Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest - Ram It Down
Judas Priest's eleventh studio album Ram It Down is hugely underrated in my opinion. It contains some very strong material and performances from the band.

I understand fully why this album is harshly overlooked. The band's previous album Turbo soured a lot of people towards the band in the mid to late eighties with its commercial leanings. Ram It Down and Turbo...
Published on August 1, 2011 by Gentlegiantprog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definite Priest Turning Point
Everything Sad Wings of Destiny is, this album is not. JP begins delving into more of a speed metal/industrial feel with this album. A little more techno sounding in nature with more predictable canned rhythms.
Rob Halford is, as always, over the top with vocals, and the rest of the band keeps him aloft. I've been a Priest fan for years, and I can safely say this...
Published on December 11, 2001 by MO


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest - Ram It Down, August 1, 2011
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's eleventh studio album Ram It Down is hugely underrated in my opinion. It contains some very strong material and performances from the band.

I understand fully why this album is harshly overlooked. The band's previous album Turbo soured a lot of people towards the band in the mid to late eighties with its commercial leanings. Ram It Down and Turbo were originally intended to be a double album together. Consequently, many people put that together and choose to ignore Ram It Down.

Ram It Down is actually a great album, much heavier than Turbo with far less of the synths or the glam/hair tinges. Some of the songs on Ram It Down are almost Thrash Metal in places, with double kicks going off, heavy palm muted riffs and it seems unfair to lump this in with Turbo as `that pair of sellout albums.'

Ignoring the style and direction of the album for a minute, the actual music is top notch. Tracks like `Hard As Iron,' `Come And Get It,' and the furious title track are all excellent and deliver everything you could want from Judas Priest in terms of energy, performance and vocal range and all that before you even talk about the guitar solos on the album.

Overall, Ram It Down is a great Judas Priest album and I'd urge you not to overlook it just because of its origins, if you try it you may just be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess with this one, July 9, 2001
By 
Eden C. (Jerusalem, Israel.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
RAM IT DOWN (in capital letters, yes) is unarguably Priest's heaviest album when it was released. The style greatly differs from all previous recordings, and I wouldn't agree to the saying that it sounds similar to Turbo, because it certainly doesn't. Generally I think any potencial buyer should give a listen to any track in here and decide if he likes this style. If you don't then don't bother buying this, because most likely you wouldn't enjoy it. But if this style does appeal to you I guess you'll be having a good time with this. Basically the style is exactly somewhere between Painkiller and Defenders (again, forget Turbo). Most of the songs are good, some are great, but I think you could consider several of them 'fillers'. The great cuts are the title track (featuring the best metal solo in my opinion ever), Heavy Metal, Hard as Iron and Jhonny B. Goode. Then you got several other strong songs such as Blood Red Skies (its a power ballad, like Touch Of Evil or Cathedral Spires) and Come And Get It. The rest of the songs are also enjoyable (I'm A Rocker is great), so its pretty much a strong album, but you gotta be sure you like it's sound, otherwise you may be disappointed. I certainly like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 18, 2012
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
Ram it Down as the title suggests delivers heavy power metal on all four cylinders as well as a metal version of Johnny B. Good. Solid album on all accounts and a fine addition to the Priest library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ram it down, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
After years and years of listening to many different styles in music including many heavy metal albums, I bought Ram It Down and suddenly I realized that I got a perfect heavy metal album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta have it, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
I've been a Priest fan since my high school days. I recently read a positive review of this album and I wanted to include it with the rest of my Priest albums. Glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (4.5 Stars) Very Underrated, April 19, 2003
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
I don't see what the fuss is, this is an excellent priest album. All and all, I think this album is very good, by no way does it compare to Defenders of the faith, but the majority of the songs here rock! There's The title track, which has priest written all over it, and then there's "Hard as Iron" which will blow you away. Other tunes that are just killer would have to be "Monsters Of Rock" which is just dark and creepy, and kicks, and "Heavy Metal" which is a killer preview of what's next to come on Painkiller. Sadly, Priest only made one video from this album which was the Killer cover of Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode", but I think that if they made a video to "I'm A Rocker", and "Blood Red Skies" this album would've taken off alot better. There's only one weak point, and that would be "Love Zone", which would be the only reason this album didn't get a full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping it UP, May 10, 2011
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
This album is a break away from Priest's earlier style and boasts a new unique sound that you'll find no other album out there.
You may say my view is skewed by my love of this band but let me tell you, I wouldn't love this band if it was not for this album. This album along with Painkiller represents, in my mind, the pinnacle of Judas Priest's history and words cannot describe the awe inspiring power of tracks like "Ram It Down", "I'm a Rocker" and "Blood Red Sky".

If you're a fan of good powerful metal and you don't know Judas Priest, I recommend this album and Painkiller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked!, December 4, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
Ultimate cd. Ram it down is easily one of the coolest albums of all time. Ram it down shows what heavy metal should be like today. This cd has rip-roaring solo's, good drumming, wicked singing,good,heavy riffs. I don't know how many people say that this album is so bad. Just goes to show dumb people are.
Possibly the best songs are - Ram it down, heavy metal, love zone, hard as iron and come and get it.
Get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmistakably Judas Priest, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
I have (and like) every Judas Priest album from 'Rocka Rolla' through 'Painkiller'. I've had the much-maligned 'Ram It Down' since it was released in summer '88 and I have always liked it. I think it is as enjoyable as any of the other JP albums in my collection. I find that many of the criticisms of 'Ram It Down' (and also of 'Turbo') are somewhat misguided. For example:

"It's too cliché". What?!? Judas Priest is almost every heavy metal cliché rolled-up in a single band (long stringy hair, leather, studs, & spikes, riding a Harley on stage, repetitive squealing guitar solos on every song, songs about vampires, rebellion, and head bangin', a caterwauling operatic lead vocalist, etc).

"The lyrics aren't any good" or "the lyrics and song titles are too juvenile". Again, "What?!?" The lyrics were never that good and they've been relatively juvenile since the beginning. For example, the aforementioned song about vampires, songs like "Heading Out to the Highway", "Living After Midnight", "Rock Hard Ride Free", "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll", "Leather Rebel", "Heavy Duty", "(Take These) Chains", "Breaking the Law", "Rock Forever", "Take On The World", "Metal Gods", "Running Wild", "You Don't Have to Be Old to be Wise", etc. "You've Got Another Thing Comin'"? Totally dude! Don't tell me what to do authority figure! Rock on! \m/. Deep songs & lyrics? Please.

"Judas Priest doesn't need cover songs!"; (RE Johnny B Goode). What exactly are "The Green Manalishi", "Better By You, Better Than Me", and "Diamonds and Rust", some of their 70s staples?

Now granted, Judas Priest has a lot of other very good songs in their long, diverse history that are not listed here. The songs I've called out above are for illustrative purposes in response to the main criticisms of 'Ram it Down'. I'm just highlighting the point that they've pretty much ALWAYS had songs, song titles, and lyrics like these. It's their shtick.

Many people obviously dislike this album. If you don't like the way the album sounds, then fine. Fair enough. But don't kid yourself that it is because they are doing things dramatically differently, less creatively, or somehow more immaturely.

'Ram It Down' is still unmistakably Judas Priest's distinctive brand of Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit weak, but with a few strong spots as well., March 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ram It Down (Audio CD)
After a brave experiment in commercialization with 1986's "Turbo" (which is NOT as bad as people say), Judas Priest attempted to go back to form with this 1988 release. The result: heavier songs, yes, but also a somewhat clumsy and still cheesy atmosphere. Luckily however, the good songs on "Ram It Down" are indeed VERY good, and help bring the album out of an otherwise lumpy and repetitive collection of songs.

Notable songs:
"Ram It Down"- A BADASS title track opening with an epic scream courtesy of Rob Halford and some long, brutal guitar solos. A solid, fun prototype of the content to come on "Painkiller".

"Hard As Iron"- Similar to the title track, this speedy anthem of awesomeness has more solid guitar work and a rousing pre-chorus buildup to the main chorus.

"Heavy Metal"- A corny-as-hell plodding rocker, but still kinda fun. At least it has an infectiously catchy chorus.

"Blood Red Skies"- A beautiful near 8-minute epic, with some of Halford's more refined vocals and VERY steady, near-perfect guitar work from KK Downing, Glenn Tipton, and Ian Hill. Synthesizers are put to good use on this one, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ram It Down
Ram It Down by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.