Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Intrepid Musical Archeologist...
...has scoured the Earth for decades looking for the definitive soundtrack that captures and presents every magical note of John Williams' legendary score to the classic, original Indiana Jones adventure movie, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

This latest 2008 Lucasfilm-licensed, remastered incarnation is a quantum leap over the original 1981 version, and over even the...
Published on March 27, 2009 by Michael D. Kuhlman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Good to Hear
Best of the Indiana Jones movies. It's great fun to hear the soundtrack isolated from the images. Brings back great memories being a kid in the 80's. Purchased for download for $5.
Published 16 months ago by H_E_H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Intrepid Musical Archeologist..., March 27, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
...has scoured the Earth for decades looking for the definitive soundtrack that captures and presents every magical note of John Williams' legendary score to the classic, original Indiana Jones adventure movie, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

This latest 2008 Lucasfilm-licensed, remastered incarnation is a quantum leap over the original 1981 version, and over even the 1995 DCC reissue (available here at Amazon; light beige case, artwork of Indy cheerfully cracking his whip), which includes several tracks that have never before been released, even in the 1995 DCC reissue.

Among them, we have "Washington Men/Indiana Jones Theme": After Indy's harrowing adventure in the South American jungle, when Indy is in conference with the U.S. Army Intelligence officials talking about the Ark of the Covenant, the chest the Hebrews used to carry the Ten Commandments in, one of the guys asks Indy, "Well, what does this Ark look like?". Indy promptly replies, "There's a picture of it right here." and opens up a giant book to reveal our first glimpse of the historic, supernatural chest in a drawing. As this is the first time in the film that we've seen the Ark, this is the first time in the film, and on this CD, that we hear the mysterious, ethereal theme that signals the danger of the Ark. After Indy's longtime friend and musty museum curator, Marcus Brody, concludes that, if the Nazis get ahold of the Ark, their army would be "invincible", the Ark theme segues into a calm, sedate rendition of the Indiana Jones theme, as Marcus drives up to Indy's house after dusk to tell Indy the good news, that "They want you to go for it!".

Also present, for the first time, in this release, is the menacing music when the monkey man poisons the dates in "Bad Dates".

Sadly absent, from this disc, is the entire section of music where Indy and Sallah enter the Ark's tomb, and, intercut with Marion getting Belloq drunk and trying to escape, Indy and Sallah hoisting the Ark out of its tomb, to glorious brass and the haunting choir music that follows, as the Ark is gently carried across a sandy floor of hissing snakes into its crate, where it is lifted up into the rising sun and the Nazis descend on our intrepid heroes.

Gladly, however, movie music fans rejoice: This track, called "Uncovering the Ark", is presented in its entireity on bonus Disc 5 of the Indiana Jones quadrilogy soundtrack collection!!!

Also sadly absent, and will probably be buried in the sand for at least a thousand years, like the Ark, is the brief but important cue when slimy, sadistic Nazi Gestapo agent Toht throws Indy's love Marion into the Well of Souls, and she is hanging off the giant statue for dear life until the arm of the statue breaks off and Indy catches her, to which she ungratefully says "Traitor, you get your hands off me!" and comes face to face with the Cobra, which spits at her, and she suddenly changes her tune and climbs up on Indy's shoulders!

We have a truncated version here, as on the 1995 DCC release, of "Indy Rides the Statue", which begins, unlike in the film, where there is more music before, when Indy sees more snakes oozing through "that wall", when Indy's whip cracks around the arm of the statue. This music is then complete up to when Indy breaks the statue loose, where, in the film, there is a spectacular burst of Indiana Jones fanfare as Indy rides the statue down to crash through the wall. At this point, on this CD, the "statue climbing music" merely continues at a faster, more frenetic pace when Indy breaks the statue loose. George Lucas, in one of his many inspired post-production decisions, with the approval of his director, Steven Spielberg, rightly realized that this moment was a rather heroic feat for Indy, needed a burst of Indy's theme, and robbed this bit of fanfare from the later Airplane Fight, when, in that sequence, the fanfare plays as Indy is narrowly missed by one of the Flying Wing's rolling tires. This bit of fanfare can be easily copied, pasted and inserted at this point here using a sound editing program.

After Indy crashes the giant statue through "that wall", and the dust has settled, Marion, seemingly safe, enters this area, relaxes for a moment, and calls for "Indy-?", only to pull down a mummified corpse! Shocked, she bumps into a lever that breaks loose hundreds of corpses, who seem to be shrieking at being awoken after thousands of years, culminating with a shot of one skeleton that has a giant snake slithering out of its mouth! This is one of the truly horrifying shock moments in Raiders and the music, sadly, is nowhere to be found on this or any release. Presumably this music too has been buried in the sand for at least a thousand years, like the Ark, until one of our musical archeologist descendants find it and resurrect it from its master tape tomb.

I consider "Airplane Fight" to be the finest use of classical, orchestral scoring for an action sequence in a movie ever, except for, perhaps, the opening title music from Williams' own Superman-The Movie (!)

The brass literally SPEAKS, SLICES, when the Nazi mechanic swings the wrench at Indy's head, and SPEAKS, SLICES again, when the mechanic swings it again, crushing the wrench against the Flying Wing's fuselage! Listen to it, as a standalone piece, then listen to it while watching the film. You'll see, and hear, what I mean. This is what movie music scoring is. It's perfectly in-sync with the action and expresses the savage nature of the violence. Brilliant!

"Desert Chase", the truck chase, sadly, on this 2008 release, appears to be the same edited version as on the original 1981 release of the Raiders Soundtrack. It is missing several bars. In case you're curious, they are:

When we see Belloq climbing into his car and telling the Nazis "let's go!" before he slams his car door shut.

The brief delay when Indy stops his horse on the hills above the truck convoy before he says "heeya" and ventures down through the sand to enter the convoy, to the snare drum and brass of the Nazi theme.

When Indy throws the truck's front passenger out onto the dusty trail and enters the truck to do fisticuffs battle with the driver

A few horn notes over a POV shot when Indy is dispatching Nazis using palm trees.

Most notably missing is the entire opening rythm (bump...bump...bump bump bump BUMP) that Spielberg describes as a "furious heartbeat" when Indy is shot in the arm by a young Nazi, the young Nazi is being dragged through the rough terrain hanging onto the loose truck door, which finally dislodges, the remaining Nazi in the back sees this and spouts "Sheista", then climbs up onto the roof of the truck.

In this release, like in the 1981 version, the music cuts right from the moment when the young Nazi shoots Indy in the arm to, an octave higher, the moment when the senior Nazi is already on the roof of the truck. If you're trying to recall this scene in your head through this music, it doesn't make sense.

Desert Chase is also missing a few bars when Indy is thrown out of the truck's windshield and tries to hold onto the hood ornament, which bends, breaks off and causes him to grab onto the collapsing grill. From there, the music continues, on this CD, as in the film, in its entirity, to its logical conclusion, when Indy returns, from what seems certain death, to dispatch the senior Nazi, side-slam Belloq and his entourage, and retreat, with the Ark, to the safety of a nearby town, driving his truck into a small shop that, on Sallah's request, is quickly covered by a canopy and fruit stand by waiting, helpful Arabs.

Thankfully, the missing bars of Desert Chase DO exist in the earlier 1995 DCC release, available here at Amazon (light beige cover, artwork of Indy cheerfully cracking his whip)!

John Williams and the musicians of the London Symphony Orchestra appear to be more on-their-game in terms of musical performance synchronicity with each other here in this 2008 truncated version, but the 1995 DCC release has the all the notes of the complete movie version. Therefore, if you're feeling ambitious, and have some sound editing software, inserting the missing bars from the take used in the 1995 DCC release into this truncated 1981 version fill the bill, and restore this track to its full glory as heard in the film!

The music for "Ride to the Nazi Hideout", the scene inside the German U-boat, also requires some editing to "conform" the music to as it is heard in the film. This music, on this CD, even includes a brief, glorious burst of Indiana Jones fanfare, that was designed to score a brief shot of Indy hanging onto the sub's periscope, which was cut from the final version of the film.

"The Miracle of the Ark", when the Ark is opened and the spirits come out to destroy everyone, also requires editing in several key spots, to create a note-perfect version of how the music is heard in the film, most notably when the beautiful angel transforms into a hideous corpse to Toht's screaming horror and the subsequent mightmarish mayhem that ensues, as Toht's face melts, Dietrich's face gets the meat sucked out of it, and Belloq's head explodes.

Overall, the music from this CD, combined with "Uncovering the Ark" from bonus disc 5 of the Indy quadrilogy set, presents the Raiders score in as close to complete as we've ever heard it! Given the proper editing and re-sequencing of particular bursts of notes, it appears the only pieces of music missing are when Marion is thrown into the pit, and when she encounters the mummified corpses...not bad, but, unfortunately, just shy of complete.

One more minor technical shortcoming of this 2008 release: Left and right stereo channels appear to be reversed, swapped, flip-flopped; left is right and right is left. If you plan to mix yourself an "ultimate" edition of this soundtrack, that includes the missing bars from the 1995 DCC release (which is correctly right-to-left justified), add a channel swap filter, from your sound editing software, to restore strings to the left and brass to the right, as they should be.

A 2-CD set of Raiders of the Lost Ark would allow space for all cues. Until Lucasfilm releases such a 2-CD set (if ever), this is the de-facto version of John Williams' masterpiece score for the first in what would become a series of remarkable films. It's a source of rich musical diversity that, as Spielberg says, in the 1981 liner notes, "tells our hero whether to kiss the heroine or smash the enemy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic adventure score, June 23, 2011
By 
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
I don't need to say much about this track. If you like movie soundtracks, you probably already love the Raiders soundtrack. The Raiders march alone is worth the price of the album. The ark theme is still my favorite, with its haunting quality. However, if you want this soundtrack, make sure to get the 2008/2009 special edition release because it has 4 additional new tracks. Also, the Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection has an additional disc with several tracks of previously unreleased Raiders music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Doesn't Love John Williams?, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
What can I really say about this CD?

If you like John Williams or Indiana Jones, my guess is that you might have already purchased this CD.

Honestly, the musical score from this CD (which is Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark) is one of the defining reasons I like the film so much. John Williams just has a way with music that is not only enjoyable to listen to, but enjoyable to play as part of an orchestra. He does an excellent job of equalizing parts of excitement and drama with fun and emotion. And the soundtrack flows very nicely together, as a musical score for a film should.

It's really a shame that more musical scores for film aren't up to this caliber as I really believe it can make or break a film.

The only reason this receives 4 out of 5 stars as opposed to 5 stars is because I honestly think the soundtracks from Temple of Doom and Last Crusade are better. It feels like he developed more as a musical director/composer in the time between films (and he probably did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Williams - The Master, June 22, 2011
By 
G (New York City, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
Pure mastery and understanding of the craft. One of the greatest compliments to a film that has ever been composed. It's longevity is testament. The March alone is seared into our collective consciousness and wherever you may hear it, tell me you do not only think of the film but also of what Hollywood is all about : Swashbuckling, Heroism, Grandeur, Escapism - with class.

So much of true film scoring is being lost. Hans Zimmer, the absolute culprit of mediocrity, has done irreparable damage to the art of film scoring. He has essentially stunted it, him and his clones.

Raiders Of The Lost Ark compliments the film beautifully, as a score should. And as a stand alone performance, it is an experience. I challenge any current composer to accomplish this great a feat. Williams did this time and time again.

John Williams is the Master....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raiders of the Lost Ark music score, February 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
This is some of John Williams best work. It still sounds good. Williams composed music for B movies, 1960's TV shows, Valley of the Dolls(1967), Black Sunday(1977), Superman(1978), and 1970's disaster movies. Working on George Lucas and Steven Spielberg films made him more well known. Some people claim that Williams' music after 2000 got worse. The music score for Raiders of the Lost Ark is a classic. It's still catchy and energetic decades later. Stock music from this score was used in the Turkish Star Wars rip off The Man Who Saves the World(1984). You can hear the Indiana Jones theme as Bart runs to the school bus on The Simpsons. The Indiana Jones theme music is made up from two different melodies that Spielberg liked.
There were some Indiana Jones clones in the 1980's such as King Solomon's Mines(1985) and Romancing the Stone(1984).
The Jet Li movie Dr. Wai and the Scripture With No Words(1996) felt like an Indiana Jones movie. John Willams' Indiana Jones music is an important part of pop culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's me take the movie when I'm in the car!, March 4, 2013
By 
Jack "Jack" (Cheyenne Mountain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
Since I can't watch the movie while I'm driving...I'll listen to the soundtrack! I love track 4, the flight to Peru, I just really like that effect from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raiders soundtrack., February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
This, historically, has been a rare soundtrack to find on CD, and I am glad to have back in my collection. An added delight is music that was not included on the original LP; such as the opening music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raiders download has more segments, February 15, 2013
By 
Nanhenker (WELLINGTON, NV, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've enjoyed this soundtrack from the first time I purchased it on cassette. It's nice to have many more tracks on this great download. I use it for workouts, and I always do more while listening to these famous tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raiders of the Lost Ark (Audio CD)
John Williams. What else, really, needs to be said? Everyone knows this is great music and it holds up very well, even after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Music, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An album of John Williams music for $5, what more needs to be said? Great purchase for any Indy fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Raiders of the Lost Ark
Raiders of the Lost Ark by John Williams (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.