Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not what you are expecting ...
Let me first state that this is an excellent book. However, it is really a book about taking things to the next level. If you are looking for solid how-to information about installing a rain garden in your back yard, you might be disappointed.

Landscape architects, designers and accomplished amateurs with advanced skill sets looking to handle water both...
Published on December 27, 2007 by Dan Mays

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not proper title name
This book only covers about 16 pages of rain gardens out of ~175 pages. A more appropriate title should be its subtitle, not rain gardens. If you're looking for rain garden info, this is not the book. It is a good reference for other sustainable water practices - standing water retention, swimming ponds, green roofs, etc.
Published on February 22, 2008 by E. Dick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not what you are expecting ..., December 27, 2007
By 
Dan Mays (Walcott, Iowa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
Let me first state that this is an excellent book. However, it is really a book about taking things to the next level. If you are looking for solid how-to information about installing a rain garden in your back yard, you might be disappointed.

Landscape architects, designers and accomplished amateurs with advanced skill sets looking to handle water both innovatively and creatively will delight in this book. I did ... but then I already have three rain gardens in my own landscape and teach how-to classes on installing them. If the concept of rain gardens intrigues you and you are looking for the basics on a DIY level, the free, downloadable rain garden manual from the University of Wisconsin is still the best source of that information, as of January 2008.

This book has a decidedly European flavor to it. And why shouldn't it? It is written by a couple of Brits. Although I am hard-pressed to see how some of the models given in the book will pass muster with the Americans with Disabilities Act, codes and other regulatory bodies, they should indeed stimulate the mind. The examples (of which there are many) also include public and even larger municipal installations. I find this a good thing for Americans to be exposed to. The Europeans are far ahead of us in green thinking. Included are some examples of essentially, municipal civil engineering projects both implemented and functioning with panache.

This is a book that I value having in my personal library. Someone looking for basic information may not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not proper title name, February 22, 2008
By 
E. Dick (Columbus, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
This book only covers about 16 pages of rain gardens out of ~175 pages. A more appropriate title should be its subtitle, not rain gardens. If you're looking for rain garden info, this is not the book. It is a good reference for other sustainable water practices - standing water retention, swimming ponds, green roofs, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rain gardens review, December 28, 2007
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
A thorough treatment of all possible ways of dealing with storm water run-off, not just rain gardens. No detailed instructions on "how-to" which I had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain gardens and much more, April 28, 2009
By 
A. Thomas (Charlotte, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
I came upon this book for my research on rain gardens and various methods of bioremediation, the books packs a significant amount of wisdom and details into its modest number of pages, well developed and very comprehensive for projects on a relatively small-scale site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars General, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
The book is too general for what I am need. I want information about engineering a functional small biorentention cell. I want to know how to use a soil test to determine how much pollution my rain garden will remove. I want to know how to calculate, or find software that will calculate the size of rain garden I will need to handle runoff from a suburban street. I love Timber Press, and this book will help me sell the idea of rain gardens with its pretty pictures, photos, and discussion. However, it will not help me build an actual functioning rain garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good on several levels, January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
This book is not meant for those who are well versed in rain gardens looking to learn more about them, however it does provide many good references and precedents to expand some basic knowledge and styles in design.

Studied stormwater management in Berlin for several months visiting and using a few sites that were listed in the book in my study.

Highly recommended if you are interested in stormwater management on any level in my opinion though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, February 18, 2009
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
This is a great book for introduction to varies methods in dealing with storm water management. As a landscape architecture student it was very useful in apply to my studio projects. I would recommend it to other students as well as anybody interested in learning about what the future entails for urban water management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars changes the way you live your life., September 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
This source book of ideas of how to make your home an easier to maintain and more ecological system is amazing. I will be using this to de-commission my lawn mower, save time and money and be more ecological. This is a real winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Informational Book, September 30, 2008
By 
Freyja (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape (Hardcover)
A very informative book on an important topic. Pictures are used well to illustrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x94b0ec54)

This product

Rain Gardens: Managing Water Sustainably in the Garden and Designed Landscape
$34.95 $19.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.