all wonderfully inspiring and illustrative of what we can do when we are authentically seeking to live what we claim to believe.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.