Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


267 of 272 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up the Camouflage
This review will not focus on critiques of the Rambo films, but rather on the details of the various digital home video releases. Since there have been three Rambo complete collection DVD sets and a blu-ray set so far, the contents of the various releases can be a quandary for fans. In 2002, Artisan originally released all 3 movies in a Rambo Trilogy Special Edition DVD...
Published on May 3, 2008 by S. R.

versus
120 of 139 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly "COMPLETE".....
I love the Rambo movies but I have to address something about this new so called "Complete" set coming out on July 27. This new Rambo - The Complete Collector's Set on Blu-ray Disc appears to just be the 4 movies that are out now on blu-ray put into one package. You can actually go ahead and buy the four movies on blu-ray and get everything that is included in this set...
Published on May 30, 2010 by Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

267 of 272 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up the Camouflage, May 3, 2008
This review will not focus on critiques of the Rambo films, but rather on the details of the various digital home video releases. Since there have been three Rambo complete collection DVD sets and a blu-ray set so far, the contents of the various releases can be a quandary for fans. In 2002, Artisan originally released all 3 movies in a Rambo Trilogy Special Edition DVD Collection. This was an incredible set put together as nothing short of a labor of love. Not only were the movies digitally re-mastered, but the set came with an abundance of special features including commentaries, documentaries, and trailers, most of which were included in a bonus 4th disc. In 2004, Artisan released the Rambo Trilogy Ultimate Edition DVD Set after the Special Edition DVD set went out of print. The Ultimate set was primarily a waste of money for many fans, as most of the Special Edition DVD features did not carry over. Instead, the 'Special Operations' interactive features were offered up as a poor substitute. The only notable inclusion to this set was found on the 'First Blood' DVD, which featured the alternate ending and a commentary track by Stallone. This was later released in 2008 as the Rambo Trilogy Blu-Ray Box set featuring the same bonus content as the Ultimate Edition DVD set but with improved picture and sound. Also in 2008, Lionsgate released the Rambo: The Complete Collector's DVD Set featuring all 4 movies. This set carried over most of the bonus features from both of the previous DVD collections, although the advertised 'First Blood' commentary with author David Morrell from the Special Edition was erroneously missing. The individual movies were identical to the Ultimate Edition set but the bonus disc from the Special Edition set was also included, along with a few featurettes found only on the individual Special Edition movies. In 2010, Lionsgate released the Rambo: The Complete Collector's Blu-Ray Set, which reinstated the David Morrell 'First Blood' commentary but had many of the featurettes found on the DVD set's bonus disc inexplicably omitted. Below are the specs for the 2008 Complete Rambo Collection DVD set, which is the most comprehensive release to date in terms of bonus features. Any differences with the 2010 blu-ray collection has been noted in parenthesis:

First Blood
Audio commentary with Sylvester Stallone
Audio commentary with David Morrell (blu-ray and Ultimate Edition DVD set only)
Deleted scenes including the alternate ending
Interactive Military Special Operations Features- Survival Mode, Early Warning System, MetaBrief, MetaScope, MetaSight, MetaPoint, MetaMap

Rambo: First Blood Part II
Audio commentary with director George P. Cosmatos
Interactive Military Special Operations Features- Survival Mode, Early Warning System, MetaBrief, MetaScope, MetaSight, MetaPoint, MetaMap

Rambo III
Audio commentary with director Peter MacDonald
Deleted Scenes (not on blu-ray)
Interactive Military Special Operations Features- Survival Mode, Early Warning System, MetaBrief, MetaScope, MetaSight, MetaPoint, MetaMap

Rambo
Audio commentary by Sylvester Stallone
"Legacy of Despair: The Struggle in Burma" featurette
"It's a Long Road: Resurrection of an Icon" featurette
"A Score to Settle: The Music of Rambo" featurette
"The Art of War: Completing Rambo" featurette
"The Weaponry of Rambo" featurette
"A Hero's Welcome: Release & Reaction" featurette
Deleted Scenes

Bonus Disc
"The Real Nam: Voices from Within" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"Guts and Glory" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"The Forging of Heroes: America's Green Berets" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"Rambo-nomics" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"Selling a Hero" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"Suiting Up" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"An American Hero's Journey: The Rambo Trilogy" featurette (not on blu-ray)
"Drawing First Blood" featurette
"We Get to Win This Time" featurette
"Afghanistan: Land in Crisis" featurette
Theatrical Trailers for all 4 Films

To recap, those who have the 2002 Special Edition DVD set are probably better off buying the individual release of the last Rambo film. Those who own the 2004 Ultimate Edition DVD set might consider upgrading if the features on the 2008 bonus disc sound appealing. The 2008 Complete Collector's DVD set is probably best suited for those who don't own either of the previous DVD collections. And for those wanting the best video and audio experience, the 2010 blu-ray collection is clearly the best choice, even though some of the bonus features from the 2008 DVD release were omitted. Whatever set one decides to purchase, the constant re-release of the Rambo movies, although frustrating to many, can also be seen as a testament to the enduring legacy of a pop cultural icon that refuses to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 139 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly "COMPLETE"....., May 30, 2010
This review is from: Rambo: The Complete Collector's Set (First Blood / Rambo: First Blood Part II / Rambo III / Rambo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the Rambo movies but I have to address something about this new so called "Complete" set coming out on July 27. This new Rambo - The Complete Collector's Set on Blu-ray Disc appears to just be the 4 movies that are out now on blu-ray put into one package. You can actually go ahead and buy the four movies on blu-ray and get everything that is included in this set only in single cases instead of waiting for this green box or 4 disc case or whatever it is exactly. I really doubt it will be a metal tin case like the Complete Collector's Set that came out on DVD a few years back.

Also to be labeled as "Complete" there are a few very obvious things missing.

First off, the biggest and most obvious omission is the new Rambo - Extended Cut that is being released on Blu-ray on its own the exact same day as this set. That's right, a whole new version of the fourth movie with 90 minutes of new extra features and it's being left out. Why it was not included in this "Complete" set makes absolutely no sense to me at all.

The second big omission is a bonus disc including all of the extra features and documentaries that were available on a bonus disc first in the Special Edition Trilogy set and then the DVD version of the Complete Collector's Set a couple of years ago. There are nearly 2 hours of documentaries and featurettes about the original 3 movies that are not on the blu-ray discs out now. Wouldn't this have been a perfect opportunity to press a new bonus blu-ray disc with all these features and include it with this set?

The third thing missing from this set and, although not nearly as important as the first two, should still have been included is the deleted scenes from Rambo III. For some reason Lionsgate left them off of the Rambo III blu-ray. Since the July 27 Complete Collector's set appears to just have the same blu-ray of Rambo III out now don't look for it to have those deleted scenes.

Now back to that bonus disc I was talking about above; That's why a new bonus disc needs to be made so it can include them. The one made for the DVD set a few years back won't work as those scenes are not on it either so you can't just throw it in with this set. Not to mention the Teaser Trailers for the original 3 movies from the Special Editions and two featurettes "First Blood: A Look Back" and "Rambo III: Full Circle" found on the Special Edition Trilogy bonus disc but not on the DVD version of the Complete Collector's Set bonus disc. They may just be a montage of clips from the movies set to music but since Lionsgate owns them how hard would it be to include them as well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosive!, January 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rambo: The Complete Collector's Set (First Blood / Rambo: First Blood Part II / Rambo III / Rambo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Rambo series will forever be classics in film. Simply put, this boxed set is not only a must have for the Rambo fan, rather anyone who enjoys great flicks! This set includes all 4 installments in the Rambo series and packs quite the punch on each disk.

The Good: Includes First Blood, Rambo: First Blood Part II, Rambo III, and Rambo. All updated in HD and looking amazing. Sound is awesome in surround sound and seems cleaned up over the dvd boxed set. Plenty of bonus features to dive into as well. Awesome packaging keeps the case thin and compact unlike some other sets that feel the need to take up "book-sized" space on your shelf.

The Bad: Only thing I don't like is that the version of Rambo(2008) included is simply disc one of the collectors edition. If like me, you like your bonus features you may want to grab the Rambo Trilogy [Blu Ray] instead and opt for the 2 disc version of Rambo.

Other than that, this has been one of my favorite acquisitions of late and I more than recommend it to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is over....., May 30, 2008
By 
BJ "Brett Starr" (East Peoria, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Just bought this collection! It's awesome. Very clean looking design.

This collection is for any Rambo fan!

The new movie "Rambo" is awesome. Like other reviewers mention, it is very realistic. The movie takes place in Burma, where events depicted in the movie are happening daily.

The collection includes Rambo 1,2, 3 and 4. Plus a digital copy of the new Rambo and a special features disc.

This is the ultimate Rambo collection for your DVD library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great package not for the hard of hearing, July 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like this collectors set, the dvds come in a metal box that has some really nice graphics. The extra features are also quite good and the quality of the movies is also very good. The reason I give it 3 stars is that the first 3 movies have no subtitle options I live with someone that has hearing problems and well with no subtitles we have to crank up the volume a bit so we can both enjoy the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!, July 22, 2008
By 
yenrab (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
What you get is a tin outershell that houses a 6 panel, fold-out digi-pak. I was actually suprised to see this in a digi-pak. I was expecting them to package it like the Bourne set. But it's nice! I'm pretty sure the first three films are the same dvds from the other releases but I'm not 100% sure on that bit. Overall I was very pleased!
The only thing that is weird is that the 5th disc, which got its own panel, is the digital copy of Rambo (2008). I understand why, because we're getting the two disc Rambo (2008), but it just seems odd - overall. If Stallone really does release this Director's cut of Rambo (2008) he's been talking about, then I'll take that disc and put it on panel #5!!!! HAHA! And throw that digital copy dvd away. Marketing gimick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rambo Gets Light Treatment, September 7, 2013
This review is from: Rambo: The Complete Collector's Set (First Blood / Rambo: First Blood Part II / Rambo III / Rambo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Four Rambo films are available in this Complete Collector's Set on Blu-ray. Get all these great actions films in one place. This was one of two iconic roles for Sylvester Stallone (along with Rocky). This set does not include the recently released 'Rambo' Extended Cut. The films get 4 stars but this release gets 2 stars. It is even lighter than the bloated Rocky BD collection (though there are six films in that franchise). Ignore the Amazon editorial review which refers to the 6-disc DVD collection; this Blu-ray Collector's Set is 4 discs.

In terms of bonus content, Lionsgate shows the most attention towards 'First Blood' and not all of the supplements for that have even been ported over from DVD. A total of over 2 hours of bonus content for 4 films doesn't cut it. The main problem is that an additional 2 hours of vintage features and documentaries that were available in the Special Edition Trilogy BD set and the Complete Collector's DVD Set released earlier are missing. Deleted scenes from Rambo III are also absent. That could have made this a deluxe release. Fans who already own the BD Trilogy will find nothing new except for the 2008 film and a few more trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny and then some, June 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ive owned the first three films first on vhs then on dvd but decided since I am a true fan that I owed it to the man to purchase the complete collectors edition. I saw Rambo 4 5 times in the theatre and still feel this box set was worth the money Keep it up SLY I hear theres talk of a 5th Rambo in the works. I pray for this day to come Live for somethin or die for nothin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rambo, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love these movies, however, I wanted the last Rambo and its not in there it has a digital copy and I am not happy with that. I have to order the last one still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Rambo, June 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the second movie for the Nostalgia and the other two earlier ones I liked. I bought this without having seen the new one and knowing another version of the new one would be coming. With that in mind I loved the final one and the series what a great thing sly has done going back and actually caring about the characters he created with this and Rocky. I left one star off for the third one and because I couldn't give 4.5, buy this if you like any of them great deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.