Buy Used
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by All-Booked-Up
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Disc is unscratched and in perfect condition. Case is clean and like new. 100% satisfaction guaranteed. Eligible for Amazon's FREE supersaver/prime shipping, package tracking, and 24/7 customer service.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Rambles & Reflections Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, July 9, 2002
"Please retry"
$14.33 $3.99

Amazon's Piers Lane Store


Image of album by Piers Lane


Image of Piers Lane


"No praise could be high enough for Piers Lane whose playing throughout is of a superb musical intelligence, sensitivity, and scintillating brilliance." Bryce Morrison, Gramophone

London-based Australian pianist Piers Lane has a flourishing international career, which has taken him to more than forty countries. Highlights of the past few years have included a sold-out ... Read more in Amazon's Piers Lane Store

Visit Amazon's Piers Lane Store
for 19 albums, photos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 9, 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000067UMH
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #575,099 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. The Carman's Whistle, air and variations for piano (after William Byrd)
2. Now, O now, I needs must part, song transcription for piano (after John Dowland; 2 versions; FS)
3. Hornpipe, arranged for piano (after Handel's Water Music Suite No. 1; FS 2)
4. Handelian Rhapsody, for piano (ed. Percy Grainger), Op. 17 (W 134)
5. Air and Dance, transcription for piano (after Delius; edited by Threlfall)
6. Irish Dances (4), transcription for piano (after Charles Villiers Stanford): A March-Jig (Maguire's Kick)
7. Irish Dances (4), transcription for piano (after Charles Villiers Stanford): A Slow Dance
8. Irish Dances (4), transcription for piano (after Charles Villiers Stanford): The Leprechaun's Dance
9. Irish Dances (4), transcription for piano (after Charles Villiers Stanford): A Reel
10. Beautiful Fresh Flower, folk song for piano (after traditional Chinese music)
11. Ramble on Love, for piano (after the Love Duet from Richard Strauss' 'Der Rosenkavalier;' FS 4)
12. Cradle Song, arrangement for piano (after Brahms, Op. 49/4; FS 1)
13. Après un Rêve, song transcription for piano (after Fauré, Op. 7/1; FS 7)
14. Nell, song transcription for piano (after Fauré, Op. 18/1; FS 3)
15. Paraphrase on Tchaikovsky's Waltz of the Flowers, for piano
16. The Man I Love, concert adaptation for piano (after Gershwin's song transcription for piano)
17. Love Walked In, transcription for piano (after Gershwin)
18. Lullaby from 'Tribute To Foster', for piano (complex version)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By klavierspiel VINE VOICE on March 20, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Percy Grainger is a distinctive figure in the history of classical music and piano playing, an odd mix of blazing talent and homespun musical naivete. From his piano transcriptions gathered here on this CD there is no doubt about his ability to get around the keyboard, or his extraordinarily wide-ranging musical tastes. His musical treatments encompass everything from William Byrd to George Gershwin, with varying degrees of success as far as taste and appropriateness are concerned, but always with captivating virtuosity and an unerring ear for effective piano sonority. One half-smiles, half-cringes at the startling harmonies in which a Dowland lute piece is clothed, for example; on the other hand, the sugar-spun embroidery he lavishes on his version of the first-act duet from Der Rosenkavalier is entirely appropriate to the original.
Piers Lane performs all of this frequently finger-breaking music with digital dexterity and loving care, though some of the more demanding passages come off as cautious rather than coruscating. There can be no doubt about the quality of the recorded sound, however, or the beautiful sounds of the Fazioli piano he uses. All in all, this particular out-of-the way corner of the repertory has been given the deluxe treatment on this CD.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Audio CD
I endorse what the previous reviewer has said about this disc; I give it four stars rather than five only because while I greatly like this disk I'm not madly in love with it. Piers Lane rambles through piano transcriptions dished up by Percy Grainger -- everything from Elizabethan tunes like The Carman's Whistle to Irish Dances by Stanford to George Gershwin. It's a marvelous solo piano disc for a rainy day, even those rainy days when it's not actually raining. Grainger devoted a lot of energy to treatments in this vein, and this disc is one of the best collections of the type, both in terms of selections and performance. This is good stuff.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category