Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Raising a Sensory Smart Child: The Definitive Handbook for Helping Your Child with Sensory Integration Issues
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2005
This is one of 2 great books on the market for sensory integration issues (SI). While the Out of Sync Child deals mostly with what SI is, this book offers help directly to the parent with what they face daily and provides a breif intro to what SI is. This book is chalked full of helpful resources from where to find SI products, to help with IEPs,on line support groups and how to help a teen with SI issues. This is a well rounded book that is more useful for younger kids' parents but would be an asset for those with older kids as well.

I've never written a review before but this book really impressed me to do so because it is such an important contribution to the literature available for SI.
11 comment|209 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2005
I am a mother of a sensory child. This book changed my life, and it is an essential resource for anyone who wants to learn or help a child with sensory integration. It is my "Bible".

Unlike most books on sensory integration, it was written by a mother Nancy Peske, and an OT, Lindsey Biel, who understand what it is like to have and raise and treat a sensory child. It is easy to read and understand and begins by telling a story of Nancy Peske's own personal experiences with her own child to explain what it is like to have a sensory child, and to accept that you have a sensory child and how to help your sensory child.

This wonderful book provides practical solutions for everyday living. This book truly helps you to understand what sensory issues are, and what the technical language means (in easy to understand explanations and examples).

This book is the best I have ever read with respect to providing specific techniques you can use to help your sensory child to eat, play, sleep and learn efficiently, to focus, to pay attention, to organize, to self-regulate and so much more.

This book also tells you what you can do as a parent to help advocate for your child. It provides the steps for evaluation, and the types of therapies which are available at home and what to expect when you work with an OT. The book also contains information on how to set up an IEP or a 504 plan for your child and how to get the services you need to help your child.

This book is extremely practical and what I like the best about it, is that is written like a handbook, so that if you already are familiar with sensory integration, you can read any chapter without having to read the entire book to find the resources that you need. The book provides plenty of links to current research and valuable sources of information in books, videos, DVDs and online, which have made such a huge difference in my life and my son's life!

I have read all the books and research on the internet out there on sensory integration and this book is definitely the best. I recommend it to any parent, teacher, caregiver, OT or friend who wants to help understand and/or successfully treat a child with sensory integration.

I highly recommend that you also read the Out of Sync Child, and the Out of Sync Child Has Fun, by Carol Stock Kranowitz which are also essential resources on sensory integration.
0Comment|189 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2006
I've never left a review before, but wanted to do so after reading another review that basically called sensory integration disorder a made-up quack diagnosis. I have taken my 4 year old to a pediatric neurologist, a pediatric neuropsychologist, and 2 occupational therapists. ALL of them diagnosed him with sensory integation disorder. This is a real condition, and needs to be addressed and treated. After 5 months in OT, we are seeing huge improvements. Experts do diagnose SID, and OT does work. There is little out there in terms of reading resources, and I'm happy to have any information. After 3 years of thinking my son was a bit quirky, it's a blessing to read that he is not alone.
55 comments|119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2005
I am an occupational therapist and this book by far is the best resource for strategies to help all aspects of daily life impacted by difficulties with sensory processing. It has been an excellent source of knowledge for myself as well as for the families I work with. I have recommended it to many of my families.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I highly recommend this comprehensive and detailed guide to helping children with sensory issues. With authorship shared by an occupational therapist and the mother of son with sensory issues, it is chock full of helpful insights and tips from both a therapeutic and a parental perspective.

This book goes into more detail than most, is very up to date, and includes numerous resources for appropriate toys, products, and additional websites.

This is a very useful book for parents of any child who has been formally diagnosed with sensory issues or sensory integration disorder, but also for those parents who simply notice that their children are sometimes overwhelmed by their internal states or environmental stimuli.

Chapters include descriptions of the seven senses, how to tune in to your child, working with occupational therapists, handling developmental delays, improving speech, picky eating, learning and getting organized, nutrition, sleep, stress, discipline, tantrums and more!

There are also great sections on advocating for your child at school and helping your teenager with sensory issues.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2005
This is an excellent book and a must have for any parent or teacher dealing with kids with sensory issues. It's easy to read as a parent, easy to find the info you are looking for. It's got a ton of ideas in it for practical things to do with your child. It really is 'The **Definitive Handbook for helping your child with sensory integration issues!'
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2005
Beautifully written, this book is an absolute must for people who see sensory overload issues in their children. I enjoyed it because i had those issues growing up that manifested themselves in my 20s. I read it for insights into myself. a truly well-written, well-researched, terrific book.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2006
Authors Lindsey Biel and Nancy Peske have done a bang-up job in explaining to the 'everyday man' the vast and far-reaching effects of sensory challenges. As our world gets faster, louder, more crowded and stress-laden, it's not just kids with disabilities who experience sensory issues. It's all kids, to some extent or another. Take that one step further: all people. Yet many know little about sensory dysfunction and how much it can compromise learning and functioning on a daily basis.

As a writer/editor in the field of autism/Asperger's, I've read many a book about sensory integration. What makes this one stand out is the clear, conversational tone coupled with page after page of practical, helpful information. The authors explain sensory integration (yes, the SEVEN senses!), describe how to recognize it in your child (or yourself!), tell you about the professionals in the field, then go on to detail tons of everyday solutions that can make a difference in the life of your child or student. The all-important topics of nutrition, stress, sleep, and behavior issues are given their due; there's even resources for toys and equipment included.

Destined to become your 'bible' of sensory integration!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2006
As an OT with a child having sensory integration issues, I though this book was excellent for reading and giving practical solutions. I have started to refer this book to parents instead of the "OUT OF SYNC CHILD" because I found it to be easier to understand, not as technical, and gives very practical solutions for everyday dilemmas. Although I use "The Out of Sync Child" for my own reference, parents give me feedback that it was too scary for them and that all of it did not apply to them. Education is the best way to deal with Sensory Integration Dysfunction (SID) and this book helps to educate a parent!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2006
Even if you have read one or two other books on sensory integration you will find this book helpful. It delves into topics that parents care about like self-care (such as dressing, tooth brushing, and eating) and socializing (such as parties, crowds, noise), providing suggestions for making these situations easier. Many other important aspects of parenting a child with sensory integration are addressed, such as coping with tantrums, rigidity, and overload. As the parent of a child with SI (Childrensdisabilities.info) I would recommend this book to any parent who has a child with any level of sensory integration problems, but especially to those whose children are struggling in their daily lives.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse