Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book
This is a very good book, it has help me understand a lot about why and what is going on with my boy, to prepare my self and him for the next steps in his life, conscious of what I'm doing and not just " hoping that I'm doing the right thing"
Published 20 months ago by Isela Arias

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expert???
I was very disappointed in this book. Honestly it felt as though it was written by a very close minded person. It focused so much on boys being sexual creatures from a young age that I was uncomfortable reading it. It had very little advice to give on topics other than having boys sleep with their hands over the covers and keep them out of dark places so they don't play...
Published 19 months ago by Laurel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expert???, January 27, 2013
By 
Laurel (Derry, NH United States) - See all my reviews
I was very disappointed in this book. Honestly it felt as though it was written by a very close minded person. It focused so much on boys being sexual creatures from a young age that I was uncomfortable reading it. It had very little advice to give on topics other than having boys sleep with their hands over the covers and keep them out of dark places so they don't play with their private parts. eventually I stopped reading. Normally I share books however this one went to the recycling bin so noone else would be subjected to these views. Still on the lookout for a good book on being a single mom of a boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys (Paperback)
This is a very good book, it has help me understand a lot about why and what is going on with my boy, to prepare my self and him for the next steps in his life, conscious of what I'm doing and not just " hoping that I'm doing the right thing"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome buy, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys: Why Boys are Different - and How to Help Them Become Happy and Well-balanced Men (Paperback)
This book has been all I hoped for. It covers topics in detail with short relevant anecdotes. This book discusses the physiology of boys, their maturation during adolescence and the needs they face during each phase... to the practical outworking in areas such as schooling. Growing up without brothers, male cousins, and attending a girls' school, I am facing the unknown challenge of raising an adolescent boy. This book has significantly reduced the 'unknown' factor and given me more confidence to negotiate the years ahead. I will definitely be referring to it again in the future- and lending it to friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed this thought provoking and relevant book. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in understanding those gender differences that make us uniquely male or female. Thank goodness we're not all the same. Where'd be the fun in that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Worth Reading, May 26, 2013
By 
Ryan Albuquerque (WASHINGTON, DC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys (Kindle Edition)
A Must Read, before your child is born ! It would help mothers and fathers prepare so much better. I was particularly thrilled with all the sections that dealt with school-related issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great book for parents of boys.
Warm and humorously written, full of great advice and interesting stories.
I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful read, April 1, 2013
By 
Keith J Hogan (NEWBURYPORT, MA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys (Kindle Edition)
Looking for something to get a little perspective on raising my son. I have found it helpful on a couple of issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raising boys, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it very much my sons consulor suggested iit to help us with him program and I learned a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raising Boys (Kindle Edition)
I am only part way through but have already learnt some great things that i have put into practice with my boys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Raising Boys: Why Boys are Different - and How to Help Them Become Happy and Well-balanced Men
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.