Rage Against the Dying: A Thriller and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$35.99
Qty:1
  • List Price: $39.99
  • Save: $4.00 (10%)
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Friday, April 25? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Rage Against the Dying: A Thriller Audio CD – Audiobook, CD, Unabridged


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.99
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$35.99
$15.00 $7.42

Frequently Bought Together

Rage Against the Dying: A Thriller + The Caretaker: A Ranjit Singh Novel
Price for both: $71.98

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

100 M&T
100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime
Looking for something good to read? Browse our picks for 100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime, brought to you by the Amazon Book Editors.

Product Details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio; Unabridged edition (March 12, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1427229724
  • ISBN-13: 978-1427229724
  • Product Dimensions: 7.4 x 5.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (155 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #808,689 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Brigid Quinn is a retired FBI agent who was forced out over shooting an unarmed man. She spent her career undercover, working on sexual predator cases, and trained her protégé, Jessica, to follow in her footsteps. Jessica went missing while working on a serial-killer case, and Brigid never recovered from the loss. Several years later, she is happily married and living an idyllic life in Tucson when she learns that there has been an arrest in the case, but the new agent working it, Laura Coleman, thinks the confession is false. When Coleman disappears and the bureau doesn’t seem to notice, Brigid finds herself in the thick of things once again, only this time she is worried about losing another agent, her husband, and her newfound happiness. Brigid is a marvelous character, and her skills are fearsome for someone her age. Although Brigid sometimes takes things too far, stretching the bounds of credulity, it is worth the suspension of disbelief to hang with her. Fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen will love this book. --Stacy Alesi --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Review

“Judy Kaye delivers Brigid’s wisecracks in a matter-of-fact but easy-to-listen manner. She does an admirable job of portraying the villains as well as Brigid’s husband, who is a professor…Kaye’s pitch-perfect reading is smooth and consistent. As Brigid struggles to solve the killings and save herself, Kaye’s quickening pace and intensity keep listeners totally involved.” – AudioFile Magazine

 

“Narrated by the always-superb Judy Kaye... I don’t want to spoil this ingeniously plotted story, so I’m not going to give you any more details; you’re just going to have to listen. I got so hooked that I didn’t want to take the earphones off until the very end.” – BookPage

 

“Adding greatly…is Kay’s narration which is as flawless and effective here as it is on all of the Sue Grafton books.” – Mystery Scene


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

The plot twist and turns make for a book that is very difficult to put down.
Linda W. F.
The writing is intelligent and entertaining, the characters are credible and interesting, and the story is terrific.
literate crime novel buff
I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in what looks to be a series.
Caitlin Martin

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful By E. Bukowsky HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 2, 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Brigid Quinn, a fifty-nine year old retired FBI Special Agent, lives in Arizona with her husband, Dr. Carlo DiForenza, a former Roman Catholic priest and philosophy professor. Brigid has not told Carlo all of the sordid details about her past, since she is afraid of driving him away, much as she did another decent man who was horrified by her penchant for violence. Becky Masterman's "Rage against the Dying" begins with an electrifying opening chapter in which Quinn is engaging in one of her favorite pastimes on a hot, mid-August day--collecting rocks of varying sizes and shapes from a dry riverbed. Suddenly, a murderous lowlife spots Quinn and moves in for the kill. The author skillfully choreographs their ferocious encounter, one that cannot possibly end well.

First-person narrator Quinn flashes back ten days. She introduces herself as a "daughter, sister, cop, tough broad...jilted lover, heroine, killer." Only five-foot three and formerly a natural blonde, she worked undercover for nine years, "mostly acting as bait for human traffickers and sexual predators crossing state and international lines." An accident left her with a bad back, leading her to spend the next portion of her career in investigations. Early retirement seemed to be the best option when, after shooting an unarmed perpetrator, she watched her career trajectory take a sharp downhill turn.

Quinn's personality is complex and contradictory: She is self-denigrating and cocky; funny and grim; aggressive and secretive; compassionate and furious; cynical and hopeful. Her determination to spend her golden years with Carlo in peace is derailed when a serial killer case ("the Route 66 murders") that she had once investigated, but failed to close, takes an unexpected turn.
Read more ›
13 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By S. Berner VINE VOICE on March 11, 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
WOW!

And if Amazon settled for one word reviews, that would be all I'd need.

But they don't.

So...

Brigid Quinn, ex-FBI, ex-"Stinger", married to an ex-Priest, is one of the most compelling new creations around.

And Becky Masterman is, on the basis of this first novel, one of the most compelling new writers of this, or any, year.

How compelling?

I learned from the NY Times that Masterman is an author of medical textbooks and I'm almost tempted to read THOSE!

Brigid?

Well. the best way to describe her is, probably, to imagine the offspring of Miss Marple and Lara Croft... who was then brought up by the Pat Morita character from "Karate Kid" and taught the facts of life by a more benevolent Hannibal Lecter (note: I thought of this last BEFORE reading the "Times" article, which also mentions him!)(note 2: Not that any of this actually happens. It's just a frame of reference)

As for the story, it involves sex predators, murders, revenge, the old "case that has haunted, for years" gambit; and so much more.

But mostly, it involves picking up a book; reading some 300 pages of non-stop adrenalin producers without putting it down; finally PUTTING IT down; and simply saying.....

WOW!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Patto TOP 500 REVIEWER on February 5, 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Brigid Quinn spent her career in the FBI hunting serial killers. But she's retired now, living peacefully in Arizona, fifty-nine years old, white-haired but still fit. And she has a new husband who has no idea she once killed a man. She hides her past self. She thinks she's left all that violence behind her.

But certain things still haunt her. In particular, the "Highway 66 killer" who got away after killing Jessica, a young FBI agent planted to catch him. Brigid can't forgive herself that death, because she trained Jessica and sent her out there as bait.

In this book, Brigid finds herself mixed up once again with this old case. She's in for lots of challenges. We watch her dodge bullets and dodge questions from the authorities. They're beginning to see her as a dangerous rogue investigator. We watch her trying to psych out killers in bizarre conversations. I couldn't help thinking there were too many killers in the story. How many can there be in a lightly populated desert area?

Nonetheless, this doesn't pretend to be other than a thriller, and it succeeds in being suspenseful, gory, action-packed and absorbing, if not always believable. But the best thing about the book is Brigid. She's practically a senior citizen, yet she can out-fight and out-think the baddest of the bad. I also enjoyed her relationship with her husband, an ex-priest. Will Carlo continue to love her if he finds out about the things she's done?

Brigid is so much fun, I'm hoping for another book about her.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful By BookAddict TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on January 29, 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I loved parts of this book. Masterman's writing style is engaging. It's written in first person, with a fun narration style. I got a great sense of Brigid's surroundings, her feelings, and the people she shared her life with.

The downside for me was I just couldn't fit some of her actions with the image of a 59-year-old independent career FBI agent. At times, she seemed much more like a vulnerable, inexperienced woman in her twenties. I understood the supposed rationale behind her choices, but it wasn't enough for me to make that leap.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa0d8833c)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?