Customer Reviews


1,002 Reviews
5 star:
 (678)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


397 of 424 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of two robots striving to be human...in a love letter to the 70 and 80s.
I love Daft Punk. And I love French House. And I love 80s Pop and 70s Disco and R&B even more. So when I first listened to Random Access Memories, my first thought was this: Finally, they made the album that really took us back into time, the time of when music was different. When records couldn't be leaked, or streamed, and they weren't just a few singles amidst a bunch...
Published 13 months ago by Christian Matozzo

versus
133 of 172 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dad Funk
From a production standpoint, Random Access Memories sounds phenomenal. It's music as a gourmet lollipop. Total ear candy. An audiophile's best friend. What more could one ask for? What indeed...

First, how about something new? Daft Punk explored very similar sounds on their 2001 masterpiece "Discovery." Back then, their shift from underground house and techno...
Published 13 months ago by s.t.


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

397 of 424 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of two robots striving to be human...in a love letter to the 70 and 80s., May 21, 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Music)
I love Daft Punk. And I love French House. And I love 80s Pop and 70s Disco and R&B even more. So when I first listened to Random Access Memories, my first thought was this: Finally, they made the album that really took us back into time, the time of when music was different. When records couldn't be leaked, or streamed, and they weren't just a few singles amidst a bunch of filler tracks. They were albums, totally made as one complete package, to be listened to from beginning to end.

For fans of Daft Punk who love dance music, house, and techno, this is NOT an EDM album. It's not the house music that we know Daft Punk to have made, with filtered sampled loops, drum machine-programmed beats, and electronic harsh noise. It's not any of that that. You can't fist-pump to this music, you can't go nuts to it. So when you listen to Random Access Memories for the first time, go into it with a different state of mind than "House Music." I invite you instead to hop into your DeLorean, and take a plunge back to the year of 1979, when dance music was quite different...

Random Access Memories is Discovery if Daft Punk had produced it 30 years ago. This is a tribute to those who grew up in the 70s and late-80s. To those who grew up listening to Roger Troutman's vocoder in the band "Zapp" on classic songs like Computer Love, it's on this album. To those who danced to Nile Rodgers' impeccable guitar licks on classic Chic songs like Good Times and I Want Your Love, they're here too. And to those who enjoyed the mellowed-out soulful keyboard playing of Michael McDonald and the Jazz Crusaders, it's all here too. From the beginning track, "Give Life Back To Music", to "Get Lucky" to "Beyond" and everything in-between, you can hear the distinctive influence of the 70s.

Random Access Memories is also for those Who grew up watching movies like Tron, Blade Runner, and The Muppet Movie, and television shows like Miami Vice. You hear it in every one of the songs, that at-night, convertible top-down, cruise style of the album. The immense amount of vocoder, the guitar licks, strings, and synthesizers. The happy children playing. While Random Access Memories may not be as mind-blowing as Discovery was, this is a fantastically-produced album. This album is like watching a movie. It's a soundtrack to a life, really, a life of two robots trying to be human. It's slower-paced, somber, and meaningful. And it's really good. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human after all, May 21, 2013
By 
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
Daft Punk's fourth studio album proper has got to be the most anticipated album so far this year. It far exceeds the hype; Disco, Funk, and Rock with a human feel. Most of the instrumentation is real with Nile Rodgers scratchy funky guitars, and other guests like Pharrell, Julian Casablancas, Paul Williams, Todd Edwards, Panda Bear, and the legendary Giorgio Moroder who appears on "Giorgio By Moroder" narrating his earlier career in Germany (and particularly his work on Donna Summer's ground breaking "I Remember Yesterday" album" which incorporated sounds from the 50s through to the futuristic "I Feel Love") to a groovy backdrop before beautifully morphing into ornate Disco reminiscent of Cerrone.

The sound is far off from what everyone from David Guetta, Calvin Harris, or Skrillex are churning out. "Give Life Back To Music" is the opening cut and does what the title says, a robotic voice intoning against a groovy Chic-style retro groove, flying in the face of the anonymous mechanical Electronic Dance music currently cluttering up the charts.

"Instant Crush" features Julian Casablancas dreamy elfin vocals against a chugging rock-ish arrangement. Lose Yourself To Dance" takes the tempo down a wee bit and features the vocals of Pharrell, who also sings on the breezy smash hit lead-single "Get Lucky". "Fragments Of Time" features Todd Edwards singing to a sunny 70s/80s Pop backdrop, while "Doin' It Right" is a spare robotic ballad featuring Panda Bear.

"Within" is a stunning piano ballad with a winsome robotic voice singing "There are so many things that I don't understand..." which recalls Radiohead. "Touch" is an ambitious tempo-shifting piece with groovy bass, darting horns, and the vocals of Paul Williams, a maelstrom of instrumentation and a masterpiece! "Beyond" is an incredibly beautiful mid tempo trippy groove. Similar is "The Game Of Love".

For those that enjoy their instrumental pieces, there's the swirling "Motherboard" (with interesting percussion patterns), and "Contact" (which starts off with the real-life recording of astronaut Eugene Cernan's narration of a UFO sighting).

Daft Punk take you on an exhilarating ride, one of the best you'll get this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were you expecting this?, May 21, 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I've never been a huge fan of EDM music. I've listened to a bit of Daft Punk in the past, but I wouldn't call myself a fan. Trolling my iTunes shows I had four of their songs from various albums (basically the hits), and the video for Around The World, because I'm a big Michel Gondry fan.

That out of the way, fans of Daft Punk knew that this was going to be a departure from their normal sound, as they eschewed their electronic sounds in lieu of real instruments. As I write this, the response from the EDM crowd is very, very polarizing. For fans who were looking for something different than the first single, "Get Lucky" will be disappointed, as the album takes that course through it's run. For fans of "Get Lucky", you're in for a treat. It's the best thing Pharrell has been involved with in a long, long time. His other appearance on the album is great as well. Touch is a song that feels like it spans three generations over it's 8 minute run time.

Upon a few listens, this sound is very 'disco revival'. Low, funky bass lines help an obvious 70's inspiration. Comparing it to older tracks, such as One More Time or Around The World makes it seem like these are two different bands...not a problem for me. Something makes me think Daft Punk was aiming to create their 'Thriller'.

I suggest listening to the single first, and if you like it, pick up the album. If you don't, steer clear.

My standout tracks:
Give Life Back To Music
Lose Yourself To Dance (feat. Pharrell)
Touch (feat. Paul Williams)
Get Lucky (feat. Pharrell)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 172 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dad Funk, May 21, 2013
By 
s.t. (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Music)
From a production standpoint, Random Access Memories sounds phenomenal. It's music as a gourmet lollipop. Total ear candy. An audiophile's best friend. What more could one ask for? What indeed...

First, how about something new? Daft Punk explored very similar sounds on their 2001 masterpiece "Discovery." Back then, their shift from underground house and techno stylings to a vibrant hybrid of "uncool" sounds from 70's and 80's AM radio was not only novel, it took guts to pull off. Now, two proper albums and twelve years later, DP are falling backward rather than pushing their music forward. Even worse, what really sets RAM apart from Discovery is the extent to which it slavishly imitates its influences rather than forge something new and identifiably D-Punkian. If you're already stocked up on Chic and Earth, Wind & Fire records and still can't get enough of those grooves, by all means enjoy the feast that awaits you here. But if not, you're better off getting the originals rather than the comparably tame knock-offs. For instance, "Get Lucky" and "Lose Yourself to Dance" both feature some classic funky licks from Chic's Nile Rogers, not to mention singer Pharrell Williams' best impersonation of EW&F. The songs are close to being a perfect fusion of the two bands, and yet Pharrell's voice sounds thin and forced compared to the smooth disco legends of yore, and his lyrics are just embarrassing. Plus, nowhere in the songs do the personality of its creators (remember, Daft Punk?) really pop out. Discovery is more than a decade old now, and it still sounds fresher than this one. So does "Moon Safari," the 1998 album by Air. You know, that other French electronic duo who fused M.O.R. music from similar eras into a sound that the loungier tracks of R.A.M. come very close to duplicating---but alas, not quite.

Second, how about something with a little more life to it? Even if you just want to ape your childhood heroes, at least do it with abandon. With the exception of the slightly more outré narrative compositions "Giorgio on Moroder" and "Touch," so much of this record feels safe, predictable, over-calculated, and bloodless. The lyrics are mind-numbingly superficial, just clichéd disco or ballad boilerplate. Don't get me wrong, Homework and Discovery weren't deep either, but their mish-mash of styles were darn inspired, often transcendent. By comparison, this can be ponderous, stodgy, even a bit preachy in its promotion of pop's past. Judging from the promotional features, it seemed as if Daft Punk were nursing some high ambitions with this record, and yet it's the most conservative thing I've heard in some time. Worse, it's completely guarded: these fuddy-duddies hiding in Robo helmets have obscured their own personalities within their perfected replication of bygone eras. Kraftwerk sounds more expressive than this, and they were trying really hard to keep the robot thing up! Bangalter and de Homem-Christo, on the other hand, obsessing over the sonic details of their musical wax museum, have left all of the human touches to their guests. Ultimately, the Robots only care to give us a well-crafted dance "product," a rich gourmet lollipop (with authentic nostalgia flavor!), a classy alternative to Skrillex, and hope we don't crave something more substantial.

Some will be perfectly fine with this luxury confection. They'll eat it up without a second thought. Me, I'll pare this down to the eight best songs (i.e., the ones that aren't completely boring), and have a grooving, non-intrusive soundtrack to spreadsheet maintenance and household chores. One for the ages...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAM Chic, May 21, 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
"A light but polished, elegant record whose robotic vocals would hold expressiveness and emotion."- Thomas Bangalter.

Random Access Memories, the fourth album from Daft Punk, is eclectic, innovative, engaging and very interesting to listen to. If you're expecting just another EDM cd, you'd be disappointed. If not, you're gonna love it. Lending their cache to the effort are singing legend Paul Williams, Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Pharrell Williams, Chilly Gonzales and music icon Nile Rodgers, whose fingerprints are all over the place. The decision to take it back to a classic early 80's mix of disco and smooth jazz-styles featuring session musicians is a good one. This cd sounds... alive! You'd almost think the late Roger and Larry Troutman from ZAPP! were looking down on them while they made it. With 13 tracks, each one has something special, something to make you want to explore and not just play them. Also makes it hard to pick out some to highlight.

01- Give Life to Back to Music: if you're of that certain age, soon as you hear the drums, rhythm guitar, bass and party chatter flowing through this one you'll want to lace up your roller skates and hit the rink! And you won't take them off until the cd's finished.

03- Giorgio by Moroder: a slice of musical history with disco icon Giorgio Moroder as he outlines his music journey through snippets mixed in with the beats and rhythms. Most interesting is how he was recorded with three distinct mics- including two from the 60s, 70s- to reflect his decades-spanning career.

05- Instant Crush with Julian Casablancas: One of my faves, but the music is almost spot on from another 80s tune, "Eye In The Sky" by Alan Parsons Project, right down to the filtering of Casablanca's voice (Thanks to Eric Shepard and Booky McGee for helping me out with that).

06- Lose Yourself to Dance with Pharrell Williams: Not really into his singing, but this one is one of the best tracks! And yeah, those are real hand claps you're hearing.

07- Touch featuring Paul Williams: Williams also wrote the lyrics. Ever-shifting and psychedelically complex, it's rumored to be based upon a Brian de Palma film that Williams also starred in and scored. Reminds you in a lot of ways of the Beatles, especially "A Day in the Life".

08- Get Lucky with Pharrell Williams: the first single release. It's what a night out is all about, not just what the title's metaphor suggests.

09- Beyond: starts out with string sweeps like a movie score, but switches into a keyboard/guitar rhythm straight from Michael McDonald's classic "I Keep Forgetting".

11- Fragments of Time with Todd Edwards: another infective, jazzy upbeat tune to nod your head to. Singing reminds you of Justin Timberlake or Jon B.

13- Contact: starting with a recording from the Apollo 17 mission describing a strange object witnessed in space to set the tone, there's some shades of TRON: Legacy here, but what really makes it are the drums as the song progresses and peaks.

This one is completely unexpected and that's part of what makes it so much fun! It's a bold, creative effort from the boys and proves the old adage of sometimes you have to go back in order to move forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk Providing The Right Dynamic For The New Funk Frontier!, May 22, 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
Daft Punk first came to my attention when I heard the song "Voyager" from their Discovery album on a local community radio station. Compared to some of the very beige colored pop of that era and beyond,this type of new music had heart. It had a musical and rhythmic truth. And it was as much the funk as one could live! For a DJ duo whose sound of the time was built on densely layered samples I got this impression the entire "french house" movement served a similar function as Acid Jazz had before it: disguised terms for funk music. Of course Daft Punk made it clear on their first album that people such as George Clinton were significant inspirations to their musical vision. Of course any DJ/electronica artist could easily embrace Bernie Worrell's "video game" synthesizer sound and have. Daft Punk understand more. They understand the song craft, subtleties of harmony and thrill of innovation-getting their listeners to stretch their ears. And most of all they understand rhythm. After producing live and soundtrack work and remixes Daft Punk are back with a full on studio album. And the all the way live instrumental style of funk has finally arrived in their musical lives!

"Give Life Back To Music" is a creamy dance/funk number,right out of the bass/guitar mode of Chic of course yet done so well and not only that but puts a strong manifesto,even just by the title alone,to the function of funkiness in music as a positive force. "The Game Of Love",Within"-with its beautiful piano intro and "Beyond" really fascinate me because the vocals are still handled with genuine vocorders-NOT autotune. That means there's a strong sense of human harmony and range behind the electronic tones and,with that slinky jazzy smooth groove slower sound behind them make a nod at Herbie Hancock's very neglected 1980-1981 style of slower funk. "Giorgio By Mororder" is a true magnum opus. Starting with Giorgio himself being interviewed about his career as essentially an EDM innovator with an ear for strong rhythms and grooves over some scintillating funky dance music,this 8+ minute number explores everything from jazz Fender Rhodes piano solos to swelling synthesized funk/disco-dance/70's electronica type sound scapes-often at the same time. "Instant Crush" brings in Julian Casablancas for an in the pocket rock n soul type number-something I never really heard them do before. "Love Yourself To Dance" is a thick,grinding,stomping,out and out funk groove with Pharrell Williams. Of course he's right back with them on the first hit from this album "Get Lucky"-a great choice as its one of the (if not the one) strongest number here.

"Touch" is a very compelling number-melding Daft Punk's own melding of both the funk and polka ends of the disco-dance experience with Paul Williams' honky tonk/bar room pop sound for a musical hybrid that ends up grooving thickly as Heatwave's "The Groove Line",only with somewhat more of a swinging bounce. "Motherboard" and "Fragments Of Time" leap right out as heavy duty and explorative jazz/funk odyssey's of the highest order-combining complex electronic and live percussion with these broadly played electric piano and bass/guitar lines. "Doin' It Right" brings in singer Panda Bear for a layered drum machine boogie funk style-expanding even on their "french house" roots. The album end with "Contact",a loose ended combination of 70's funk with 90's drum n bass effects. With guest musicals Paul Jackson,Omar Hakim along with a massive symphony orchestra this album basically pulls together into the epiphany of Daft Punk's entire musical journey so far. I am unsure what electronica/house/DJ or even modern dance music lovers will make of this album. In it's most basic sense it is a full on funk and dance/groove/disco styled album-based fully in live instrumentation or electronics used in an organic fashion. But really that's the very fruit of Daft Punk's entire musical tree. To me,this is likely the best album they've released so far. And exactly the type of music,being so based in funk's strong instrumental ethic, that the pop radio and charts need at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk's Disco album reviewed by someone who hates Disco, May 22, 2013
This review is on both the album itself and the vinyl edition of the album.

The album:
The album is a very good album. However, it should be noted that its different than their past stuff. The album is basically Daft Punk doing Disco music. Normally, I hate Disco. However, this album is a rare exception. They seem to have managed to take all of the redeemable aspects of Disco and combine it with their signature sound. That being said, the album is also very interested because it features Daft Punk working with a full band on the songs and even an orchestra on some of the material. The album features contributions by big names like Nile Rodgers (Cher), Pharrell Williams (N.E.R.D., The Neptunes), and Paul Williams. In addition to the big names, the music features experienced session musicians that have worked on some very famous recordings like Michael Jackson's Thriller.

The vinyl:
The vinyl edition of the album features the album spread over two 180 gram 12"s. These twelve inches are housed in a gatefold sleeve that also houses a card with a code to download the album and a few page booklet that features the album's credits (who played on what) and the lyrics to the songs. After listening to both the vinyl and the mp3s that come with the record, I would have to say that the vinyl is highly superior in sound quality. Even though I listened to both versions on the same speakers, I was surprised that the mp3s did not had the same in-depth low end groove that the vinyl did. After doing some reading on the album online, I found out that the album was almost exclusively recorded in analog with high end gear. Because of this, it makes sense that the vinyl edition sounds better.

Overall:
Daft Punk does Disco. I very much like the album. It features Daft Punk going an interesting direction that almost seems to a beautiful 180 from what the majority of popular artists are doing. However, if you expect to hear old school Daft Punk, I would recommend that you check out some of the tracks before you buy the album. Some of my favorite songs are "Get Lucky", "Giorgio by Moroder", and "Doin' It Right". In closing, I will note that the vinyl edition may be a bit of leap price wise but I strongly believe that it sounds better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Robots take you to another dimension, May 23, 2013
By 
M. Segura (Monterey Park, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
Probably like most first listeners, I was left wondering what exactly just happened with this album. I had read in interviews before the album dropped that Daft Punk were looking to stray away from the sort of pre-programmed music era of EDM (not that they've ever been part of that) and that they were looking to bring back some real and authentic music. Well they didn't lie because if you were expecting anything as their album predecessors, you're in for a rude awakening. There were a handful of tracks that stood out to me at first and although you can catch a touch of their usual style here and there, Daft Punk truly did their best to sound anything but like the typical Daft Punk. I can tell you that the majority of the album's tracks are very steady and slower tempo beats. They've written slower tracks in the past but also had many harder and faster tracks. You won't really find anything like that here. Yet after I was left, not disappointed, but more like curious with what happened, I decided I had to give it another listen. Well I don't know why but the second time around it felt so different. I really started to appreciate every track on the album (not just the first few I liked). Perhaps that was the intention of the guys. First time around maybe not so much. But the second or third, it started to make sense.

I think many hardcore fans will give it a perfect rating simply because of their love for these guys. But I've been listening to electronica and groups like Daft Punk for 15 years. I enjoy them just as much as the next fan. But I can't sit here and honestly rate it 5 stars. What I can tell you is that I honestly enjoyed this album a lot. It wasn't perfection by any means but the effort definitely deserves credit. I think many of the mainstream electronica lovers will probably frown on this album and that's to be expected. But I think real appreciators of electronica music will be able to see through this record and realize what a wonderful job Daft Punk has done. It wouldn't surprise me if they return to their typical style in the next record which is fine. But for now, Random Access Memories is what we got and I believe both Daft Punk and ourselves are lucky for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't sell this album short, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
What most reviews have already said already is certainly true... this is a departure for Daft Punk, something very different. If you go in expecting a boom-chick-boom-chick album, then yeah you're definitely going to be disappointed. Good news though, there are a billion other artists occupying that space right now so there is no shortage of twists on that formula to sample.

That said, and I say this as someone who enjoys electronic music, I'm sort of glad they didn't go that route. You have to be willing to give it a real chance, but this is a very interesting album to listen to. To summarize it as a 70's tribute is, in my opinion, not giving the album enough credit... there is more to it than appears at first. Listening to the samples isn't going to help with this one, unfortunately. Its just not that kind of album.

At first listen, its going to sound like some kind of... I don't know... adult contemporary music. It can be off-putting, and trust me I'm not a fan of the type of music I thought this might be at first. If you happen to be the type that enjoys, or even has an appreciation for, jazz / funk / and I guess disco (though I'd not describe myself as a disco fan, personally, nor do I go out of my way to listen to either jazz or funk), I encourage you to use your best quality music-listening setup, start the album at the beginning and just let it play. The modern-ness of the album will become more obvious with a more critical listen, but you've got to put the cynicism aside and give it an honest shot. If you listen to the whole thing going "OMG DISCO WTF", it'll be like yelling at a movie over the dialogue. This is the first album I've listened to in a long time that seems to lend itself to being listened to as a whole, as opposed to a collection of songs. At times I felt like I was almost watching a movie... it just kind of hooked me into listening.

I'll be honest, I'm not familiar with hardly any of the supporting cast, but I will say that there is definitely some serious musicianship on display here. Recording quality is excellent. The guitars and percussion sound stand-out great. The way the traditional instruments are integrated with synths and especially the synth-vocals is really something else, and is a great example of some talented people taking ideas from the past, integrating modern elements, and creating something unique that stands on its own. I wouldn't say its a new genre of music, but then again I don't know that I've ever heard anything that sounds like it, either (If the EDM crowd really went for this album, they'd already have come up with a subgenre name for it.... funk-step maybe).

Just let the album be what they intended it to be, and it might surprise you... I know I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl is good, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
You all know the music is great,but this is a top class vinyl pressing.Quiet vinyl surfaces and great dynamics make it worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Random Access Memories
Random Access Memories by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.