Start reading Ranger's Apprentice, Book 9: Halt's Peril: Book Nine on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Ranger's Apprentice, Book 9: Halt's Peril: Book Nine [Kindle Edition]

John A. Flanagan
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (220 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $8.99
Kindle Price: $7.99
You Save: $1.00 (11%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $7.99  
Hardcover $15.24  
Paperback $8.89  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $0.00 Free with your Audible trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  
Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Book Description

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

The renegade outlaw group known as the Outsiders has journeyed from kingdom to kingdom, conning the innocent out of their few valuables. Will and Halt, his mentor, are ambushed by the cult's deadly assassins when Halt is pierced by a poisoned arrow. Now Will must travel day and night in search of the one person with the power to cure Halt: Malkallam the Sorcerer.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.



Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Continuing the story line begun in The Kings of Clonmel (2010), book 9 of the Ranger’s Apprentice series sends Halt, Will, and Horace back on the trail of the same vicious, thieving outlaws. When a poisoned arrow takes Halt out of his senses and soon threatens his life, his younger comrades must take the lead to save him and continue their mission. A fine addition to a popular series, this volume sends the three main characters into adventures that they can survive only by relying on one other. Series fans will enjoy the dialogue and camaraderie as much as the action. Grades 5-8. --Carolyn Phelan

Review

"It's clever, it has some great tension and when backed with the authors flamboyant writing style alongside his grasp of tactics and strong characters makes this a title that was hard to put down ... It's a title that really will please as well as enthuse the reader for more. Great stuff." -- Tatty tattystreasurechest.blogspot.com

Product Details

  • File Size: 899 KB
  • Print Length: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin; Reprint edition (October 5, 2010)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003YL4AMQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,402 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halt's most dangerous mission September 8, 2010
Format:Kindle Edition
Halt has been in countless perilous situations in his life, but he's always come out unscathed. But his winning streak may have come to a permanent end in "Halt's Peril," the ninth book of the Ranger's Apprentice series. John Flanagan's writing drags somewhat in the first half, but the introduction of a deadly threat speeds up the story.

Horace, Halt and Will are still pursuing the evil cult leader Tennyson, who is currently en route to Araluen -- they have to stop him before he gets there, or the Outsider cult might spring up again in their own homeland. Along the way, they have to deal with malevolent pirates, stormy seas, Scotti raiding parties, burned farms, and the Genovesan assassins that Tennyson is traveling with.

But during a battle in a dead forest, Halt is grazed by a crossbow bolt, and within a day he's near-comatose from poison. Now Will must make a desperate journey to fetch an old friend who might be able to save Halt's life -- but the remaining Genovesan is still out hunting for them, and Halt may have only hours to live.

"Halt's Peril" is the darkest Ranger's Apprentice book thus far, mainly because it really does look like Halt is going to die -- and any fantasy fan knows what eventually happens to most mentors once the apprentice has gotten trained. But it's also pretty harrowing to see the young knight and ranger struggling to save him, and doing some pretty desperate stuff along the way.

Biggest problem: the first half of the book goes at a very slow pace. I mean, two whole chapters are devoted to Will hanging around in a tavern and LOOKING for a certain criminal, and it takes another FOUR for the trio to wrangle an answer out of the guy.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Following Tennyson December 13, 2009
A Kid's Review
Format:Hardcover
Will, Halt, and Horace are tracking Tennyson and his followers, but the Genovesans laid a trap to stop them. Will Halt survive? I think this is the best book in the Ranger's Apprentice series, and I think Ranger's Apprentice is the best series on earth! This book is very exciting and nerve-wracking. I'm 10 years old, and my whole family is reading this series because of me. I think you'll love this book, too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
Will, Halt and Horace have successfully run Tennyson and his religious cult, The Outsiders, out of the southern kingdom of Clonmel --- but that doesn't mean the threat is over. Like all fanatical leaders, Tennyson has simply packed up and moved on to locate a new place to begin his swindling: Will's home kingdom of Araluen. Before they can even dream of catching up with Tennyson, Will, Halt and Horace first have to secure passage across the dangerous waters surrounding Palisade Reef and escape a band of smugglers who are hot on their trail.

Expert shots with a bow and arrow are difficult enough, but imagine shooting on a rocking boat with wind, rain and the impending threat of running into a dangerous reef. For Will and Halt, it's just another day as a Ranger. They have bigger issues to deal with anyway, as Tennyson and the Outsiders have already started rounding up new followers and are slowly starting to infiltrate Araluen. Tennyson also knows that Will, Halt and Horace are right behind him, so he dispatches two deadly Genovesan assassins to rid himself of the Rangers.

Before the Genovesan assassins can fulfill their mission, though, Will and Halt immediately recognize the danger, and a deadly cat-and-mouse game ensues. Deep within a petrified forest, Halt decides on a risky plan that could kill him. With Will lurking in the shadows behind, Halt will be the scapegoat and the live target for the Genovesans. At first, Halt's plan is executed brilliantly. Will manages to sneak up on the assassins while Halt draws their attention. Only after the Rangers fire their arrows do they realize their mistake. Both Will and Halt shoot the same Genovesan, leaving the other assassin the opportunity to fire his weapon --- at Halt.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it 50 out of 50 if I could. (Stars.) April 15, 2010
A Kid's Review
Format:Hardcover
This book is amazing, it is exciting the whole way through, and definitely is the most fearful book. (Yet!)
Overall, great read.
I do recommend reading all the other books first though.

A 10 year old.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best yet November 30, 2010
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I'm a loyal Ranger's Apprentice fan. I devoured books 1-4, then waited for book 5 to come out. Oh, that wait! I ravenously finished book 5. After book 6, the wait time between books started getting shorter and shorter, which made me love the series even more.
But enough of my love! Let's get to the point.
For those unfamiliar to the series, Will is a King's Ranger in the medieval Kingdom of Araluen. Halt's also a Ranger, but he was Will's mentor. I say was not because he's dead, but Will's a Ranger now, not an apprentice (yes, I know the title says Ranger's Apprentice, but...) and he doesn't need Halt anymore. Or does he?
That question is asked when Halt is struck by a deadly poison arrow. Halt is desperately in need of an antidote, and Will journeys to find one.
I loved Book 8 a lot because Horace, the knight, joined Will and Halt's party. This RA book is funnier than the rest, in my opinion. Many chapters end with a joke. I loved how once again, Will tries to manage without Halt, like in Book 7. Plus, there are 2 story arcs to keep you entertained. And here's the part I loved most: one of my favorite characters from a previous book that I thought I would never see again returns!
So, with that said, why 4 stars and not 5?
Like a previous reviewer said, the first 150 pages drag a little. They're just tracking assassins, but it's handled well. I mean, who would think a little scrap of cloth could help you figure out so many things?
The ending is good. It doesn't leave you begging for more, but I found myself wanting to read the tenth and final book, THE EMPEROR OF NIHON-JA already.
I would like to give this a 4.5/5 stars, but I can't, so I'll have to give it a 4 since it doesn't deserve a 5. HALT'S PERIL is one of the best in the Ranger's Apprentice series yet.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn't until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John's assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting. After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years. John began writing Ranger's Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
Seriously???
Yea makes no sense.... They must have over printed and need to move their inventory. The problem is I don't want to lug around a hardback; that's why I have a kindle. Duh.
Dec 28, 2011 by Peder Kopperud |  See all 2 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for Similar Items by Category