Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary, Second Edition
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 1, 2014
I've always had one and my other one literally fell apart, ergo lots of use. In today's world proper grammar and correct usage, and spelling are so lacking, this volume should be in everyone's home, not just relying on computer spell check.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
Although, I really like the Webster's Unabridged, my previous Dictionary was the Webster's Deluxe Unabridged. It was quite obvious when I opened the box, seeing the size of the comparable dictionary. The additional appendices in the Deluxe version ie., dictionaries of Biography, Geography, Names of Fiction, Myth & Legend, Foreign Words & Phrases, Scripture Proper Names and sections on Abbreviations, Practical Mathematics, Forms of Address, Tables of Weights & Measures and a limited color Atlas, sure come in handy in one tome. I still give the Unabridged Version 4 Stars. John H.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
My old Random House unabridged dictionary wore out after decades. This new edition serves the same faithful, comprehensive reference function with even better, dated etymology. Physically the volume is very well made with fine paper and sturdy binding. It lacks, however, several appendices---US Constitution, UN Charter, and especially concise foreign language translational dictionaries: Spanish, French, German, Italian---which I cut from the disintegrated old edition and save along with my separate thesaurus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2010
I will buy it again when (a) they come out with a serious update and (b) they offer a DVD version only -- I no longer need a ton of regurgitated dead trees.

Meanwhile it is my computer dictionary of choice despite a clunky out-of-date interface.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Great Product!! I would recommend this dictionary to everyone! Be advised this dictionary is a very large book with small print inside.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
This is to the professional writer what Merriam Webster is to the serious college student. Over 300,000 words as compared with over 200,000. It needs a separate corner of a desk or a separate small table. It is massive. Next step up = OED….for libraries.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
WE USE OUR BOOK WHEN WE PLAY UPWORDS WHICH WE PLAY ONCE A WEEK. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT MY OLD BOOK HAD MORE TO OFFER. HOWEVER I AM WILLING TO ADMIT THAT IS PROBABLY THAT WE ARE SO USED TO THE OLD ONE. MY HUSBAND SEES NO DIFFERENCE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2001
First drawback to this program is the very poor help function. Quite a bit of information about the program is missing in the help part of the program. Example X-Ref button, its displayed in the printed documentation, but no explanation of what it does. You cant find any reference to it at all by accessing help within the program. You can however find an explanation in the readme30 document on the cd-rom. The online help button in the program just links you to the Microsoft web site, WHY ? Second - poor integration into word. Even though there are explicit instructions I could not get it to integrate into Word 2000 under WindowsME. Perhaps it works under Windows98?
Good points:
1) No bugs or errors running the program itself.
2) Found every word I was looking for.
3) Excellent customizable dictionary.
All things taken into consideration I dont think you will find a better dictionary for the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
The book contains great information about words and their usage, but it is a great pity that they bound it so that it was hard to open sufficiently to read near the binding. For lovers of words this dictionary should behave more like a spiral bound book. To me this is false penny pinching that leads to a lifetime of discomfort for end-users. A typical management decision according to my experience--based upon their needs and not taking into consideration why customers want them to remain in business, whose needs they are serving, and not taking the using needs of customers into account. However thank you Amazon for your service; the product was received speedily and in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I found the drag-on stuff extremely handy! It makes looking words up on the Net very effortless, for you consult this dictionary whenever you wish while staying at the website you're browsing.
The pronunciation function is unique --it reads consonants and vowels one by one-and I am loving it!

Keep up the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse