Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serves as a basic tutorial, reference, and handbook of solutions
This really is not intended to be a tutorial on Rails, but as with all of the O'Reilly cookbooks, it is a collection of solutions to common problems involving Rails. However the recipes in the early chapters are so basic, it in fact, serves two purposes. The early chapters gets the Rails novice up and running, and the later chapters serve up answers to many of the...
Published on February 8, 2007 by calvinnme

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book, now totally out of date.
This book was probably extremely helpful to people starting out with Rails three or four years ago. However, Rails has changed significantly now and the code in this book is now out of date. This is especially true of the plugins it recommends. It is probably safe to assume that buying books on Rails that are more than two years old will mean relearning much of the...
Published on June 1, 2010 by Stacy G. Vlasits


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writing Ruby on Rails Code? You Need This Book., March 11, 2007
By 
Larry (Somerville, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I think it's safe to assume the following:

1) Ruby on Rails is hot.

2) Many of us are coming over from other languages (C++, C#, Java) and frameworks (.NET, JEE).

3) You need to start by getting the Ruby pickaxe book ("Programming Ruby") and "Agile Web Development with Rails," both by Dave Thomas.

Once you've gone through those two books it is time to face the steep and mysterious RoR learning curve. (Someone else made that statement. I can't remember where I read it, but I like it because it's true.)

That's where this book (and its companion "Ruby Cookbook") come in. They contain a ton of succinct, well-written examples. Even if your exact task isn't covered, you can usually find something that's close enough to get you started. And you can usually learn something new by browsing any given example.

Let's face it, programming has become so complex that not owning a book like this is not an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will reach both programmers and serious programming libraries., May 7, 2007
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Web programmers and practicing developers working with Rails will want this solution-oriented guide to building web 2.0 applications - a guide packed with recipes for success from the basics of installing and using Rails to the latest applications. Learn how to work with an application's logic, how to test and debit a Rails application, and use Rails plug-ins with RAILS COOKBOOK: APPLICATIONS FOR RAPID WEB DEVELOPMENT WITH RUBY, which covers version 1.2 and will reach both programmers and serious programming libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical book for working programmers., August 27, 2007
By 
J. Pease (Odessa, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
The "Rails Cookbook" is a very useful book for the working programmer.

Programming is all about solving problems, and that is exactly what this book is about. Each "Recipe" contains the problem, the solution and a discussion about the solution. They are concise without being too vague to be useful.

The book contains almost 200 of these problems / solutions.

This probably wouldn't be a good introduction to the language or the framework, but if you already are familiar with both - this book is a very valuable tool to help you get your work done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As reference guide, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I bought a used copy of this book because I needed more references in my learning process. Since the book I got is from 2007, many things are outdated, but still it stands as a good theory support for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the recipie format, June 19, 2007
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Now that I've encountered a few recipies books, I have to admit I'm in love with the format. I proves very practical and much easier to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guidebook and reference, January 19, 2007
By 
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I read a pre-release version of this book and was very impressed with the quality and breadth of the content. Rob Orsini and the various other contributors appear to really know their stuff and have a solid grasp of the technology involved. For someone fairly new to Rails or someone who needs a reference for the occasional hint on how to proceed in an unfamiliar area, this book will provide them what they need.

In the interest of full disclosure: I was a tech reviewer for this book, but did not receive any monetary compensation (I may be receiving a copy of the book, but that's it) for it and receive nothing for posting this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Buying, February 16, 2007
By 
neilm (Kodiak, AK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
If you like Cookbooks like I do I highly recommend you get this book. It's not a huge book but it does a pretty good job with what it does cover. I gave it 4 stars because I wish it had more recipies especially with ActionView. Also, I found some deprecated code in the Application Testing chapter. Good Documention and sample code is Rails biggest weakness right now.

Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly))
Rails Cookbook (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) by Rob Orsini (Paperback - January 16, 2007)
$39.99 $28.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.