Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific cookbook
I am picky about cookbooks. Although I love reading them, a cookbook has to be not only beautiful, interesting and unique, it has to be useful for real people, real home cooks (like me) in real kitchens, feeding real families and friends. On all accounts, this beautiful book from accomplished chef and food writer Rozanne Gold is a winner.

First things first,...
Published on October 28, 2010 by Mom of Sons

versus
78 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This one's clearly for cooks more adventuresome than I. So please take my star rating with the appropriate grain of salt.
Let me say straight off that this is not what I personally consider a bonafide cookbook review. For several years I helped out with the annual cookbook review section published between Thanksgiving and Christmas by the newspaper where I worked. Each of us would get a cookbook category: desserts, appetizers, ethnic, regional, etc. to test and review. The rules were that...
Published on November 16, 2010 by Sharon Isch


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific cookbook, October 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I am picky about cookbooks. Although I love reading them, a cookbook has to be not only beautiful, interesting and unique, it has to be useful for real people, real home cooks (like me) in real kitchens, feeding real families and friends. On all accounts, this beautiful book from accomplished chef and food writer Rozanne Gold is a winner.

First things first, the book itself--and this is so important for a cookbook--is easy to read and use. The binding is high quality and the typeface and layout are easy and comfortable to read, and there are beautiful photos for almost every recipe. The book will lie open flat so you can cook from it without fumbling.

The recipes are wonderful--innovative without that tedious "I'm trying too hard here to come up with something new and different!" feeling in so many newer cookbooks. The recipes are geared toward quick preparation (15 minutes, 30 minutes) using fresh and simple whole foods, and even a few simple convenience foods, like canned beans and chickpeas, frozen peas and Dijon mustard. Fabulous.

I cannot wait to try: "Almost Confit" Chicken with Melted Garlic, Pork Chops and Apples with Madeira-Bay Butter Sauce, A New Way to Cook Broccoli: Charred & Tossed With Chilies and Garlic, Spiced Salmon on a Moroccan Salad...oh, heck, I think I may just start at "Bloody" Shrimp Cocktail and work my through to Double Raspberry Sorbet.

Recommendation: Excellent addition to a home cook's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Meets Global Sophistication, February 6, 2011
By 
S. D. Fischer (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold, author Rozanne Gold uses fresh ingredients in inventive combinations. She puts her own spin on well-known combinations such as frying the basil for Caprese salad. Many of the recipes are globally-inspired, including curries, Korean-style salmon with bok choy, crisped chicken with chimichurri, overnight tabbouleh with hard-boiled eggs, and poulet au crème fraiche.

These globally-inspired recipes call for ingredients that might be not found in the average cook's pantry. Readers with access to ethnic grocery stores and upscale supermarkets should be able to track down these more novel ingredients. Examples include kimchee, hiyashi wakame (seaweed salad), spices such as garam masala and asafetida, oils such as walnut and hazelnut, pomegranate molasses, nasturtium flowers, kefir lime leaves and wasabi powder. Some recipes call for alcohol (including anisette liquor, fino sherry, Madeira, brandy, Marsala, sake, white wine, mirin and others).

The instructions for each recipe are clear and brief. The author mentions in the introduction that the "procedures in virtually every recipe can be stated in fewer than 140 words." The recipes in each chapter are well organized into sections and in a logical order within the sections.

UPDATE (March 2011): The James Beard Foundation announced that Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold was chosen as a nominee for a 2011 James Beard Award in the General Cooking category.

I would have liked photos of more finished dishes included rather than repeating the same photos several times on one page. Two of the breakfast sweets are accompanied by a full page of photos - but instead of using two large photos, the same set of two small photos appears eight times. That was the same case as the photos of the juices and a few other dishes. To be fair, there are nearly 100 color photos (for 300+ recipes).

The first chapter, Brunch, is divided into three sections based on preparation time and includes the following recipes:

So Easy
* Seven Great Juice Blends
* Apple-Ginger-Pear Martinis
* "Bloody" Shrimp Cocktail
* Creamy, Lemony Eggs with Prosciutto
* Scrambled Eggs with Leeks & Sable
* Frittata with Pancetta, Red Onion & Mint
* Kimchee Frittata with Five-Spice Powder
* Steak & Eggs with Salsa Verde & Fontina
* Runny Eggs on Creamy Scallion-Bacon Grits
* Zucchini, Fresh Mozzarella & Sun-Dried Tomato Tart
* Smoked Trout on Frisee with Warm Bacon-Maple Vinaigrette
* Smoked Salmon, Basil & Lemon Quesadillas
* Herring Salad with Fennel, Crème Fraiche & Toasted Bread Crumbs
* Glazed Salmon & Wok Eggs with Shitakes
* Homemade Turkey Sausage
* Palacsintas with Apricot Jam & Powdered Sugar
* Caramelized Almond Toasts
* Warm Rhubarb Compote with Walnut-Coconut Crunch
* Peanut Butter-Granola Bruschetta
* Breakfast "Surprise"

Set Up Overnight
* Morning Fruit Soup with Tapioca
* Homemade Cream Cheese
* Carrot Marmalade
* Double-Rise Pancakes with Strawberries, Bananas & Almonds
* Overnight Tabbouleh with Hard-Boiled Eggs
* Cheese Strata with Prosciutto, Basil & Spinach

30 Minute Bakery
* Fresh Fruit Muffins: Blueberry, Cinnamon-Apple, or Pear
* Petit Pans Au Chocolat
* Fruit Chaussons
* Warm Buttermilk-Cheddar Scones
* Golden Raisin-Fennel Scones

The next chapter, 10-Minute Salads, is divided into three sections based on the type of salad plus one section on salad dressings. Recipes include:

Composed Salads
* Scallop Carpaccio with Seaweed Salad & Lemon Oil
* Tiradito
* Smoked Salmon with Petite Salade, Goat Cheese & Lime Viniagrette
* Spooned Avocado, Lime & Smoked Paprika
* Last-Minute Gravlax
* Spiced Salmon on a Moroccan Salad
* Watermelon Salad with Feta & Black Olives
* A Pair of Prosciutto Salads
* Tomato, Buffalo Mozzarella & Fried Basil Salad
* Heirloom Tomatoes with Lemony Tahini
* Summer Tomatoes with Zaatar Pesto
* Beets with Balsamic Syrup, Mint & Walnuts
* Chilled Asparagus Tonnato with "Confetti"
* Asparagus, Bok Choy & Radicchio Salad
* Shaved Fennel with Parmigiano & Hot Pepper
* Warm Wild Mushrooms on Hummus

Leafy Green Salads
* Spring Mix with Carrot-Ginger Dressing & Prosciutto "Bacon"
* Salade Normande
* Pea Shoots & Greens with Goat Cheese & Cumin Vinaigrette
* Watercress, Endive & St. Agur Blue Cheese
* Endive, Mache & Cranberry Salad with Parmesan Frico
* Lemony Arugula & Sun-Dried Tomato Salad with Smoked Mozzarella
* Baby Romaine & Crisp Chickpeas with Hazelnut Vinaigrette
* Grapefruit, Date & Arugula Salad with Parmesan Shards
* Fig, Fennel & Endive Salad with Pistachio Vinaigrette
* Grilled Romaine with Roquefort & Deviled Pecans
* Eggless Caesar Salad with Green Apple "Croutons"
* Arabic Orange Salad with Nasturtiums

Little Side Salads
* Eggplant and Roasted Red Pepper Salad with Feta
* Two-Cabbage Slaw
* Moroccan Carrots
* Couscous with Dates & Almonds
* Magic Beets
* Apple Cider Cucumbers
* Turkish Cucumbers
* Russian Red Bean Salad
* Italian White Bean Salad

Simple Dressings
* Carrot-Ginger Dressing
* Beet Vinaigrette
* Maple-Mustard Vinaigrette
* Lebanese Pomegranate Dressing
* Caesar-ette Dressing

The third chapter, Soups, is divided into four sections based on types of soup plus one on "grace notes" of accompaniments for soup.

5-Minute Soups
* Sweet Tomato-Watermelon Soup
* Avocado Soup with Fino Sherry
* Pink Tomato Frappes
* Tomato-Anisette Soup with Tarragon
* Cucumber-Coconut Bisque
* Beet Soup with Lemon Crème Fraiche
* Chickpea Flour Soup from Provence
* Ginger Bouillon with Enoki Mushrooms

Cold Soups
* Fragrant Asian Gazpacho
* Plum Tomato Gazpacho
* Cauliflower Vichyssoise with Chive Flowers
* Jade Soup with Lump Crab & Dill
* Asparagus Bisque with a Touch of India
* Green Pea-Wasabi Soup with Mint

Hot Soups
* Tortellini in Pesto Broth
* Onion Soup with Apple Cider & Thyme
* "Whole Buttered" Onion Soup
* Carrot Soup with Ginger & Crispy Carrot Tops
* Silky Corn Soup with Scallions & Green Apple
* Sweet Garlic-Fennel Bisque with Toasted Pine Nuts
* Broccoli Soup with Lemon-Pistachio Butter
* Sweet Potato-Rutabaga Soup with Toasted Pecans
* Split Pea Soup with Soppressata & Fresh Oregano
* Brie and Pear Soup, Brandied Cherries & Pears
* Parsnip-Apple Soup with "Bacon Candy"
* Pappa Al Pomodoro
* Truffled Asparagus Soup with Pineapple Reduction
* Calabaza Soup with Celery & Crispy Sage

Elemental Broths
* Corn Cob Broth
* Double-Strength Beef Broth
* Golden Chicken Broth
* "Beet" Broth

Grace Notes: Things That Go Well with Soup
* Olive Oil Biscuits
* Buttery Oatcakes
* Walnut-Onion Muffins
* Pappadams
* Tortilla Ribbons
* Basil-Scrubbed Toasts
* Barcelona Bread
* Fennel-Cumin Flatbreads
* Emergency Crackers

The next chapter, Pasta, features recipes divided into three sections:

10-Minute Fresh Pasta
* Linguine with Zucchini, Lemon Zest & Basil
* Pasta with Peppers, Pecorino & Pork Rinds
* Linguine with Pesto Rosso
* Fettuccini with Smoked Salmon, Crème Fraiche & Lemon
* Fettuccini with Tahini, Pine Nuts & Cilantro
* Capellini with Spicy Fish Sauce Marinara
* Pumpkin Ravioli with Crispy Sage & Walnut Butter
* Golden Fettuccine with Sardines, Fennel & Saffron
* Capellini with Chili Paste & Crispy Egg
* Angel Hair with Ginger Butter & Chives
* Tortellini with Yogurt, Mint & Smoked Paprika Oil

5-Ingredient Dried Pasta
* Spaghetti with Aged Gouda & Frozen Olive Oil
* Pimiento Mac
* Pasta Cooked in a Bottle of Wine
* A Recipes from 1841: Macaroni & Tomatoes
* Baked Ziti in Bianco with Fontina & Salami
* Perciatelli with French Breakfast Radishes, Bacon & Greens

20-Minute Dried Pasta
* Short Rigatoni with Cauliflower, Anchovies & Raisins
* "Thunder & Lightning"
* Castellane with Ricotta & Tomato-Marsala Sauce
* Pasta Rustica with Sole, Greek Olives & White Wine
* Campanelle with Caramelized Onions, Peas & Mint
* Fusilli with Braised Escarole, Garlic & Ricotta Salada
* Gemelli with Sausage, Leeks & Barely Wilted Spinach
* Warm Sesame Noodles with Ginger & Snow Peas

The fifth chapter, Fish, is divided into six sections based on type of seafood and includes recipes for:

Salmon
* Salmon with Cucumbers & Blackened Lemons
* 3-Minute Wasabi Salmon
* Salmon with Lime Leaves, Poppy Rice & Coconut Sauce
* Salmon & Mint in Crispy Grape Leaves
* Smoked & Fresh Salmon En Chemise
* Ginger's No-Ginger Salmon
* "Golden Robe" Salmon with Snow Peas & Red Cabbage
* Korean-Style Salmon "Bulgogi," Bok Choy & Shiitakes

Mod Cod
* Sauteed Cod with Chorizo, Orange & Wild Arugula, Sherry Vinaigrette
* Crunchy Crumbled Cod with Frozen Peas
* Braised Cod with "Sliced Tomato" Sauce & Fresh Oregano
* 500-Degree Cod with Macadamia Butter & Radicchio

Flat Fish & Halibut
* Sole Provencal with Petit Ratatouille
* "Silver Packet" Flounder with Miso Mayo
* Red Snapper with Pop-Pop Tomatoes
* Oven-Steamed Halibut with Carrots, Lemon & Thyme
* Roasted Halibut with Tomatoes & SaffronVinaigrette
* Halibut in Prosciutto Wrappers, Red Onions & Crispy Basil

Bass & Blues
* Fennel-Roasted Striped Bass, Tiny Tomatoes & Crispy Capers
* Chilean Sea Bass with Pistachio-Pesto Crust & Green Bean "Fries"
* Braised Black Sea Bass on Pancetta-Studded Cabbage
* Holy Mackerel
* Bluefish Salmoriglio with Red Pepper Julienne

Tuna & Swordfish
* Seared Tuna with Fresh Corn & Wasabi "Cream"
* Black & Blue Tuna with Garlic Asparagus& Yogurt-Caper Sauce
* Charred Tuna, Mizuna & Pear with Black Vinaigrette
* Grilled Tuna with Lemony Tahini, Greens & Pomegranate Seeds
* Swordfish Steaks with Sardine "Bolognese"
* Green Curry Swordfish with Shiitakes & Basil
* Roasted Swordfish with Tomatoes-on-the-Vine & Rosemary Tartare Sauce

Crustaceans
* Sheet-Pan Mussels with Red Curry-Garlic Broth
* Steamed Clams with Sake & Chilies
* Shrimp Escabeche with Blood Orange Mojo
* Riso in Blanco with Shrimp Scampi
* Seared Scallops on Sweet Pea Puree
* Salt-Water Lobsters, Healthy Drawn Butter

The next chapter, Poultry, is divided into four sections on chicken and one on turkey and features recipes for:

Chicken Breasts
* Asian Chicken with Scallions
* A Radically Simple Chicken Parmigiana
* BLT Chicken with Cumin Seed & Lime Mayonnaise
* Crisped Chicken with Chimichurri & Avocado
* Cardamom Chicken with Chickpea & Orange Couscous
* Miso Chicken with Fresh Ginger
* Red Curry-Coconut Chicken
* Sauteed Chicken with Roasted Grapes & Grape Demi-Glace
* Manchego Chicken with Prosciutto, Arugula & Pumpkin Seeds
* Chicken "Nuggets" with Sherry Vinegar & a Handful of Herbs

Chicken Thighs
* "Almost Confit" Chicken with Melted Garlic
* Chicken Thighs with Rosemary & Two Paprikas
* Chicken Zahav with Blackened Onions & Turmeric
* Chicken with Chorizo, Peppadews & Fino Sherry
* Chicken Ras El Hanout with Tomato-Ginger Chutney

Cut-Up Chicken Parts
* Poulet Au Crème Fraiche
* Blistered Chicken, Tandoori-Style
* Chicken with Prosciutto, Tomatoes & White Wine
* Chicken with Zaatar, Lemon & Garlic

Whole Chicken
* Chicken with Goat Cheese, Basil & Lavendar
* Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic, Anisette & Greens
* Velvet Chicken with Warm Asian Vinaigrette
* An Opinionated Way to Roast a Chicken

Turkey
* Bombay Turkey Sliders, Hurry-Curry Sauce
* Wined-and-Brined Turkey with Bay Leaves & Oregano
* Rolled-and-Tied Turkey Roast with Prosciutto, Prunes & Sage

The seventh chapter, Meat, is divided into sections based on the type of meat and features recipes for:

Juicy Pork
* Pork Chops with Radicchio Snippets & Cornichon Vinaigrette
* Garlic-Miso Pork Chops, Orange Peppers & Arugula
* Sticky Country Ribs with Orange, Molasses & Vinegar
* Pork Chops & Apples, Madeira-Bay Butter Sauce
* 18-Hour Pork Shoulder with Fennel, Garlic & Lemon
* "Peking" Pork with Scotch & Scallions
* Fennel Sausages with Wrinkled Grapes & Grape Extract
* Pork Loin in Cream with Tomatoes, Sage & Gin

Luscious Lamb
* Lamb Riblets with Sweet Asian Flavors
* Roast Rack of Lamb, Madeira-Peppercorn Reduction
* Lamb Shoulder with Figs, Lemon & Chartreuse
* Lamb Chops with Smoked Paprika Oil, Cumin & Arugula
* Double Lamb Chops with Mint & Ginger Crust
* Butterflied Lamb with Garam Marsala, Yogurt & Lime
* A Leg of Lamb & A Bottle of Chardonnay
* Lamb Shanks Provencal with Cabernet & Dried Mushrooms

Tender Veal
* Veal Chops with Sage Butter, Sunflower Seeds & Beet Drizzle
* Grilled Veal Chops with Prosciutto & Basil-Lemon Oil
* Veal Roast with Fresh Thyme & Honey Mustard Jus
* Veal Steaks "Stroganoff" with Shiitakes & Portobellos

The Best Beef
* Big Juicy Sun-Dried Tomato Burgers
* Flap, Hanger, or Skirt Steaks with Sumac
* Sirloin Steaks with Magic Green Sauce
* Sizzling Skirts with Lime, Basil & Sriracha
* Reddened Rib Eye with Pimiento Cheese
* New Asia Steak
* Tournedos Balsamico with Rosemary & Gorgonzola Dolce
* A Prime Rib of Beef
* Filet of Beef with Wasabi-Garlic Cream
* Tri-Tip Filet in Soy & Red Wine with Chinese Mustard
* Rib Roast in the Style of Gravlax
* Mahogany Short Ribs
* Beef Rendang
* Pot Roast with Burnt Onions & Kimchee

The next chapter, Vegetables & Side Dishes, is divided into two chapters based on cooking times and includes recipes for:

10 to 20 Minutes
* Roasted Asparagus with Bay Leaves & Crispy Capers
* Poached Asparagus with Lemon-Mint Panko
* Steamed Asparagus with Wasabi-Miso Butter
* Steamed Broccoli with Blue Cheese, Red Onion & Mint
* A New Way to Cook Broccoli: Charred & Tossed with Chilies & Garlic
* "Chipped Beets" & Beet Greens
* Jane Brody's Brussels Sprouts
* Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Medjool Dates
* Carrot "Nib" Orzo
* Carrots-and-Onions in High Humidity
* Milky Carrot & Parsnip Puree
* Roasted Sliced Cauliflower with Cheddar & Rosemary
* Whole Cauliflower, Ras El Hanout Crumble
* Swiss Chard with Lemony Tahina & Cashews
* "Green" Corn
* Steamed Fennel & Red Peppers with Garlic Oil & Lemon Zest
* Blasted Green Beans & Grape Tomatoes
* Steamed Parsnips with Toasted Almonds
* Peas & Couscous with Curry Oil
* Roasted French Breakfast Radishes
* Roasted Parsnip Fries
* Sauteed Peppers with Golden Raisins & Arugula
* Sheet-Pan Spinach
* Spinach, Ricotta & Basil Puree
* Sugar Snaps with Diced Bacon & Radishes
* Three Green Vegetables in High Humidity
* Stir-fried Watercress with Garlic Chips
* Pistachio-Coconut Rice

Slow & Easy
* Braised Red Cabbage with Cranberries
* Caramelized Cabbage & Noodles
* Crispy Shredded Potato Cakes
* Bay-Smoked Potatoes
* Creamy Potato Gratin
* Olive Oil-Mashed Potatoes
* Wasabi-Mashed Potatoes
* Rutabaga, Crème Fraiche & Havarti Torte
* Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Whipped Butter & Maple "Honey"
* Sweet Potato Puree with Fresh Ginger & Orange
* White Beans with Spinach, Tomatoes & Rosemary
* Tian of Eggplant, Tomato & Herbs
* "Creola" Rice

The final chapter is on Desserts and is divided into five sections based on type of desserts plus another section on quickly-prepared desserts. Featured recipes include:

10-Minute Desserts
* Peaches in Peach Schnapps with Basil
* Blueberries with Hibiscus Spice, Sugar Syrup
* Orange Flower Strawberries & Mint Sugar
* Watermelon "Carpaccio" with White Chocolate
* Pineapple Shingles with Caramel & Pistachio Dust
* Fresh Ricotta with Lemon Curd & Blackberries
* "Ceviche" of Spring Fruit with Sesame Seeds
* Tahina & Date Syrup Swirl, Fresh Apple Slices
* Watermelon, Raspberry & Pomegranate Salad
* Chocolate-Coconut Fondue, Fresh Fruit
* Fresh Figs & Shaved Halvah, Warm Honey Syrup
* Little Chocolate-Tahina Cups
* Chocolate, Parmigiano-Reggiano & Red Grapes
* More Fruit & Cheese Pairings

Cooked Fruit Desserts
* Apples to the 3rd Power
* Rhubarb & Candied Ginger Compote with Coconut Sorbet
* Absurdly Easy Coconut Sorbet
* Poached Pears with Marsala, Cinnamon & Vanilla
* Prunes & White Chocolate, Port Wine Reduction

Custards
* Pineapple Flan
* Chocolate "Pousse"
* Coconut-Espresso Crème Caramel
* White Chocolate Mousse with Apricot Compote

Tarts & Cakes
* Pear, Cherry & Pine Nut Tartlets
* All-Chocolate Velvet Tart
* E.A.T. (Easy Apple Tart)
* Almond Galettes with a Glass of Sherry
* Dutch Butter Ginger Cake
* French Yogurt Cake with Nutella
* Maple-Walnut Espresso Torte, Espresso-Lemon Syrup
* Coconut "Macaroon" Cake
* The "Little Black Dress" Chocolate Cake
* A Radically Simple Cheesecake

Cookies & More
* Hungarian Walnut Cookies
* A Giant Sugar Cookie
* Sesame Seed-Olive Oil Cookies
* Vietnamese Coffee
* Nutella Sandwich Cookies
* Cinnamon-Sugar Crisps

Sorbets & Ice Creams
* Honeydew-Kiwi Sorbet with Chartreuse
* Chocolate-Chipotle Sorbet
* Double Raspberry Sorbet
* Leftover-Cranberry-Sauce Sorbet
* Grapefruit-Framboise Granita
* Lemon-Buttermilk Icecream
* Maple Ice Cream

Finally, there is a comprehensive index of ingredients (such as avocado, maple syrup and pork sausage) and finished dishes (such as broth, rice and cake).

I will probably not try many of the recipes which would require the purchase of several spices I am not likely to use often, but I look forward to trying the truly simple recipes with new-to-me flavor pairings (such as the poached asparagus with lemon-mint panko and roasted sweet potatoes with whipped butter and maple "honey").

UPDATE: Someone asked in a comment on another review about whether the recipes use a lot of butter, red meat and fats. The short answer is that Rozanne Gold is no Paula Deen. She doesn't rely heavily on butter, preferring to use olive oil, Asian sesame oil and nut oils. She includes pork products in salads and pastas, but often in small amounts for flavor. The same applies to cheeses (most often, parmigiano-reggiano). For example, the recipe for Chilean Sea Bass with Pistachio-Pesto Crust & Green Bean "Fries" calls for only two tablespoons of olive oil and the recipe for Braised Black Sea Bass on Pancetta-Studded Cabbage calls for four ounces of pancetta and two tablespoons of butter (both recipes serve four).

You'll notice that many of the soups, salads and vegetable dishes include seafood or meat (sometimes in small amounts for flavor as noted above) so this is not the best book for vegetarians (and definitely not for vegans).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, October 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a terrific cookbook. Rozanne Gold is the author of 11 cookbooks and has won a number of awards. This is the first cookbook of hers that I've used, but it won't be the last.

There are over 300 recipes here and they are all simple, easy and from the one's I've tried so far, delicious.

The chapters are:

Brunch - which has a great variety of recipes from drinks to a number of beautiful egg dishes, frittata's and a great recipe for Smoked Salmon, Basil and Lemon Quesadillas - with many others.

10 minute salads - a number of great recipes here as well, running the gamut from Spiced Salmon on a Moroccan salad to Watermelon Salad with Feta and Black olives. There are a number of salad dressings as well.

Soups - everything from 5 minute soups to broths, Tortellini in Pesto Broth, Carrot Soup with Ginger and Crispy Carrot Tops, and accompaniments as well, like biscuits, muffins and crackers.

Pasta - also a number of recipes, many are 10 and 20 minutes, like Fettuccini with Smoked Salmon, Crème Fraiche and Lemon, Gemelli with Sausage, Leeks and barely wilted Snow Peas and Warm Sesame Noodles with Ginger and Snow Peas.

Fish - at least 30 recipes here from 3-minute Wasabi Salmon to Green Curry Swordfish with Shitakes and Basil and Crunchy Crumbed Cod with Frozen Peas.

Poultry - I loved this section as it groups the recipes by part: Chicken breasts, chicken thighs, cut-up chicken parts, whole chicken and turkey and has a great variety from Asian Chicken with Scallions to 'Radically Simple Chicken Parmesan'. I made the Almost Confit Chicken with Melted Garlic and it was a hit.

Meat - includes recipes using beef, lamb, pork and veal from cuts to some very interesting roast recipes like Pot Roast with Burnt Onions & Kimchee and Pork Loin in Cream with Tomatoes, Sage & Gin.

Vegetables - include two sections. The first is 10-20 minutes and includes recipes such as, Spinach, Ricotta and Basil Puree, Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Medjool Date and Carrot Nib Orzo and another section called Slow & Easy with Creamy Potato Gratin, Sweet Potato Puree with Fresh Ginger and Orange and many more.

Desserts - with some incredible recipes, also broken into section of: 10 minute Desserts, Tarts & Cakes, Cooked Fruit Desserts, Custards, Cooks & More and Sorbets & Ice Creams. I made the French Yogurt Cake with Nutella and it was amazing.

It's a great book, and my only con is that not all the recipes have pictures. But there are a lot of great recipes here and many of them do have picture. I will be cooking from this book for a long time, there are so many other recipes I want to try that look easy and wonderful. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful cookbook, November 4, 2010
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Professional Chef Roxanne Gold's premise for this book is that a recipe doesn't have to be complicated to create wonderfully tasting food that is beautiful to look at and tasty. Along with that premise is the idea that you can accomplish this in simple recipes - almost every recipe is less than 140 words.

The book covers the range of meals - from brunch to dessert. I like how recipes are sorted - for example, for brunch, recipes are sorted by "so easy", "set up overnight", and "30-minute bakery". Finding a recipe that suits your needs is easy to do.

I found the recipes to be a mix of ones that I can see preparing for everyday meals and those for entertaining. It really depends on your eating habits (or the people you're cooking for). I think probably about half of these recipes may not be for someone who needs to cook for people with fussy eating habits - frankly, I don't see fussy eaters going for Swordfish steaks with sardine "bolognese".

If pictures are important to you, there are probably only pictures for about 1/3 of the recipes in this book. I would have loved for each recipe to have a picture (which would have made for a huge book).

While many recipes have "ordinary" ingredients, some have unusual ingredients that you may not have in your kitchen (smoked paprika oil or a chunk of pistachio halvah anyone?)

Some recipes are healthy, but if you're looking for low-fat recipes, look elsewhere - quite a few of these recipes use butter, mayonnaise, cheeses and other ingredients that are not low fat. Also, recipes do not include any nutritional information.

Even with those issues, this is a beautiful cookbook with some wondeful recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This one's clearly for cooks more adventuresome than I. So please take my star rating with the appropriate grain of salt., November 16, 2010
By 
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Let me say straight off that this is not what I personally consider a bonafide cookbook review. For several years I helped out with the annual cookbook review section published between Thanksgiving and Christmas by the newspaper where I worked. Each of us would get a cookbook category: desserts, appetizers, ethnic, regional, etc. to test and review. The rules were that you would prepare a minimum of three diverse recipes from each book, serve them to an equally diverse bunch of eaters and get their feedback; meanwhile, other recipes in the book would be scrutinized to make sure the instructions and ingredients lists were clear and made sense; books by chefs would get even more scrutiny, because recipes from professional kitchens often don't adapt well for use in home kitchens. Those are still what I consider the essential ingredients for writing a cookbook review that's worth its salt. This isn't one of them, as I've yet to cook anything from this book and probably won't until next summer, when the ingredients I most want to experiment with here are again in season.

What I can tell you is that the chef who wrote this book is amazingly imaginative and clearly knows the ins and outs of cookbook writing. Her recipes are clear and well written, the book is beautifully designed and the pictures look appetizing.

Other than her offbeat and interesting new ideas for summer produce, the recipes that intrigue me most are ones I haven't the nerve to try myself but would be first in line to get a taste of if someone else did. For example: chicken roasted "stark naked" with no seasoning at all, not even salt...pasta cooked in a bottle of wine...a soup made solely from garlic, olive oil, cumin, chickpea flour, one scallion and an onion... and spinach leaves sprinkled with kosher salt and cooked on a sheet-pan in a 500 degree oven with two spritzes of water.

I'd also be interested in tasting some of her many recipes that contain ingredients I've never heard of or ingredients I've heard of but haven't a clue what they taste like, so can't tell whether I'd like and am therefore reluctant to go to the trouble to track down and spend money on, such as: sable, slivered kimchee, frisee, herring in wine sauce, hiyashi wakame, tahina, za'atar, Greek yogurt, large Medjool dates, chickpea flour, Thai fish sauce, black sesame seeds, garam masala, pomegranate molasses, wasabi powder, prepared wasabi paste, Sriracha, soppressata, calabaza, French breakfast radishes, gemelli, purple basil sprouts, lavash bread, white miso, little bird chilies, scotch bonnet pepper, Turkish figs, ground sumac, ras el hanout, date syrup, pistachio halva, oloroso sherry, unsweetened dessicated coconut and Nutella.

As it turns out, many of these ingredients would not be hard to find, as quite a few are available right here at Amazon grocery.

So, not a review. But perhaps something that'll help you decide if this is right for you or a cook on your gift list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been having too much fun with this one ..., November 12, 2010
By 
B. J. Lewis (Highlands Ranch, CO) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
... trying one recipe after the other, to sit down and write a review. After all, this was not the cookbook I was expecting. You know the kind of cookbook I mean: minimal shopping, minimal cooking time, but so often, minimal flavor. You tell yourself, well, heck, it's better than fast food. It appears, however, that Ms. Gold knows how to choose a minimum of ingredients with preparation techniques that require little time, or, at least, personal involvement time-wise, but that also result in superb flavor.

The Silver Packet Flounder with Miso Mayo (p.152) was my first experiment, so simple to prepare and quite delicious. I added in my comments that next time I would omit the dried tomatoes, or, at least, reduce the amount. Just a personal preference.

My local "Savory Spice Shop" in nearby Littleton carries Za'atar so I was able to satisfy my curiosity about that condiment, as well as the Chicken with Za'atar, Lemon & Garlic (p. 200). What a great way to jazz up boring old chicken. I substituted all thighs for the leg quarters.

Last night I prepared Salmon with Lime Leaves, Poppy Rice & Coconut Sauce (p.139). I was unsure when my out-of-town visitors would arrive, so I prepared and refrigerated the salmon in its wrapping ahead of time, as well as pre-mixing the curry oil and coconut sauce. I will add this to my list of favorite ways to prepare salmon. On the other hand, the method for cooking the Basmati Rice was one I won't repeat. That wonderful roasted nuts aroma of Basmati Rice as it steams (rather than boils!) was non-existent and the finished rice was much too bland. The poppy seeds were attractive, but really didn't add much to the finished rice. But what a wonderful treatment for salmon.

The Smoked Salmon, Basil & Lemon Quesadillas (p.15) were all right, but I personally felt the goat cheese, in addition to the cream cheese, was a little over the top. The Runny Eggs on Creamy Scallion Bacon Grits (p.11) came close to making me change my mind about grits in general, but not quite. If you like grits, go for it. (And how can you look at that photograph without salivating?) By the way, the photography in this book is quite inspiring - just wish they had included more. The Eggless Caesar Salad with Green Apple "Croutons" (p.59) was a nice change from my routine green salad.

I did find one thing that puzzled me. On page 210 she writes: "And my Flanken with Pomegranate Molasses, Ginger & Prunes has become a new holiday favorite in some households." I've been searching for that recipe, but so far it has eluded me. Is it there? Help!

Regardless, I'm thoroughly enjoying this cookbook. I suspect you will as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, great recipes, May 27, 2011
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
I made a very simple sidedish called "carrot 'nib' orzo," and you'd think I made the most gourmet side dish to make my husband comment how good it was; and it was pretty to look at too. Have made the Chicken Ras El Hanout w/Tomato-Ginger Chutney...now you say, that sounds too fancy schmancy for a weeknight meal...wrong. I picked this one b/c my toddler granddaughter was here and I couldn't fuss w/dinner. It's also hot out, and I didn't want to use the oven. This recipe worked on both counts. It uses boneless skinless chicken thighs, but I left the bone in, call me a rebel. You mix EVOO, salt and ras el hanout (or for a change, garam masala which I did the second time I made it) together and stir into a loose paste and slather it over the thighs, no marinating time needed either. You grill or broil them. I sauteed them. Then comes the 'chutney.' Call it what you will, but to me it's a tasty topping for chicken. Chutney just makes it sound fancy so don't run away from it! It uses cut up ripe tomatoes to start with, didn't have them handy, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes, one regular, one with chilis in it b/c I didn't have the scotch bonnet, the chilis in the canned sauce would kick up the sauce fine along w/some hot smoked paprika. Use cayenne or red pepper flakes if you must, but don't get hung up on one missing ingredient signalling an end to your making this. I suspect the author wouldn't mind nor call the "food police" on us if we did. Add some ginger, garlic, brown sugar and you're done, no heating even necessary, but I did. It's delish. A chicken is a chicken is a chicken, but the only thing that elevates it into something special are the flavorings and spices used to prepare it. I have many more pages tagged to try.

(update 6/6/11)--made French Yogurt Cake w/Nutella--very easy and fast. I play around w/different flours. It said to use 1 1/2 cups of AP flour, I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup of barley flour. Next time I'll use cake flour. It comes out looking like a marble cake, made in a 9" springform pan. We just added a dollop of whipped cream. Next cake I made was the Coconut "Macaroon" Cake, bakes in bundt pan--uses healthy olive oil and yogurt; No butter nor eggs which is good for my allergic granddaughter. It did have a moist interior similar to a macaroon cookie. Came out of pan looking beautiful.
(update 7/14/11)--OMG...the lemon-buttermilk ice cream, just 3 ingredients--awesome, quick, refreshing. It's more of a silky sorbet. I used limes in place of lemons. I might try orange juice, tangerine juice, etc., next time. The texture is smooth and silky, like Italian Ice. It's all that and more. It scoops beautifully even days later, not hard as a rock. It's in freezer and I'm going to have some right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh bright ideas for the experienced cook, November 10, 2010
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What is a cookbook for? Why do you need a cookbook when there are zillions of recipes to be had for free on the Internet?

A cookbook can be a glorious tour of some new or familiar cuisine with pictures and stories. It can cover an obscure area completely. It can specialize - there are dozens of good books on baking bread to be had.

OR it can offer well-thought-out interesting recipes from a reliable source. This is what you get from Rozanne Gold's new book. There are dozens and dozens of simple recipes that produce tempting, highly-flavored food with a modern flair and require relatively low effort. I've tried a few of them, with uniformly delightful results.

To top it all off, she set herself the slightly gimmicky challenge of keeping each recipe to 140 words or less. This has two consequences: the directions are clear and concise, but you need to know basic kitchen techniques to apply them successfully. She'll tell you to saute some onions, but she won't always specify what level of heat to use to do it. For an experienced cook this doesn't matter, but a newbie could get into trouble.

If you're experienced and if you like and have access to some contemporary fashionable ingredients, you'll love this book. There are some truly brilliant new ideas here.

If you're a new cook, get some experience with more standard cookbooks first and develop your intuitions and technique. THEN come back and try some of the really good recipes in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Radical Believer, October 29, 2010
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
My mother always said that simple is as simple does, yet something about this book drew me into its massive yaw. What? The design? The layout? Never mind. Mom needs a new slogan. I picked a single recipe and decided to take it for a spin, just to see if the title delivered on its promise. Fortunately, I chose the Pork Loin roasted in cream with grape tomatoes, sage, and (believe it or not) gin, lots of gin. Radical, simple, and simply delicious. The sauce showed off the pork roast in ways that pork has never been shown, primarily because most recipes insist on something fruity with pork. This was a crowd-pleaser in every way. Okay, so simple is as simple does. Sign me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Want to Make All of These Recipes--Right Now!, April 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Radically Simple: Brilliant Flavors with Breathtaking Ease: 325 Inspiring Recipes from Award-Winning Chef Rozanne Gold (Hardcover)
I love this cookbook. Can I give it six stars?

As other reviewers have pointed out, the recipes sometime contain unusual combinations of foods and flavors--but they work. Yes, there are innovative cooking techniques--but they work. (Innovative as in cooking an ingredient with an unusual cooking method for that ingredient.) Yes, there are some ingredients that will be a challenge to locate, especially if you don't live near a large city, (and the author does not routinely list substitutions), but there are really not that many. If there were no innovations or unusual combinations this type of cook book would have ended up as "same old, same old". The author uses the word "sophistication" and that pretty well describes the flavors that come out of these recipes. It is a great cookbook. I want to make every recipe in this book. I can't make these recipes soon enough--which one to make next? I want to make them all--right now!

But if you don't like to try new dishes or new flavors or flavor combinations--don't forget the book IS called "Radically Simple". I mean, really, (and I'm referring to several of the low ratings given for this book), don't degrade the book for something that it claims to be--right on its front cover! It is radical: If your not open to radical thinking, you may not like this cook book. On the other hand, if you are looking for a change in taste--give these recipes a try.

This is not one of those "three, four, five ingredient" cook books. Of course, there are many recipes with very short ingredient lists. But sometimes it is the short cooking or short prep times that make a recipe "simple". You will need to make a grocery list. While these recipes use a lot of pantry staples, usually their uniqueness comes from an ingredient or two that you won't have on hand. And, "simply" because of their simplicity, these are recipes that should be adhered to. They don't leave much room for personal interpretation.

There are no vegetarians in our family, but we do love our veggies, and plenty of them. So I am very happy with the multitude of vegetable recipes, and I like the vegetable section the best: I cannot say enough about how great the veggie recipes are. All the vegetables are easy to find at the grocery store, but the dishes are not usual. The "high humidity" recipes are terrific: High humidity being steam. "The Carrots and Onions in High Humidity" with thyme and lemon is stellar in its simplicity and taste. There are 41 vegetable recipes--some quick-to-cook, some "slow and easy". And that's not even counting those listed under soups, starters, and several salad groupings. All of them are "keepers". And because there are a lot of vegetable recipes, simple soups and salads, there are plenty of recipes for a "cool kitchen." I can't wait for tomato season, so I can make the one-ingredient The Pink Tomato Frappe'. The Tomato-Anisette Soup and Cucumber-Coconut Bisque will only take five minutes to make. And the Beet Broth is a beautiful vegetarian broth, with caraway, fennel and allspice.

There are plenty of fish and poultry recipes. My favorite fish recipe so far is fresh salmon covered with a slice of smoked salmon and placed on a fresh sauce of tomatillos, basil cilantro and lime. The chicken marinated in fish sauce is another keeper and when made with thighs, the chicken can be grilled. The "Hurry Curry Sauce" served with turkey burgers will give you ideas for other quick sauces. There's plenty of great pork, beef and lamb dishes, too. And the simple desserts: There are some wonderfully simple ice creams and sorbets--so easy to make if you have an ice cream maker, (and you really should have an ice cream maker.....)Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Automatic Frozen Yogurt, Sorbet, and Ice Cream Maker.

One thing that I usually don't comment on are the little introductions that most authors include at the beginning of each recipe, but the intros in this book are interesting and well-worth reading. And the author has a sense of humor--in a subtle way: For instance: "Give peas a chance." It was unexpected, and it made me laugh.

And one other thing I want to mention: And just because I mention it last, does not mean it's least: My husband likes this cook book! He's picking out some recipes that he especially likes, starting his own grocery list and "scheduling in" some dates to cook dinner himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.