Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but where did the rock go?
This was Journey's first album after Steve Perry's debut solo album. For sure, this effort sounds a lot more like Steve's "Street Talk" album than Journey's previous hard-rocking "Frontiers". Clearly at this stage, Steve was taking more control of the band.
Now I certainly love a lot of the songs on this album. "Girl Can't Help It" is...
Published on January 1, 2002 by Brad

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the one they should have called "Departure"
Raised on Radio is a complete "Departure" from the rock and roll we came to expect from Journey up to that point. This whole album is pure lite-pop, adult contemporary drivel. Although I wanted to give it 1 star, I gave it 3 because it is really not a bad record - it's just a very disappointing JOURNEY record. It does sound similiar to Steve Perry's solo recordings so if...
Published on June 1, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but where did the rock go?, January 1, 2002
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
This was Journey's first album after Steve Perry's debut solo album. For sure, this effort sounds a lot more like Steve's "Street Talk" album than Journey's previous hard-rocking "Frontiers". Clearly at this stage, Steve was taking more control of the band.
Now I certainly love a lot of the songs on this album. "Girl Can't Help It" is a gorgeous, spine-tingling track; but the fact that such a pop-based track led off the album was surely a sign of things to come. "Suzanne" is an underrated track that was a top 20 hit but never got notice once it fell off the charts. "Be Good To Yourself" is one of the only rockers on the album--a very catchy track that was the biggest hit off the album. The title track I give credit to for being unique and another rare rocker here. I also can't help but love the album's last track, the beautiful ballad "Why Can't This Night Go On Forever". This should have been a bigger hit. "I'll Be Alright Without You" was another decent hit.
My problem is with some of the album's other tracks. Songs like "Positive Touch", "Happy To Give", and "The Eyes Of A Woman" are all gorgeous, melodic songs; but all of them would be better served on a Steve Perry solo album than on a Journey album. I prefer to hear heavier tracks with more punch on a Journey album. (What happened to such fare as "Chain Reaction", "Edge Of The Blade", and "Rubicon"--all of which were on the previous Journey album??)
In any event, this album is still a must for my collection, since Journey is my favorite all-time band. The songs are themselves are still in many cases great to listen to. It's just the lack of rock compared to previous efforts that gets this album a slightly lower mark than previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey, A/C, and Mtn. Dew....... what else matters??, January 16, 2006
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
Let's see, it was the summer of '86, (or was it '87??) and the last choir-like lines of the song "Girl Can't Help It" ended in "oooh-oooooh nothing stands between love and you-ooh". A chill ran up my spine. I was thinking of my summer girlfriend at the time (who dumped me at the end of that summer). Everything jelled at that moment (I was drinking a Mountain Dew at that time and the air conditioner was running). This album turned me on to Journey, even more so than "Escape" or "Frontiers" did. Even though it was not as commercially successful, it had some great songs and still is one of my top 2 favorites from that band. Most fans had thought that by then they had resorted to formula, but I think you can't fault a band that by then had generated more quality hits that to this day people sing as though they were hyms -- think "Stone in Love", "Open Arms", Faithfully", the list goes on. This album just proved that they could still get it right. Even though Beth, my summer time love, is gone (I think she married a professional hog-caller if that gives you any clue as to my desirability), I still have this CD. I now know that everything is fine as long as you have Steve (Perry), air conditioning, and a Dew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, I say!, September 24, 2004
By 
TDS2BE "Beatles Guru" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
On the verge of breakup, Journey released this last Steve Perry-fronted album to mediocre reviews. In my opinion, this album was actually refreshing due to its different sounding tracks as opposed to 1981's Escape and 1983's Frontiers. Both of which are excellent albums.

Radio opens to one of Journey's last hits, "Girl Can't Help It". It then goes into some very unknown material, which came to be my favorite part of the album.

"Positive Touch" is a very fast paced, fun, '80s-style tune which has you boppin' your head. Next comes "Suzanne", my favorite track on the album.I must ask the question... HOW WAS THIS SONG NOT A HIT? It has all of the elements (and more) that made up Journey's previous hits.

This is Journey's best album. Hands down. Not only does it have 3 mainstream hits, "Girl Can't Help It", "Be Good to Yourself", and "i'll Be Alright Without You", but the filler material is excellent. After a few listens, you completely ignore the well-knowns and look forward to hearing songs like "Happy to Give" and "Once You Love Somebody". I encourage all non-Journey fans to check it out, and I also encourage all Journey fans who gave up on this album to give it another listen. A++

Note: this review pertains to the vinyl addition, which is just as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - Some great songs, though not Journey's best, February 2, 2005
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
Raised On Radio(1986). Journey's tenth studio album.

Journey, the corporate rock band that all critics _love_ to hate. Most everyone who is a serious aficionado of rock music usually cringes at the mere mention of the "corporate rock" moniker, one that is often tagged onto bands such as Styx, Eddie Money, Boston, Peter Frampton, Loverboy, Huey Lewis, Foreigner, Blue Oyster Cult, and countless others. I admit, you do have to wade through a ton of sludge to get to the good stuff, but there is in fact GOOD stuff released amongst all the aforementioned bands. I'm a serious listener of all sorts of rock music, and whether it be pop, heavy metal, progressive, punk, or whatever, good music is good music, and I tend to have a soft spot for Journey from time to time because of this. Like Loverboy, they know how to concoct good and catchy (albeit contrived) melodies that stick in your head long after the song ends. Written off in the 70s as a corporate rock act from the moment vocalist Steve Perry joined the band, Journey spawned many hits such as `Lovin' Touchin' Squeezin', `Any Way You Want It', and `Wheel In The Sky'. The early 80s continued to amass them fans with other radio staples like `Don't Stop Believin', `Faithfully', and `Only The Young'. `Separate Ways' has always been my favorite Journey tune with its sharp rocking sensibilities, and driving melodic keyboard tones. Now the year is 1986 and it's time for them to follow up their success with something even more akin to radio-play. Can they keep up the pace?

Well, not quite. But if you're a fan of some of Journey's catchier material, it's worth having it for a few songs. Much of the hard rock guitars have been stripped away in favor of a highly polished pop sheen, a standard thing in 1986. There's a couple of outstanding songs, several decent songs, and a few duds. So overall, a slightly above-average pop rock album.

Let's start with the best first. `Be Good To Yourself' has always been a great mid-paced rocker, sort of the swan song of classic Journey on their greatest hits album. The other highlight here is `Suzanne', which although somewhat un-Journey like in its poppiness, manages to capture everything that a good pop song needs, and is unquestionably my favorite track on the disc. It has a very upbeat quality with an awesome build-up into a full soaring chorus, the likes of which I haven't heard in a long time. Probably worth buying the disc used if you like it. `The Eyes Of A Woman' is a fairly standard melodic synth pop song in of itself, but for some reason I'm really drawn to its catchy chorus melody. Now, the good but not great songs. `Girl Can't Help It' opens the album on a light note, while `Positive Touch' has a bouncy but dated saxophone pop quality. Then there's the slower `Once You Love Somebody', which is just okay. The title track starts off promising, but it doesn't seem to go anywhere as the song moves along. `I'll Be Alright Without You' was a minor hit in the vein of some of Journey's earlier softer radio staples. The rest of the songs are either merely forgettable or below average.

So is ROR worth picking up? Sure, but only if you're already a Journey fan and you've checked out their earlier catalogue. It's neither essential nor a good starting point, but worth having for a few good songs if you can get into it.

Replayability: I'll break it out once in a while, if only for those few songs. The rest I can live without.

Recommendations:
-Any of Journey's earlier albums prior to this one
-Any of Foreigner's 70s and 80s albums
-`Reckless' by Bryan Adams
-`Third Stage' by Boston
-`Sports' by Huey Lewis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked gem, January 5, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
This is probably among the most debated rock albums to be released during the 1980s. At the time of release back in 1986 fans found it overproduced, and argued that the band had lost some of it's soul when trying to adapt to a time of pop. Personally I find it refreshing, and rank it as among the best albums of all time, a perfect mix of 80s pop and beautiful rock. Journey proves again that they're truly legends of what they do.

The album starts off with the hit "Girl Can't Help It," a song that grows on you for each time you hear it. When browsing through my 80s-songs I consantly find myself returning to this excellent work of art. The rolling beat, the sharp melody, and the way Steve Perry uses his voice like the most delicate instrument. Wonderful!

We then move on the the cheerful "Positive Touch," another great song with serious undertones. It's hard to figure out whether the Perry is depressed or happy when singing. A very interesting song that starts off weak to become better further in, with a great instrumental solo by the end.

"Positive Touch" is followed by one of the most interesting songs the band ever did; "Suzanne." A very upbeat piece of contemporary pop, again proving that Journey truly can handle different aspects of music like few others, and adapt to the changing times. This song has all the qualities of a #1 hit and is definitely a personal favourite.

The next song is the typical "Be Good To Yourself," in many ways a very typical Journey song. Easy to listen to, and pretty good rock, though some may argue it's just a tad to hysterical.

This is followed by "When You Love Somebody," another good song, though a bit dull at places.

"Happy To Give" is a beautiful song in every aspect, very powerful and sentimental without becoming too cheesy. It's different from many other softer songs which makes it interesting.

The title track "Raised On Radio" was written as a tribute to 60's radio, with Perry screaming out famous lyrics and titles from a selection of old hits in his typical and powerful manner. This song drops like a bomb, I find it too overlooked but can in someway understand why some fans dislike it and find it annoying and stupid. The second half of the song isn't half as good as the first, not much lyrics and too dull, I often find myself just listening to the first half.

"I'll Be Alright Without You" is probably the most famous song from this record. And together with the other hits "Girl Can't Help It" and "Suzanne" the best. Extremely powerful song in every way, with a melody that hangs in there long after you've put the record back in the shelf. I love this masterpiece. Journey at their best!

"It Could Have Been You" is a great song on the refrains, but a bit strange and hard to grasp hold of on the verses. They seem to mix powerful rock with a ballad in an unorthodox manner. Pretty interesting, I like it.

The next track is "Eyes Of A Woman," which I strongly dislike. This is the only track I always find myself ignoring by skipping ahead the the next. I guess It's somewhat unique from a musical standpoint, resembling some of the bands earliest (and worst) songs in a late 80's manner with heavy synthesizers and a lot of experimenting with different sounds.

"Raised On Radio" ends with what's probably the most debated track in the history of Journey. "Why Can't This Night Go On Forever" is a very typical 80's power ballad, and yes there is no denying that there is a certain cheesyness to it, but I find the megahit "Open Arms" more cheesy. This song is not as good as "Faithfully" but way too overlooked, and remains beautiful in every aspect. Better than "Open Arms" in my ears...

This was probably Journey's last real album in the bands original fashion, and I find it their best. They adapted to the times and some hated them for it, I loved them and always will.

Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Closet Journey Fans Unite!, May 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
In some ways, this record is the quintessential FM radio album of the 80's. In others - especially if you listen maybe to the "Infinity" album first and THEN this one - this is nothing but the showcase of an arena band's glossy demise. So long polyester - make way for leather and frizz.
Good for Journey. Good for capitalizing on their innate talent for writing radio-friendly pop\rock. To anyone who can actually say they've never had a Journey song stuck in their head - turn up your hearing aid. There...that's better.
This collection of songs took three years to finally record. The result is a collection of near-perfect AOR songs tinged with distortion guitar and laced with icy keyboards. But this isn't Night Ranger - where you can only take two or three of the songs in one sitting. No...this is Journey. If they're good at anything, they're great at infusing songs with the right amount of pop and the right amount of rock to create that equal Journeyesque blend.
As with all albums, some songs stand out and others don't quite make it. But the good tracks digest the not-so-good tracks with ease.
The singles from the album, "Girl Can't Help It", "I'll Be Alright Without You", and "Suzanne" are all well-crafted and pleasing. Of the three, "Suzanne" is my personal favorite. It's simply outstanding in every way...Steve Perry's voice, Neal Schon's guitar, and Jonathan Cain's ever-present keyboards all blend together perfectly to create a fast-paced melodic rock effort that surpasses, in my opinion, much of the output from other "corporate rock" bands of the time. A fourth single, "Why Can't This Night Go On Forever", didn't make the Top 40, but I still enjoy it. It's a power-ballad crafted in an uncanny resemblance to "Faithfully" (Frontiers, 1983) and the song is made by Perry's soaring vocals.
Even some of the non-singles are strong. "Positive Touch" is great, as is the reflective and quite moving "Happy to Give" - in which Perry gives what I consider to be his greatest vocal performance ever. The remaining tracks are somewhat weaker, but still listenable and they have their good moments.
This is nothing like early Journey, and hardly comparable to Perry's first three albums with the band. Still, it is an ingeniously crafted album of twentysomething music that won't age well into the new millenium but should be a staple of 80's radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Advertised, November 19, 2005
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
This is Journey's sleeper album for sure. It had been hit pretty hard in the reviews and flew under the radar with the public, but I think it is just Journey with a more mature, refined sound. Many good songs here, including the excellent "Girl Can't Help It" and "Be Good To Yourself." The title track is unique, and some nice adult-contempts round it out nicely. Sure, it doesn't rock as much, but it contains classic Perry nonetheless. If your a true Journey fan, put the money down and go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace but good quality nonetheless, June 14, 2006
By 
andykay888 (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
Not a thumping CD but a clever more pop CD than their previous efforts. It has been canned in the past reviews but as an offering as a whole, it is a very complete effort. Perry belts out a couple of tracks, there are a few radio friendly songs and the closing Why cant this night go on forever is classic Journey power ballad. Not a weak track on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, September 21, 2006
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
Journey's "Raised on Radio" was the ninth album released by the band from San Francisco. Released in 1986, it went double platinum and spawned five hits. Despite its success, it's genesis was one of turmoil.

After Steve Perry's very successful "Street Talk" album hit the charts in 1984, the five members of Journey regrouped to begin work on new material. Much has been written on the internet and other sources as to the circumstances that broke up the band... the long and short of it - founding member Ross Valory (bassist) was fired and drummer Steve Smith left after recording three tunes. That left original member guitarist Neil Schon, keyboardist Jon Cain (new since 1981) and lead Steve Perry (new since 1978) as the band that we know as "Journey." Studio musicians Larrie London, Bob Glaub and Randy Jackson (now recognized for his work on "American Idol") filled in on the remaining tracks.

The music of "Raised on Radio" took a definite turn with the new lineup. Where the albums "Escape" and "Frontiers" had led toward harder, edgier rock, "ROR" delved deeper into the pop arena. Not that it was a bad thing - it sold albums; however I've often wondered what direction the songs would have taken had the band stayed together.

Although the three remaining members are credited for writing most of the material on the album, the sound is very much that of Perry and Cain. The duo created some very memorable melodies - melodies that have natural rises and falls that "hook" the listener in. The last track, "Why Can't This Night Go On Forever" is a perfect example of this. For one familiar with this tune, the opening four notes make it instantly recognizable. This gorgeous ballad ranks right up there with "Faithfully."

My favorite tune on the album is "Girl Can't Help It." The best part is the end with all of the vocal overdubs. This song is as fresh for me twenty years later as the first time I heard it. I absolutely love the chord progressions, which a couple of borrowed chords in the chorus - totally cool!

"I'll Be Alright Without You" hasn't been a favorite of mine, but does feature a stellar guitar solo at the end by Neil Schon. Very different from his previous solos, it is almost in a "smooth jazz" style - a style that he would use on later solo albums. The two big hits, "Suzanne" and "Be Good To Yourself" have become part of Journey's classic rock repertoire, the latter reminding me a little of "Only the Young." Both of these songs have become favorites amongst fans.

Well, I've listed the five hits, which are, unfortunately, the best part of the album. Outside of them, "The Eyes of a Woman" is the only one that stands out. It has a very well written melody is sounds very similar to "Send Her My Love," a song off of the "Frontiers" album. The rest of the songs aren't bad, but I certainly don't make a point of listening to them, either.

So...my advice? If you're an upcoming Journey fan, as I was twenty years ago, you'll want this album for your collection. You might find the other seven songs worthwhile. On the other hand, if you don't want to make the investment, buy the greatest hits or the "Time 3" collection. At least there you'll have the best stuff altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Sound for Journey - and it's pretty good, April 22, 2005
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raised on Radio (Audio CD)
The Rock Band Journey achieved the heights of popularity in the early 1980s with the release of "Escape" and "Frontiers". Journey started as a Progressive Rock band, but eventually would transform themselves into a mainstream band. This was due in part to two key additions - lead vocalist Steve Perry and keyboardist Jonathan Cain. Perry would join Journey in 1978 and become the lead vocalist on "Infinity" that would feature the mainstream Rock songs "Wheel in the Sky" and "Lights". By the time "Escape" was released", their strongest lineup would be formed with Perry, Cain, Schon, Bassist Ross Valory, and Drummer Steve Smith. This would be the album that would establish Journey as legitimate Superstars in the Rock and Pop World. After the release of "Frontiers", things would begin to change and the band began to splinter apart. Gone would be Ross Valory and Steve Smith. As for the remaining three members, there were also rumors of dissention - namely the growing influence of Perry and Cain over what Neal Schon still considered his band. Despite these problems, in 1986 - the nucleus of Perry, Cain, and Schon managed to release a long-awaited follow-up to "Frontiers" called "Raised on Radio". This album marks a radical departure from the previous albums, yet proves that Journey is still capable of making a great album.

As mentioned, Journey started out as a Progressive Rock band but soon transformed into an "Arena Rock" band. I classify "Arena Rock" as a good mix of Hard Rock and Ballads. The interesting thing was in the 1980s music landscape, Journey found success in the early 80s with the Arena Rock formula in an era that was dominated by Synth-Pop. Yet as the 80s progressed, the Arena Rock bands such as Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, and Van Halen were now on the rise. One would think Journey would cater to their strengths and release an Arena Rock album - instead Journey releases what probably is considered a Pop album with a stronger keyboard element. Much of this direction comes from the influence of Perry and Cain.

Perry and Cain would collaborate on the lyrics and music for all the songs on "Raised on Radio" (Schon would contribute to the writing of the music on 8 of the 11 songs). Much of the reason why Journey rose to the heights they did was due to Cain's influence. The quality of the songwriting and music got much better following his inclusion into the band. While Journey does change the musical direction on this album - gone are longtime producers Mike Stone and Kevin Elson - who were basically responsible for also helping Journey ascend. Steve Perry would take over the production duties. It always makes me wonder if there was a rift between Schon and Perry in 1986 - why would Schon let him produce? The answer is probably simple - Steve Perry did a great job at helping Journey transform their sound. Some may argue this sounds like solo Steve Perry - I tend to disagree. As producer, Perry finds a way to balance Cain and Schon's strengths. Finally, Randy Jackson takes over Bass duties and Larrie London takes over Drums - they do an admirable job, but it makes me wonder how good this album would have been with Valory and Smith still on-board.

The first half of this album is the stronger section. The opening song by Journey, "Girl Can't Help It" is a keyboard-laden track with more of a Pop feel - but if you listen closely Schon's guitar rifts are alive and well. It's Perry's vocals that carry this track - but Cain and Schon contribute some excellent background vocals toward the end. The next track, "Positive Touch" is probably one of the most underrated Journey tracks. This song has a very catchy beat to it. In a very "un Arena Rock" sound, Journey brings in a sax for this song. Traditionally Journey has not relied on horns - yet the horns come in beautifully at the end. While Schon has his guitar rifts in this song, Cain's keyboard still is the center instrument.

Much like "Girl Can't Help It", the third-track "Suzanne" has the terrific combination of Perry's lead and the background vocals of Schon and Cain. This song has a good balance between Schon's guitar and Cain's keyboard. This song has a definite pop-feel to it. Although it I was surprised it wasn't more of a hit. The 4th-track is "Be Good to Yourself" is one the harder-edged songs on this album - Schon's guitar is center-stage. The fifth track is "Once You Love Somebody" is a slower track with touches of R&B. I think that track is the one that really misses Ross Valory the most. The sixth track, "Happy to Give" is another underrated track. Lyrically - this is a simple song about one's view of a one-sided relationship. This song is about Steve Perry - his vocals are going to dominate. This song also has terrific background vocals.

After those first six songs, the next two are a notch below. The title track had potential - it teases you with a bluesy beginning, but for the most part it is a harder-edged song. It also has some Sax and Harp, but somehow this song just doesn't capture me. The 8th track was the biggest hit from this collection - "I'll Be Alright Without You". This is a classic Journey ballad, but I think its overrated. The remaining three songs aren't bad - but they also don't do a lot to capture me.

The liner notes include the lyrics for 10 of 11 songs. For some reason, the lyrics were omitted for the title-track. Musician and production credits are also included. Overall, I think is is a Journey album worth checking out. The opening 6 songs are going to be the ones most worth listening to. Although it's not their classic sound - it still is some good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Raised on Radio
Raised on Radio by Journey (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.